We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful and friendly staff though basic services were lacking” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sapa Golden Sea

Sapa Golden Sea
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sapa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sapa Golden Sea
Save
You added Sapa Golden Sea to your Saves list
58 Fanxipang Road, Sapa, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 51 Hotels in Sapa
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very helpful and friendly staff though basic services were lacking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

We stayed a few nights recently in this hotel which is now called the Papillion Hotel. Perhaps the name change is not helpful for the local butterflies as we found live butterflies flapping on potted plants, they had been pinned there.
The staff were very helpful and friendly, though service was average, the rooms were not cleaned daily and we had to ask for dry towels. The towels are either not washed properly or it takes too long for them to dry, as they do not smell good when you use them.
The doona cover on the bed was not clean when we arrived, and asked for it to be changed. They attended to our requests in good time and we thank them for that.
Wifi is not available in the rooms, the reception is very poor and we were told that the lobby near reception would be better.
The lady at reception was very helpful and booked us transport and allowed us to have a shower after trekking thru the rice paddies. We had already checked out of our room on that day and would have otherwise had to board the night train back to Hanoi covered in mud.
The room we had was clean apart from the doona and a good size with a balcony onto the main street.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank photonomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
1
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
sapa
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

goldensea hote has changed it's name in to papillon hotel. hotel 's onwer was change also. i stayed 3 days there, everithing is very good , good buffee breafast, room is nice view over valley. warm room and well trained staffs.i satisfied with 35usd/night i paid for

Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank GardeniaSapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solignano Nuovo, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2010

Nice view, friendly stafffs, however the room is not so big. If compare with hotel in Hanoi, it has much different : food, room, clean...

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maschuchu22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2009

Travelled as part of a package with agent in Hanoi - price was fine but the experience was poor. Rooms were musty. ceiling was dripping water from a leak. Walls very thin - noisy local tourists. Breakfast was the worst encountered in Vietnam - revolting. View is good but as other reviewers have stated the photos on their website are very flattering & misleading. I'd try the Boutique hotel up the road - great food & hospitable people. Lives up to the reviews it has been given.
Golden Sea = no go

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwimainlanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sapa hotels

byron bay
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2009

Chose this hotel as the photographs were appealing. It turned out to be run down with the rooms smelling musty along with the bed and pillows. There was no lighting along the terrace to our room, rain was leaking through the roof into the stairwell and the access areas were very grubby and dirty. Little English was spoken by the staff and they seemed very disinterested in their job. There are many hotels in Sapa so much better than this one and following our bad experience here we were fortunate to find the Sapa rooms nearer to town which was ahaven with wonderful staff and fantastic food.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marsbar07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2009

We recently stayed at this hotel on our trip to Sapa. During our stay in Vietnam we stayed at hotels in this price range - $30 but this one was below average compared to other hotels.

This is a very noisy hotel as there is a karaoke bar behind it that is opened until 2am along with a barking guard dog. It is hard to get a good nights rest which is what you will need after the train journey.

Staff do not speak much english and they show little interest in helping you. Many of the hotel facilites advertise when you are direct to Venere simply do not exist e.g Sauna, money exchagne, room service etc. Also if you like a shower that any pressure you would be better off standing in the rain!

On the upside the view is great but there are many hotels with comparable views.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lasagneAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sapa hotels
0.0 mi away
Sapa View Hotel
Sapa View Hotel
#42 of 51 in Sapa
3.5 of 5 stars 154 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sapa Eden Hotel
Sapa Eden Hotel
#5 of 51 in Sapa
4.5 of 5 stars 241 reviews
0.0 mi away
Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sapa Dragon Hotel
Sapa Dragon Hotel
#1 of 51 in Sapa
5.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
0.0 mi away
Eco Palms House
Eco Palms House
#7 of 51 in Sapa
4.5 of 5 stars 90 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sapa Stunning view hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sapa Golden Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sapa Golden Sea

Property: Sapa Golden Sea
Address: 58 Fanxipang Road, Sapa, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 51 Hotels in Sapa
Number of rooms: 34

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing