We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hidden gem of a hotel, and cheap too!”
Review of Cat Cat Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cat Cat Hotel
Ranked #26 of 142 Sapa B&B and Inns
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great hidden gem of a hotel, and cheap too!”
Reviewed January 4, 2011

For US$20 this little hotel is a gem. The rooms were a decent size and the bathroom had a good amount of hot water too. The view from the balcony was great. We also organized a private tour through this hotel and it did not disappoint.

We actually only stayed at this hotel because the original hotel we booked (right next door) did not meet our expectation. Not only was the Cat Cat Hotel cheaper, but the rooms were better. And they had a heated bed so my buns were toasty all night!

Also the rooms are a bit back from the street so it's a bit quieter than other hotels that have windows right on the street. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tenchoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    61
    22
    9
    4
See reviews for
14
77
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thalwil
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2010

I was at Cat Cat Hotel last winter on a motorbike trip from Hanoi. It was my first time in Sapa and I got to say I came unprepared. So stumbeling upon Cat Cat Hotel was a lucky find. The hotel is on the edge of the town, very quiet area but with a lot of restaurants and bars close by. The hotel is kind of built of into the hill so if you get the top floor you get an awesome view of the mountains. My room was quite spacious, it was clean and the bathroom was ok, too. I definitely recomand this hotel.

Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank vagabund80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2010

At USD15 for single, rooms at Cat Cat Hotel are a steal. I was allocated double and even a room with 3 beds at that price with breakfast included. No wonder it fills up quickly.

Clean, relatively new, good hot water, good Wifi signals. Just that the management needs to check the fixtures more regularly. For example, 3 out of 5 of the lights in a room were not working, electric blanket on half side of a double bed was not working etc.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chezkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wesllley
2 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2009

Thanks to Ha and his Hotel that made our stay in Sapa one to remember!! The room was big, the fresh coffee and fruit in the morning great, very friendly staff... Would like to recommend it to all

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wesllley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
Reviewed June 20, 2009

My wife and I stayed for just short of four days in Sapa. If we had to return to Sapa, we would come back to Cat Cat Hotel without any hesitation. The staff were very helpful and went out of their way to make us feel at home. They organised our two-day trek with a local guide for a great price, and were quite happy to store our luggage and generally faciliate the process. The hotel is a little tucked away on the edge of town, but the location makes for a more peaceful stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Captaindraper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sapa hotels
0.3 mi away
Sapa Lodge
Sapa Lodge
#21 of 68 in Sapa
552 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sapa Unique Hotel
Sapa Unique Hotel
#13 of 68 in Sapa
629 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sapa Eden Hotel
Sapa Eden Hotel
#35 of 68 in Sapa
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sapa Garden Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Sapa Elegance Hotel
Sapa Elegance Hotel
#5 of 142 in Sapa
376 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thai Binh Sapa Hotel
Thai Binh Sapa Hotel
#30 of 142 in Sapa
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cat Cat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cat Cat Hotel

Property: Cat Cat Hotel
Address: 42, Fansipan St | Phan Xi Pang St, Sapa 19999, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in Sapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cat Cat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cat Cat hotel is built on the terrace of a hill. Beautiful views overlooking Sapa valleys and mountain. It is one of those great finds, located in the heart of Sapa town and two minutes walk from Sapa daily market. All rooms are designed with your comfort in mind, fitted with hot showers, real open fireplaces for winter nights, TV with satellite channels, telephone and (some rooms) computers. Rooms are cleaned every day with sheet and towel change. All rooms have Wi-Fi and cabling for internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cat Cat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing