We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must visit area of vietnam”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fansipan Mountain

Fansipan Mountain
Book In Advance
More Info
$54.00*
and up
Half-Day Tour of Hoang Lien National Park and Sin Chai Village from Sapa
Ranked #3 of 49 things to do in Sapa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fansipan is one of the most beautiful attractions in Sapa, It is the peak of Indochina with the elevation of 3143m
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Must visit area of vietnam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

The trek was stunning with a fantastic guide and amazing scenery. The tribes we visited was very friendly and welcoming although got very pushy when selling their souvenirs but other than that they were great company whilst on the trek. I would recommend taking appropriate footwear for the treks as many parts of the trek is very wet, muddy and slippery. I would also recommend taking sweets for the children although they do go crazy for them and ended up in a fight whilst i was giving them out. The trek is a must do for vietnam and is such a great experience which i will never forget

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    122
    33
    13
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Cold Trek”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

You need extra power to get into this trek. I recommend you bring a chocolate and enough water, just in case you feel lil bit dizzy.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank justmaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“4 hr trekking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Good experience for my kids and I, we trekked through the villages and end up on the other side of the hill. stopped by a waterfall, cross a bamboo hill and saw lots and lots of Padi fields on the terrace.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank trek5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Challenge Worth Doing - But Forewarned is Forearmed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I summitted Fanispan a few weeks ago on a two-day quickie program that had just one night on the mountain. Having done a lot of hiking in the Alps over the summer, the Fanispan hike seemed kind of simple. Wrong. Conditions are muddy, trails are poorly marked and much time is wasted just avoiding having boots sucked down into the earth. Rain and fog are omnipresent and loads are heavy because all water must be brought in. Guides and porters (required) are very useful but, even with their help, its all an effort.

The overnight campsite is squalid, comprised of filthy huts where the cooking, cleaning and eating utensils are blackened with hoary frost and long decades of use over wood and gas fires. Our Black Hmong porters and cooks meticulously washed everything and prepared, in the middle of this prehistoric setting, a five course meal that would put a real restaurant to shame.

Summit day is an exhausting one because not only are you up early (given the amount of walking to do) but to get to the summit before the fog obscures the viewpoints means leaving about 6 a.m. for a hellish trip steeply down before then turning steeply up before reaching mud obstructions and finally the top (never worrying about having to do it all in reverse on the way down).

So, what do you need:

1. Guides and porters who know what they are doing and have good work ethics. This includes both but I can recommend some.
2. Some training, preferably above 8,000 feet, which is where many start to really notice deterioration.
3. Bring lots of resealable bags and waterproof containers. Your camera should be waterproof.
4. There is no drinkable water on the mountain and precious little time to distill it; stay hydrated and keep electrolyte replacements handy if it is hot.
5. Bring hiking poles or grab a bamboo stick.
6. Real water resistant/proof boots are advisable; the porters don't seem to mind sandals but we ˆfranangi" should be sensible.
7. Know how to exchange toasts with your slightly toasted Hmong cook.
8. Make sure somehow that you have a way to shower when you are back in Sapa before taking the night train from Lao Cai back to Hanoi.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
10 Thank Semanon72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Do a 1 day hike unless you like spending time inside the tent doing nothing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

We did the 2D 1N trek as we thought it would be tough.
We started around 10am and reached base camp at around 2pm (with a leisurely 1 hour lunch break midway). After that, it was a stay in tent doing nothing time because we hadn't brought any cards or even gadgets to while the time away.

The next day, it took us about 45mins (or 1 hr) to hike up the peak, and then another 45mins back to base camp.

The hike isn't too tough if you hike another mountain before, and we were blessed with very good weather and view at the peak.

Those who like challenging hikes and breathtaking views can skip this mountain, in my humble opinion. I was told that Mt. Kinabalu is tougher (never hiked Kinabalu), and Mt. Rinjani is definitely 10x harder with 10x the view (personal opinion).

There are areas where railings were installed and that certainly helped a lot. In about 2 or 3 places, you'd have to have someone help to hoist you up where it might be a tad dangerous.

We took an all in package with Sapa Pathfinder which includes the overnight train from Hanoi, 2 nights stay at Fansipan View Hotel, guide + porter for 10 of us.
It was a very well arranged package. The only gripe I had was that the guide tend to disappear (he went too fast) once in awhile and we sometimes had to stop to decide where to go because the trek is not clearly marked in all places. As we had some folks who are slightly slower and prefer to enjoy a leisurely trek, there isn't a sweeper porter to ensure that nobody gets lost. We had to constantly remind our guide to ensure that there is a porter followingfor the last person on our 2nd day.

Toilet (stinks though) and tap (darn cold) for washing is available at the camp site.
Most of the camps are made out of tarp with bamboo, not the usual camping tents we are used to. Since there were 10 of us, we were all made to sleep in 1 big 'tent' instead of the usual 2 or 3 persons per tent like we're used to. It was not easy especially if someone has to go to the loo in the middle of the night.

Drinks (beer, mineral water, coke & various other can drinks) are sold by the Hmong people at the camp sites and at the peak, so do bring extra money in case you prefer mineral water to the water provided by the guide. We were given a 1.5litre water at the beginning of the hike, and from then onwards, it was refilled with boiled water which had a strong burnt taste perhaps because they boiled the water using charcoal/wood.

I would recommend this trip to first time hikers. It is a good place to start

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank TinTinTin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fansipan Mountain also viewed

Sapa, Lao Cai Province
Sapa, Lao Cai Province
 

Been to Fansipan Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing