We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pinocchio Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pinocchio Hotel
Ranked #28 of 102 Specialty Lodging in Sapa
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Avoid...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my partner for 3 nights, room was very dirty especially the bathroom. Also a lot of mould in our room which I believe is a problem at some hotels in Sapa due to the moisture in the air. Def look around for a better guesthouse if you can. The only good thing was the staff were friendly & helpful although they did book us onto a slow train back to Hanoi but charged us the cost of a better train.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WhereisPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    18
    20
    9
    11
See reviews for
7
35
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Leiria, Portugal
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

This is not a very good place to stay but, from what I've saw in Sapa, for a budget place, it's average!!!The rooms are old and not so clean and (In my case) there's a lot of damp and mold. We can hardly fall asleep with the amount of moisture in the room....but the view compensates this...the views from the balcony on the 4th floor are breath taking, believe me!!!
The staff is ok (average) and there's no breakfast. We stayed there for 2 nights and at the end, it wasn't that bad!

Room Tip: My advice is to see the room first....probably it will be really, really damp and mold!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RuiPedroSimoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and had to leave. We chose to stay here because of a recommendation from lonely planet, but I doubt that they have been here recently. It was hard to make a booking as they never seemed to answer their phone. When we arrived at they bus station and called them they were not helpful with directions. The views from the room were terrible and the worse thing was the room itself. The bed was damp and the room smelt like sewerage, it seemed as though it hadn't been cleaned or aired for months. If you want a good clean room that is good value for money with excellent views and friendly staff, stay at the Family Guest House down the road.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seventwenty2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sapa hotels

Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 2 nights on our tour that we booked from Hanoi. At first glance the hotel seemed too "low budget" but after getting to our room (5th floor no elevator, not to worry they carry your luggage for you) it was actually a superb view of the village! The food was the best breakfast we had in three weeks of differing levels of hotels! Don't miss the apple cinnamon tea- morning or night- or both! The room was just ok. But the service was excellent. They hold your luggage , let you shower, change your clothes- all after you've already checked out! The bed was one of the best in three weeks. Food- excellent, service- excellent, scenery- superb, room- only so-so but it was $30 USD a night for three single beds including the best breakfast in Vietnam!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrissyLuders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed for five days in April 2011, after an overnight train from Hanoi. I had a room on the top floors and the views were incredible. The room itself was large. The price was also cheap. The dining area is cozy. But the rooms were quite damp and dark and smelled of mold. The rooms were clean otherwise. I think this is a decent place for backpackers, which I am/was.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank EthanandJocelyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Stayed in a double room as a couple for 2 nights. Booked the rooftop room through their website, and on arrival was given a lower floor (up to 3rd floor views are obscured by the buildings opposite so you really want a higher one), but had a little moan and got the one I wanted.
I thought they were being difficult but on reflection I think they tried to give us an arguably better room because the rooftop rooms are incredibly damp and a little smelly, where as the lower floors don't seem to have that problem.
Also worth noting that there were rats scurrying about in the roof above us all night, so if that worries you definitely book the 3rd-5th floors which are quite different in structure - concrete as opposed to the rooftop rattan/wooden rooms.
The views ARE awesome, and the balcony areas are very big and nice for chilling on, however I think you can get these views from any high rise hotel, so the reason for booking Pinocchio is the price which seemed at $12 (without breakfast) to be one of the cheapest around and we were on a tight budget.
Staff are really nice, helpful when needed but sisn't try to push tours or anything on us.

Room Tip: Rooms on floors ABOVE 3rd have the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lutaylor83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

We had high expectatives on this hotel after reading comments on the Lonely Planet and Tripadivsor.
The hotel itself is nice, and the best part is the views from every floor (like many other hotels in this location). Breakfast was also very good.
But the rooms leave a lot to be desired...our room was very big, spacious, that's a good thing, but it was dirty. The bedclothes had some stains, was broken and had some patches. The towels had also some holes on it. The wooden floor was broken, and we found some rest of pacakges on the floor, which means it wasn't very well cleaned after the previous guests left.
But it was very cheap, has a good location, internet, and the staff was helpful, even though one of them wasn't very happy after we decided not to book a tour with them because was out of our budget...
It's definitely a place for budget travelers, and we did have a good rest and enjoyed Sa Pa.

Room Tip: Top roof have better views, and you can relax sitting on the terrace with good views to the mountain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sapa hotels
0.0 mi away
Elysian Sapa Hotel
Elysian Sapa Hotel
#20 of 65 in Sapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sapa Homestay
0.1 mi away
Legend Hotel
Legend Hotel
#19 of 115 in Sapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sapa Centre Hotel
Sapa Centre Hotel
#4 of 115 in Sapa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Heart of Sapa Hotel
Heart of Sapa Hotel
#1 of 115 in Sapa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sapa Sunflower Hotel
Sapa Sunflower Hotel
#12 of 115 in Sapa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinocchio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinocchio Hotel

Property: Pinocchio Hotel
Address: 15 Muong Hoa (Pho Cau May), Sapa, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 102 Specialty Lodging in Sapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pinocchio Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since ten years, Pinocchio Hotel is proud to be the friendly and safe stay of travelers when coming to Sapa. In parallel with the development of the tourism in the region, our hotel has receipt thousands tourists and kept in their mind the good feeling about the friendly people of Sapa.The hotel has an ideal location, lying at the foot of Ham Rong Mountain and looking to Violet Valley, giving the eye to the villages of the ethnic minority people alternating in the terraced rice fields made by generations and generations at the foot of Fansipan Mountain. The stay in our hotel will bring to you the peaceful moments, closer to the nature of the Northwest region of Vietnam.The hotel is now owned and managed by Nguyen Van Manh, an English and French Speaking man, who is working for Sapa Tourist Information Center.With friendly and hospitable mind, we are happy to welcome you to our Pinocchio Hotel.We wish you the memorable visit in Sapa! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Pinocchio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing