We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best view in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cat Cat Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cat Cat Hotel
Ranked #25 of 121 Sapa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
queenstown
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best view in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

We arrived in late morning after night train from Hanoi.Staff provided instant cooked breakfast, and rooms so we could freshen up. . Apartment, clean , warm with unique black firebox.
was ample for 4 of us be great for a family . Well located with uphill walk to town.
The guide for the walking tour was "So" best in the business walked our legs off !!

Room Tip: Apartment ideal for 2 couples or a family. 2 queen beds..high up i think it was on 7th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kwasiqtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    60
    22
    8
    4
See reviews for
13
76
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Hotel is located in a rather quiet road; rooms partly have view over the mountains, a nice bath room, perfect beds with warm blankets. Crew was very helpful, also when one of us fell ill.
You feel like a family member there.
Charge for the double room was 25 US$ per night (nov. 2013)

Room Tip: Try to get room 7 or another one with the same view: The Sa Pa mountains in the morning sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

We arrived for 2 days having read good reviews on trip advisor and were very disappointed.
The hotel staff are not at all friendly unless you want to buy a guided tour from them and then everything changes!
We had to wait from 6am when the tourist buses arrive in sapa from the tourist train until 11.30 am for a room and were not offered a shower to freshen up, only a toilet with wash basin.
The rooms were very basic, in need of modernisation, cold and smelt damp. Old and small bathroom towels and no free mineral water in the rooms. Even the soap in the room was a cheap liquid soap that didn't act like soap!
The shower had no power and was either cold or boiling hot.
No information in the rooms about the area or the hotel services, only the aforementioned organised tours that they are so keen to sell.
We were very disappointed because we found far nicer hotels at better prices in Sapa.
I think the most unpleasant thing was the staff attitude, we felt like we were on a tourist conveyor belt. Don't go there there is much better value for money in Sapa.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank peeper l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

I have only the good words to say about my stay at Cat Cat hotel. It's different in a good sense. I had a room with the view to the mountains with the large terrace. The wifi is really fast and breakfast was delicious. I also had dinner here in one if the evenings which was delicious and even cheaper than in town. The rooms are bright, large and cozy. Feature traditional Sa pa region motives. The reception lounge is very comfortable and cozy. The staff were just amazing and so helpful! They organised trekking tours for us, helped to find a private guide to lead us in the non touristy 13 km trail, arranged Lao cai pick up and drop off shuttle. I've enjoyed staying at Cat Cat hotel more than the floating five star hotel Indochina sails in Ha long Bay. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vaiva-travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 days and had no complaints. We stayed in two different rooms (didn't have a reservation and ended up staying longer than expected)and both were clean and well kept. The views from the various balconies range frkm excellent to pretty decent. Breakfast was fine and the service was very good. The family who runs the hotel is very kind and helped to book tours etc.

Our only issue was with the overnight bus we had them book back to Hanoi. We didn't order the train tickets in time so the owner called to book us seats on the bus. He told us we'd have seats on the bottom but when we arrived the driver refused to let us sit in those seats. We're still not sure what happened but I'd recommend if you end up having to take the bus, have the owner talk to the driver to get the right seats for you.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah_metayelet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Very thankful for the early check in, after a night on the sleeper train, and a late check out before our sleeper train back to Hanoi. Great views from the room, although at times the room itself felt cold and damp, due to the weather. The staff are polite but unless a tour of ticket is being sold they are not particularly chatty. Breakfast was good, although 9.30 does seem a bit early to stop serving. Transfer back to the train station was arranged via the hotel and we were informed that it would depart at 5pm, which it did, only to take us 100 metres up the road and transfer us to another minivan, which then proceeded to park in the town for almost 30 minutes. Becoming concerned due to the fact we had to collect our tickets at 6.15 I rang the hotel, to be told the bus is waiting for other people, neither helpful or apologetic. Good base but like I said there is something missing.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthernLass64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We booked 3 nights here and we loved this family run hotel. Our top floor room had incredible views over the mountains (on a clear day!) with a nice shared balcony/terraced area outside. Quite a lot of steps up to the rooms but well worth it! Breakfast was incredible (banana juice is a must) as is their other lunch options. The family are so friendly and helpful, and we booked a day tour to Lao Chai and Tra Van ($12-$15 pp), and hired a motorbike for a day ($5 per day plus fuel) to view the waterfalls - all through the hotel. It's a 5 minute walk to other restaurants on the main street and right next to the market. The day we checked out they let us have a shower and kept our bags for us. Only complaint would be that the keys are left hanging over the counter which is a little unsettling, and the drop off service back to Lao Cai station actually drops you at the owner's relative's restaurant (Pineapple restaurant) where you're pushed to buy food before your train. Other than that, a great stay!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Compass_Not_Included
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sapa hotels
0.0 mi away
Sapa Unique Hotel
Sapa Unique Hotel
#11 of 67 in Sapa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sapa Luxury Hotel
Sapa Luxury Hotel
#18 of 67 in Sapa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sapa Eden Hotel
Sapa Eden Hotel
#34 of 67 in Sapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Elysian Sapa Hotel
Elysian Sapa Hotel
#22 of 67 in Sapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cat Cat View Hotel
Cat Cat View Hotel
#17 of 121 in Sapa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.0 mi away
Phuong Nam Hotel
Phuong Nam Hotel
#27 of 121 in Sapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cat Cat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cat Cat Hotel

Property: Cat Cat Hotel
Address: 42, Fansipan St | Phan Xi Pang St, Sapa 19999, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 121 B&Bs / Inns in Sapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cat Cat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cat Cat hotel is built on the terrace of a hill. Beautiful views overlooking Sapa valleys and mountain. It is one of those great finds, located in the heart of Sapa town and two minutes walk from Sapa daily market. All rooms are designed with your comfort in mind, fitted with hot showers, real open fireplaces for winter nights, TV with satellite channels, telephone and (some rooms) computers. Rooms are cleaned every day with sheet and towel change. All rooms have Wi-Fi and cabling for internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cat Cat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing