We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for one night”
Review of Thuan Loi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thuan Loi Hotel
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Chau Doc
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayd in Chau Doc for one night. We find a 4 beds room at 18$. Very good because the room was quiet, clean and with hot water. Likely, It's not the best hotel you can find but we liked it. The next moring we hade a breakfast on the river (not included in the room fare) but very good. The staff doesn't speak english very well but they helped us in booking ticket for the boat to Phom Pehn. If you have a chance visit Chau Doc because it seems an interesting place.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dv547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 64 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed here as part of our 3 day Mekong Delta tour to Pnom Penh and was our last stop befor entering Cambodia the next day..

Our room was on the top floor which meant dragging luggage up some very narrow and steep stairs

Our room was quite large however the inclusion of life jackets made us fel a little uneasy. Having a shower the next day I realised why they were necessary - the bathroom floods so you could possibly drown! LOL

Not funny, however, was the fact that we ran out of water completely which meant that my husband had to use the bottle of water we had to rinse off!

We had a good meal in the restaurant and went to bed as we arrived quite late into Chau Doc. As we alo left very early the next day we cannot judge how close this hotel is to the sights, if any, of Chau Doc itself.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lavoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stayed there 2 nights.
Rooms are dirty, so are walls, shelves, sheets and pilows.
There is no service. We asked to have a taxi called at 5:30 a.m because we had a bus to take. On the morning, the taxi hadn't been called, it took us a really long time to find and wake up an employee in the hotel as we were locked up in the hotel with no taxi. Fortunatly we could take our bus but we arrived just in time.
It seems that in Chau Doc, there are not enough hotels regarding the number of tourists (so a lot of hotels are full and the prices are higher than in the rest of delta) but still, for 10$ the hotel night (14$ with A/C) some guesthouses at 5$ in the town have the same quality level.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We came to this hotel as a part of a G-adventure trip.

Our room was located on the top floor.

The room was dirty, and it did not have a in-safe room. We had to deliver our valuables to the reception. I was not feeling comfortable with that, but it was not a problem.

The lock to our room did not work properly.

Way to much insects outside the room.

There is a restaurant there, but it was expensive - and the food was not that great!

Plus for free wifi!

You will find much to see around the hotel. Take a walk, and talk to people.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holter-Nilsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Run down old hotel which is in need of a refurbishment, stayed here for one night before crossing into Cambodia. The hotel was part of a tour package but I seriously think you'd be able to find better accommodation whilst in Chau Doc.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

This was our second visit to Chau Doc and one of the main reasons for coming back was the Thuan Loi Hotel.
When I read some of the negative reviews on here I can't believe they stayed at the same Hotel.
First of all we had a disappointment - not the Hotel's fault! We were coming by boat from Phnom Penh and were expecting to get off the boat at the Thuan Loi, but the boat doesn't stop there anymore. It dropped us off a few kms away where there were no taxis. So if you are coming by boat be aware you will need to arrange transport.
When we arrived at the Hotel the girl on reception was charming and friendly.
The room was an ok size, but had two large beds which took up space. Very clean and freshly painted, with a nice big bathroom. Best of all we had a window looking over the river where we could see the boats chugging up and down! Oh yes and the room is air conditioned. Not bad for $14 a night!
Only problem was the beds are very hard, but that is common in Vietnam.
We had both our dinners on the Hotel's floating dock Restaurant - service and food were both excellent. The fried spring rolls were so good we ordered two serves! We had a thunderstorm when we were there one night, and it was great sitting there watching the boats chug through the dark rainy night. Just a perfect setting.
The Hotel is right near the street market as well, which is a good place to go for breakfast and lunch.
When we left we tried to tip one of the workers, but he wouldn't have anything of it!
We will definitely be back to visit the Thuan Loi!

Room Tip: Ask to see a room before you take it - some are larger than others and some have views of the River...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AustraliaNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

We only stayed here for a night before going in to Cambodia.
Its very, very, very basic, simple and oldfashoined (colours).
Our room had no window of some sort. it was just a box to sleep in...bed weren't that comfortable either.
Bathroom was strange with the shower in the middle...not handy when the toilet is behind that..

Only pro was that at the back we could go strait in our boat to Cambodia and we had breakfast on the boat!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatrickBuijs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chau Doc hotels
1.2 mi away
Dong Xanh Hotel
Dong Xanh Hotel
#6 of 18 in Chau Doc
42 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hung Cuong Hotel
Hung Cuong Hotel
#2 of 18 in Chau Doc
108 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hai Chau Hotel
Hai Chau Hotel
#5 of 18 in Chau Doc
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Victoria Chau Doc Hotel
Victoria Chau Doc Hotel
#1 of 18 in Chau Doc
793 reviews
4.1 mi away
Victoria Nui Sam Lodge
Victoria Nui Sam Lodge
#2 of 20 in Chau Doc
223 reviews
0.9 mi away
Murray Guesthouse
Murray Guesthouse
#1 of 20 in Chau Doc
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thuan Loi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thuan Loi Hotel

Address: 18 Tran Hung Dao St. | Riverside, Chau Doc, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > An Giang Province > Chau Doc
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Chau Doc
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Thuan Loi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing