We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fansipan View Hotel
Ranked #19 of 150 Sapa B&B and Inns
USA
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Terrific value”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed at the Fansipan View Hotel for two nights in early January. We wanted a small hotel but because of the cold weather we were particularly interested in one with heated rooms (not a given in Sapa). Our room was equipped with a forced-air heater which was fully adequate. We observed other people who switched to our hotel because their original hotel provided no or inadequate heat. The hot water was piping hot and adequate for two people to shower. This hotel has made incremental and important improvement since the earliest reviews. Our room and the bathroom were clean, spacious, and pleasant. The manager, Thuyen, was extremely helpful. We could communicate well in English. We arrived early in the morning and she worked hard to get us into a room (by 10:30). We observed how she assisted other guests shop for trekking gear, she arranged our trek, and our return transportation to Lao Cai. The location is convenient and quiet, but requires climbing a few stairs. Overall a great value.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AntsinthePants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    107
    44
    14
    8
See reviews for
47
135
41
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in June 2012, in room 403. The hotel has no lift, only stairs, that's ok for us as we were carrying backpacks.

The room is big, with a balcony. There is no fan or aircon in the room at all. I would think its wise to put a fan in the room. Sapa is not hot, so aircon is unnecessary. But becos if we close all the windows and balcony doors, the room would be stuffy. And if we leave it open, bugs fly in. We had a huge 10cm beetle that flew into our room one of the night and took us quite a while to get it out.
Otherwise, netting the windows would be great, so we can leave windows open without worry the mozzies and other bugs fly in. I was woken up by the buzzing sound of a mosquito flying near my ear while sleeping! Woke up the next day with a swollen mosquito-bitten eye! All of the nights we slept with just the window open and after the 4 days stay, I suffered 8 mosquito bites on my forehead, eyes and temples, cos every other part of me was under the covers.

Shower was good, big area but no place to put ur toiletries, had to leave them on the floor. Shower has moderate pressure. Toilet was clean, except that our toilet bowl seemed to be like a live geyser, that kept bubbling strangely. It doesn't flush that well too.

here's a sliding door for the shower area, supposed to keep the rest of the bathroom dry, but there is no proper piping to channel the water out from the shower area.. So the water just flows out, and floods the entire bathroom. The staff cleans up the room every day though. So every day we returned to a clean bathroom with fresh towels though we didn't request to change. Wifi was ok. Staff are really nice, greeting us each time they see us. Good service, however, each time we leave the hotel, we had to leave our room key with them, and they would just display it on the counter table. We thought that was pretty unsafe! There were times that the counter had no one, and we just helped ourselves to the keys laid out on the counter. Anyone could have walk in and pick up any key to the room! Not very wise to be doing that. Sometimes we can wait up to 15mins and don't see the girl at the counter at all. So try not to leave ur valuables in the room if possible, cos there's no safe in the room.

For the few nights we were there, we experience blackouts (very common!) due to the rain. On our last night, we practically had the whole night of blackout. Had to pack our baggages in the dark relying on light from my phone.. Seems like its frequent to have blackout, they should consider installing a backup generator if possible. Food in the restaurant is really good! Delicious Pho! Love the food there and the restaurant's staff are very nice too!

Overall a nice, comfortable, clean hotel, just a few cons that could make it an even better experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elshjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights and would highly recommend it. The staff were very helpful and the room was a good size with very comfortable beds and warm blankets.

The food which was included in our package was fantastic, 5 course dinner on both evenings and a great breakfast which is served in the restaurant next door.

This hotel is situated a 5 minute walk from the town center/central market.

We would stay here again if we return to Sapa.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

This hotel has been great for a trekking trip to Sa Pa. The staff and guide couldn't have been more helpful. On the days of our treks the weather wasn't great but we still had a great time. Wrap up warm if you come to Sa Pa in December. And I'd recommend you stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We spent here just one night but would stay longer if hotel is not full. For 30usd per nigt we were very satisfied. Room was spacy and clean. Proper heating :-) and comfortable beds. Bathroom was very cold and would need some refresh. Staff in hotel is very helpful, friendly and welcoming. They help us with trip arrangements, transfer from and to train station and offered shower before leaving Sapa. Food: very tasty food for really good price. Try their ginger - cinemmon tea. Fantastic in cold days! Location: just couple of minutes from center which is too busy and noisy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lumatka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

The two receptionists, one's name was Chinh was very welcoming. Any questions I had he was more than happy to help. Their wifi is very fast so that's good. Rooms are clean as well.

Very close to the markets and the iconic church. Walking distance to everything central in Sapa.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vinh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We were met by Thuyen at the hotel before 6am as we had caught the overnight train from Hanoi. She was friendly, welcoming and kind ( she offered to lend me her jacket until I had a chance to buy my own!) she also gave good advice on how best to deal with persistent locals. our fellow travelers all noticed that her English was exceptionally good. We, South Africans, Dutch and Italians all agreed that her level of service was outstanding - far above many of our own country's. thank you Fansipan, look after one of your best assets, Thuyen.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whereisphillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sapa hotels
0.2 mi away
Sapa Dragon Hotel
Sapa Dragon Hotel
#2 of 70 in Sapa
375 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sapa Panorama Hotel
Sapa Panorama Hotel
#26 of 70 in Sapa
540 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sapa Unique Hotel
Sapa Unique Hotel
#13 of 70 in Sapa
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa
0.4 mi away
Sapa View Hotel
Sapa View Hotel
#57 of 70 in Sapa
167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elysian Sapa Hotel
Elysian Sapa Hotel
#24 of 70 in Sapa
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fansipan View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fansipan View Hotel

Property: Fansipan View Hotel
Address: Xuan Vien Street, Sapa town, Lao Cai, Vietnam, Sapa, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Sapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Fansipan View Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fansipan View hotel is one of those great finds, located up a quiet alley way so there is no traffic noise, but it is close to markets and all the Sapa attractions, 100m far from the Church; a nice boutique hotel with 15 tasty rooms. The hotel occupies an unprecedented location overlooking the valleys of Sapa and the imposing Fansipan Mountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fansipan View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing