We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good restaurant, but no one there”
Review of Gerbera Restaurant

Gerbera Restaurant
Ranked #87 of 140 Restaurants in Sapa
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good restaurant, but no one there”
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Just had dinner at the Gerbera - it was really good and also reasonably cheap. The most expensive part of the meal was my wife's pinacolada!

We had Vietnamese spring rolls followed by a local duck dish and a local pork dish - all were very
good.

The thing that surprised us was that no one else was there - we were the only customers. The restaurant is a little bit off the Main street sitting above the street - it used to have extensive views but these have been built out in recent times.

We would certainly go back - it is definitely a good place for a meal

Helpful?
Thank youdalep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    41
    19
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Watch out below”
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

I'm sure this restaurant is as good as TA says it is. We never made it because it's up some stairs off the Main Street and the dodgy restaurant below it told us THEY were Gerbera, even showed the logo on the bottom of the menu.

Needless to say their food was terrible Pho and warm beer.

Helpful?
Thank Ozbanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

We ate here twice whilst in SaPa. The first time was for lunch and we found the flavours fantastic . The next night we went there for dinner once again great flavours. I had a seafood and rice noodle stir fry, the calamari was overcooked so I picked it out, but apart from that the flavours were beautiful. Service was good, sometimes a little slow, but you get that in SaPa. We would definitely eat there again if we were to return to SaPa.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank johnda667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACT
Level 6 Contributor
406 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Went there on reading trip advisor and lonely planet review. Good service but average food, nothing outstanding about it. Waitress made a mistake with our order, ended up with an extra chicken dish, and we were then billed for it. Cheap meal but nothing special with drinks only 3/4 full. Scenic street view, good for watching the foot traffic and the Sapa women in action.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nunngo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“shic & cheap”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

The restaurant is not crouded as it is a bit out the main road, but this means you will get your food quickly. The food itself was very good, - I tried the set with spring rolls and hot duck. Meals all priced very moderatly. This is a place which definitely worth visiting, with no doubt.
We took a table outdoors, but I noticed the charming and cozy interior decoration.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank elenka_u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gerbera Restaurant also viewed

Lao Cai, Lao Cai Province
 
Sapa, Lao Cai Province
Sapa, Lao Cai Province
 

Been to Gerbera Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing