We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 night stay - Awesome hotel!”
Review of Trung Nguyen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Trung Nguyen Hotel
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Chau Doc
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
390 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 436 helpful votes
“3 night stay - Awesome hotel!”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We took a flyer on this and booked 3 nights - double a/c balcony room- $13.25 for 2 and $16 for 1 night (inc breakfasts). The reception was ready with the key and we had room 302 - 3 flights of stairs (no lift) no big deal. Room was very clean, bathroom with Western wc and hot shower was immaculate. Room had ac, TV and balcony. We had 3 nights of great sleep on a reasonable mattress. As it is located by the market it was wake up around 6.30am but was deathly quiet from 7.30pm. Location meant we could pick up local food very cheaply and drink (ice coffee) cheaply too! The one breakfast we had was basic - fruit salad/banana pancake plus 2 x teas - BUT at $16 - well we could not complain. We walked NE/SW of Chau Doc and on the '91 to Sam Mountain and were happy we stayed at TN - it was a nice balance of action, life and relaxation - VERY highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheryl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    116
    62
    17
    10
See reviews for
21
138
37
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
132 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

This is a hotel that is ok for a one night stay. It's located right by the market, close to the temple and the speed boat docks. It's basic with small hotel rooms, but clean and with a friendly staff. There is no elevator and no porter, so be prepared to carry your own luggage up the stairs. The bathroom is tiny, and the shower will overflow the bathroom floor. There are no hair dryers or safes in the hotel.

As the hotel is located by the market, it will be noisy. The worst noise quiets down by 10 pm, though. It will start up again early morning. In case you need to exchange money, there is a Sacombank a few blocks from the hotel with good exchange rates. The little temple next to the bank is also worth a short visit.

The breakfast has to be ordered the night before.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alo6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dapto, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

I stayed here for one night on an Intrepid tour, and we didn't get off to a great start. The power was out when we arrived, so no air conditioning, or power of any kind. Still, the staff showed us all to our rooms, and they even carried our luggage up for us, as there are no elevators in this hotel. The room was nice and clean, with comfortable beds, but the bathroom was a bit on the small side, and what I found a bit awkward was the fact that the shower wasn't in any kind of cubicle, and was just a mounted shower head on the wall right next to the toilet. Basically, everything in the bathroom got wet when you showered in it. But still, it was in a great location near the markets, and when the power came back on, it was very pleasant indeed. The wifi was free, and breakfast was nice. You order it the night before, and request what time you will be down, and they have it all ready for you. They even carried our bags back down when we checked out. All in all, I enjoyed my stay in Chau Doc.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gem537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

I was checked into this hotel as part of an Intrepid tour but had bugs in the room. When I asked the receptionist to switch rooms, it was quiet difficult because of the language barrier. Finally figured out they were fully booked (or at least that's what it sounds like),

Ended up checking in at the Victoria Hotel, as it was midnight and I had no other options at that time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hellom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
178 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stayed here one night before boarding the high speed boat to Phnom Penh. There is no elevator here but our guide and driver carried our bags up the stairs and after inquiring at the front desk they informed us that we just needed to let them know when we were ready in the morning and they would bring our luggage down (thank goodness!!). The room and bathroom were clean but not fancy with tile floors. The beds were ok. We had to select breakfast the night before from a menu and it was brought in on a single plate covered in plastic wrap (but it was warm and ok). It was right across the street from the large market and we did walk around there for a little while. We were concerned about the traffic noise but it was quiet after about 10pm. Perfectly fine for one night.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GallivantersGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We needed to spend a night in Chau Doc before our speed boat journey to Cambodia. We took this hotel because id lonely planet guide... But it was more expensive. Te receptionist said she had just a 20 USD room, but with breakfast. Breakfast was quite poor, you could choose just one thing...e.g. A banana pancake..of you wanted something more, had to pay extra. The food wasn't fresh, just heated near the reception. Plus is that hotel is in the centre, you can walk everywhere, the promenade by Mekong is really nice. The reception also got tickets for speed boat for us, ehich was good. Room was okay, nothing special about it.. Except one thing...there was some lighting picture on the wall. It emitted light during the night. It was difficult to sleep with it and it wasn't able to turn it off. I really hated it!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZuzanaHemmerova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Clean room with balcony overlooking the market. I didn't find noise from the street a problem. The first night I struggled to sleep due to a continual thud from what I assumed was a motor of some sort, however, I can't be sure it was anything the hotel could control and I didn't hear it the second night. Staff were helpful and friendly, great price considering breakfast is included ( the banana pancakes were delicious). Would recommend!

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank baystonb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chau Doc hotels
1.1 mi away
Dong Xanh Hotel
Dong Xanh Hotel
#6 of 17 in Chau Doc
36 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hai Chau Hotel
Hai Chau Hotel
#5 of 17 in Chau Doc
170 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hung Cuong Hotel
Hung Cuong Hotel
#2 of 17 in Chau Doc
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Victoria Chau Doc Hotel
Victoria Chau Doc Hotel
#1 of 17 in Chau Doc
756 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dong Nam
Dong Nam
#10 of 17 in Chau Doc
12 reviews
0.9 mi away
Murray Guesthouse
Murray Guesthouse
#1 of 18 in Chau Doc
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trung Nguyen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trung Nguyen Hotel

Property: Trung Nguyen Hotel
Address: 86 BachDang, Chau Doc, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > An Giang Province > Chau Doc
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Chau Doc
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Trung Nguyen Chau Doc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing