We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second stay and still superb.”
Review of Thuan Loi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thuan Loi Hotel
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Chau Doc
Reviewed April 25, 2012

This was our second visit to Chau Doc and one of the main reasons for coming back was the Thuan Loi Hotel.
When I read some of the negative reviews on here I can't believe they stayed at the same Hotel.
First of all we had a disappointment - not the Hotel's fault! We were coming by boat from Phnom Penh and were expecting to get off the boat at the Thuan Loi, but the boat doesn't stop there anymore. It dropped us off a few kms away where there were no taxis. So if you are coming by boat be aware you will need to arrange transport.
When we arrived at the Hotel the girl on reception was charming and friendly.
The room was an ok size, but had two large beds which took up space. Very clean and freshly painted, with a nice big bathroom. Best of all we had a window looking over the river where we could see the boats chugging up and down! Oh yes and the room is air conditioned. Not bad for $14 a night!
Only problem was the beds are very hard, but that is common in Vietnam.
We had both our dinners on the Hotel's floating dock Restaurant - service and food were both excellent. The fried spring rolls were so good we ordered two serves! We had a thunderstorm when we were there one night, and it was great sitting there watching the boats chug through the dark rainy night. Just a perfect setting.
The Hotel is right near the street market as well, which is a good place to go for breakfast and lunch.
When we left we tried to tip one of the workers, but he wouldn't have anything of it!
We will definitely be back to visit the Thuan Loi!

Room Tip: Ask to see a room before you take it - some are larger than others and some have views of the River...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AustraliaNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
There are newer reviews for Thuan Loi Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 64 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2012

We only stayed here for a night before going in to Cambodia.
Its very, very, very basic, simple and oldfashoined (colours).
Our room had no window of some sort. it was just a box to sleep in...bed weren't that comfortable either.
Bathroom was strange with the shower in the middle...not handy when the toilet is behind that..

Only pro was that at the back we could go strait in our boat to Cambodia and we had breakfast on the boat!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatrickBuijs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2011

When we were at the hotel, the rooms were okay and the lady at the reception desk was friendly.
The food however was pricey for what we got. Moreover, one of the waiters sat at a table near ours with his cellphone playing loud music as is was interfering with the restaurant music. Very annoying.
We also forgot to close one of the curtains (our mistake) and cought one of the staff peeking into our room.
But the worst thing was after check out.
We crossed the border from Vietnam to Cambodia over the Mekong river (or so we thought) through the services of this hotel. We would take one boat from Chau Doc to the border, and another boat from the border to Phnom Penh, as we clearly asked for this service at the reception desk. When we had crossed the border however, a bus driver was picking us up instead. This guy was rude to us, telling us to shut up when we were telling the others about another boat we had seen. On the ride over there the driver came up with a lame excuse about our boat being stopped by something that appeared to be a...ferry terminal?

Finally he 'conveniently' stopped in front of a hotel in Cambodia instead of the place where we thought we would end up. It ruined the experience of something we had anticipated for a long time!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StevenenKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

Great guesthouse in great location, lovely big balconies to watch the boats go by on the mekong. We were lucky enough to stay here over chinese new year. The staff were friendly and helpful in organising buses etc. Very good value at 10-12US a night. Also arranged motorbike hire for 5 dollars a day.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kkandroro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for the first time about 9 years ago and I am pretty sure I saw my old bar of soap in the bathroom.

This rooms in this hotel are very simple, tired and dirty.....however it is about right for the price of 12-15USD that was paid. i was particularly impressed by the pink/red lights in the room and the complimentary OK condoms (which is a nice touch). The infestation of small moths during the night is also a treat

What i like about this hotel is the location on the river and the simple restaurant. You can have a very large meal here with a few of your friends (and half a dozen people you don't know) with drinks for under 50USD. We even managed to try a small cooked bird that tastes a bit like dirt mixed with.........more dirt.

The staff were extremely polite and helpful, organising a 1hr boat trip for us for around 4USD.

Overall, this hotel is a great Mekong experience that you won't have if staying in a sterile new hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gee_Erm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2010

At last civilization! A hotel rather than a guesthouse at a decent price!
Location: very central on the main road in the town. Stalls, markets and brothels for massage all nearby...!
Location: you step off the boat and into the hotel! Its that easy. So right on the water front so you can watch the busy world of the Mekong go by from the back balcony or watch the street scene from the front.
Cleanliness: good. Not totally spic and span....but clean towels given each day and communal areas kept nice.
Room: for the price this place is excellent. Spacious, functional and hot water....bliss!
Food: great, tasty food and good prices. I recommend the hot pot.. very tasy Vietnamese style!
Service: very helpful staff. Nice little touch of them securing tables round our bikes to stop unwanted touches and poking and stealing!
Price: $6 for fan room...$10 for air con.....brilliant prices for evrything you get.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katlesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2010

We stayed here before continuing our trip to Cambodia via the mekong delta. Accomodation was included in our mekong delta tour for this one night, otherwise we would have stayed elsewhere. Located on a dark street, most thing were closed when we arrived in the evening. The room was dirty and had no window, and felt like it was probably crawling with insects. This aside, the riverside restaurant has some beutiful view first thing in the morning. Overall I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Azeret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chau Doc hotels
0.2 mi away
Trung Nguyen Hotel
Trung Nguyen Hotel
#4 of 18 in Chau Doc
270 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hung Cuong Hotel
Hung Cuong Hotel
#2 of 18 in Chau Doc
106 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hai Chau Hotel
Hai Chau Hotel
#5 of 18 in Chau Doc
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Victoria Chau Doc Hotel
Victoria Chau Doc Hotel
#1 of 18 in Chau Doc
776 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dong Xanh Hotel
Dong Xanh Hotel
#6 of 18 in Chau Doc
39 reviews
0.9 mi away
Murray Guesthouse
Murray Guesthouse
#1 of 20 in Chau Doc
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thuan Loi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thuan Loi Hotel

Address: 18 Tran Hung Dao St. | Riverside, Chau Doc, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > An Giang Province > Chau Doc
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Chau Doc
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Thuan Loi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing