We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filthy”
Review of Pinocchio Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pinocchio Hotel
Ranked #24 of 124 Specialty Lodging in Sapa
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Filthy”
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and had to leave. We chose to stay here because of a recommendation from lonely planet, but I doubt that they have been here recently. It was hard to make a booking as they never seemed to answer their phone. When we arrived at they bus station and called them they were not helpful with directions. The views from the room were terrible and the worse thing was the room itself. The bed was damp and the room smelt like sewerage, it seemed as though it hadn't been cleaned or aired for months. If you want a good clean room that is good value for money with excellent views and friendly staff, stay at the Family Guest House down the road.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seventwenty2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    21
    20
    9
    11
See reviews for
8
36
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 2 nights on our tour that we booked from Hanoi. At first glance the hotel seemed too "low budget" but after getting to our room (5th floor no elevator, not to worry they carry your luggage for you) it was actually a superb view of the village! The food was the best breakfast we had in three weeks of differing levels of hotels! Don't miss the apple cinnamon tea- morning or night- or both! The room was just ok. But the service was excellent. They hold your luggage , let you shower, change your clothes- all after you've already checked out! The bed was one of the best in three weeks. Food- excellent, service- excellent, scenery- superb, room- only so-so but it was $30 USD a night for three single beds including the best breakfast in Vietnam!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrissyLuders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed for five days in April 2011, after an overnight train from Hanoi. I had a room on the top floors and the views were incredible. The room itself was large. The price was also cheap. The dining area is cozy. But the rooms were quite damp and dark and smelled of mold. The rooms were clean otherwise. I think this is a decent place for backpackers, which I am/was.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank EthanandJocelyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Stayed in a double room as a couple for 2 nights. Booked the rooftop room through their website, and on arrival was given a lower floor (up to 3rd floor views are obscured by the buildings opposite so you really want a higher one), but had a little moan and got the one I wanted.
I thought they were being difficult but on reflection I think they tried to give us an arguably better room because the rooftop rooms are incredibly damp and a little smelly, where as the lower floors don't seem to have that problem.
Also worth noting that there were rats scurrying about in the roof above us all night, so if that worries you definitely book the 3rd-5th floors which are quite different in structure - concrete as opposed to the rooftop rattan/wooden rooms.
The views ARE awesome, and the balcony areas are very big and nice for chilling on, however I think you can get these views from any high rise hotel, so the reason for booking Pinocchio is the price which seemed at $12 (without breakfast) to be one of the cheapest around and we were on a tight budget.
Staff are really nice, helpful when needed but sisn't try to push tours or anything on us.

Room Tip: Rooms on floors ABOVE 3rd have the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lutaylor83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We had high expectatives on this hotel after reading comments on the Lonely Planet and Tripadivsor.
The hotel itself is nice, and the best part is the views from every floor (like many other hotels in this location). Breakfast was also very good.
But the rooms leave a lot to be desired...our room was very big, spacious, that's a good thing, but it was dirty. The bedclothes had some stains, was broken and had some patches. The towels had also some holes on it. The wooden floor was broken, and we found some rest of pacakges on the floor, which means it wasn't very well cleaned after the previous guests left.
But it was very cheap, has a good location, internet, and the staff was helpful, even though one of them wasn't very happy after we decided not to book a tour with them because was out of our budget...
It's definitely a place for budget travelers, and we did have a good rest and enjoyed Sa Pa.

Room Tip: Top roof have better views, and you can relax sitting on the terrace with good views to the mountain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We didn't stay at the Pinocchio Hotel but found the tour desk to be very helpful. Mr. Manh was kind and helpful when we were debating whether to take a tour or go by private car to the Bac Ha Sunday market. We went by private car for flexibility as the cost was reasonable for Sapa-Bac Ha-Lao Cai at $80.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Live2EatAndTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinocchio H, Manager at Pinocchio Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Live2EatAndTravel,
Thank you very much for your good review for the Bac Ha trip, I'm so happy that it brings you the memorable journey when traveling in my region. Hope to serve you again the next time.

Nguyen Van Manh - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We took the over-night train from Ha Noi and arrived at Lao Cai at about 5 AM to be warmly greeted by our pick-up arranged through Pinocchio Hotel at a competitive price of USD 5 for two people. The ride through Lao Cai to Sapa was about 45 minutes and it was still dark when we reached Sapa. Mr. Huey over at the hotel with whom we had been coordinating had made arrangements for us to make an early check-in. With the cold-weather, it was an extremely pleasant experience to check-in to our room by 6 AM. A hot shower later, we went to the first floor restaurant to be greeted by friendly staff (Ms. Ti Man - hope I got the spelling right) at 7 AM. Before taking note of our breakfast preferences, she lit up the fireplace to make us warm. 30 minutes later other guests started to come in for breakfast too. The restaurant with the fireplace proved to be an ideal hangout to meet people over the next 4 days. We made friends with other guests and did some tours together.

The friendly staff and the restaurant were really the highlight of our incredibly enjoyable experience at Pinocchio. On one of the evenings, the staff allowed us to borrow the kitchen and we cooked red wine. On a foggy, freezing wintry evening, it was quite an experience to chat up with fellow travelers while sipping on hot wine by the fireplace. Breakfasts were served extra-large portions and we loved every bit of it - baguettes, eggs made to order, french toast, ham toastier, pancakes, Pinocchio special masala tea (cinnamon, etc.), coffee, fruit juice, etc. What better way to kick-start your day than a mini food festival chatting with friends! We found the restaurant-prices competitive and also had couple of lunch and dinner meals.

We hired a double standard deluxe room and were allotted one on the 4th floor. It is quite a climb up and, worth it - with the view of the valley. We had a terrace, with a coffee table and four chairs, that we shared with another double-room on the same floor. the room was big and equipped with heater which we found very useful in the cold December month. The bed (with clean linen) was comfortable to sleep on. The room had a small-wardrobe, a clothes-hanger, a coffee table and two glasses. Though we could have done with a kettle in the room, the staff was very friendly to provide us with large flasks of hot drinking water for us to make our own tea or coffee. The bathroom was ventilated, clean and stocked with toiletries (soaps, shampoos, toothbrushes, etc.), flip-flops, towels and equipped with a hot shower.

We used the hotel's travel-desk services to rent a motorbike to drive to the waterfalls about 12 KMs away. We paid USD 4 for half-a-day and 2 liters of petrol. The bikes were made available at a relatively short notice and we did not have any trouble on the way with them. We also used some advise from Pinocchio to hike to the Cat-cat village by ourselves. In general, we found the staff helpful and not always business-minded.

Overall, we are happy with our experience at the Pinocchio Hotel [http://pinocchiohotel.com/] and happily recommend it to fellow travelers.

Room Tip: Rooms on far right (above the kitchen) may get draft of food aroma !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abhijeet48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinocchio H, Manager at Pinocchio Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Abhijeet48,
Thank you for your stay in our hotel and your helpful review. We will try our best more and more to bring the next clients the best services when coming to our hotel.
Best wishes,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sapa hotels
0.1 mi away
Elysian Sapa Hotel
Elysian Sapa Hotel
#21 of 68 in Sapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sapa Centre Hotel
Sapa Centre Hotel
#4 of 135 in Sapa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sapa Sunflower Hotel
Sapa Sunflower Hotel
#10 of 135 in Sapa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Heart of Sapa Hotel
Heart of Sapa Hotel
#1 of 135 in Sapa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phuong Nam Hotel
Phuong Nam Hotel
#32 of 135 in Sapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Botanic Sapa Hotel
Botanic Sapa Hotel
#2 of 135 in Sapa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinocchio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinocchio Hotel

Property: Pinocchio Hotel
Address: 15 Muong Hoa (Pho Cau May), Sapa, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 124 Specialty Lodging in Sapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pinocchio Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since ten years, Pinocchio Hotel is proud to be the friendly and safe stay of travelers when coming to Sapa. In parallel with the development of the tourism in the region, our hotel has receipt thousands tourists and kept in their mind the good feeling about the friendly people of Sapa.The hotel has an ideal location, lying at the foot of Ham Rong Mountain and looking to Violet Valley, giving the eye to the villages of the ethnic minority people alternating in the terraced rice fields made by generations and generations at the foot of Fansipan Mountain. The stay in our hotel will bring to you the peaceful moments, closer to the nature of the Northwest region of Vietnam.The hotel is now owned and managed by Nguyen Van Manh, an English and French Speaking man, who is working for Sapa Tourist Information Center.With friendly and hospitable mind, we are happy to welcome you to our Pinocchio Hotel.We wish you the memorable visit in Sapa! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Pinocchio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing