We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Trung Nguyen Hotel
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hai Chau Hotel(Chau Doc)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Dong Xanh Hotel(Chau Doc)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dong Bao Hotel(Chau Doc)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Bao Thy Hotel(Chau Doc)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (280)
Filter reviews
280 results
Traveler rating
66
122
64
18
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
66
122
64
18
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsair conspeaks excellent englishthe busno elevatorcentrally located hotelhot watercentral marketrooms are cleanboat tourhotel staffcham villagefloating marketbudget hotelonward travelnext morningthe riverreceptionist
Filter
Updating list...
133 - 138 of 280 reviews
Reviewed March 28, 2012

The staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is included and you can choose between various options (eggs, bread, soup etc.) and one drink. Location is perfect in the city center, at night is wasn’t noisy for our feeling. Rooms are okay clean from my point of view, not super but okay. At night there were many small insects (but no mosquito’s seen), so when you are sensitive in this are, you should bring your own net as the rooms are not equipped with mosquito nets.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbloechi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

We stayed 1 night at Trung Nguyen Hotel on our way from HCMC to Phnom Penh. It is right in the middle of Chau Doc, very close to the docks.

The room was not huge, but very clean. The bathroom was very clean and nice. The outer doors didn't seal perfectly, but the AC was strong enough that the temperature was very comfortable. It appears as if this hotel has been recently renovated, and it shows- it was sleek, attractive, and very impressive.

The service at Trung Nguyen was excellent. We arrived at roughly 7pm, and within 10 minutes the manager had already booked our boat tickets across the border for the 7am departure for us. Her english was fluent, and she was very helpful. The breakfast in the morning was included in the price and was unremarkable but certainly acceptable.

We were very pleased with our stay at Trung Nguyen. I would highly recommend it to any travelers stopping in Chau Doc.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danibren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights, which is unusual because most stop for just one on their way from Vietnam to Cambodia (or vice-versa). But it is a town worth exploring - especially if you get the ferry over to the villages on the other side of the river. These villages are dominated by the minority Cham people (descendents of the people who built My Son) who are Muslim and so provide a contrasting cultural experience. The stilt houses and floating villages are worth staying around a day or two for and, back on the Chau Doc side of the river, the covered market is one of the largest we have come across. The hotel is good value (at $16 B&B for a double room with balcony) and the staff extremely helpful (they can arrange onward bus or boat travel). Located on a corner next to the main market it is also in the centre of things (which means it can be a bit noisy at night). On the whole, if you are stopping in Chau Doc and on a budget this is the place to be.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJHDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

we'd had a cruise on the Mekong so had to stay there but would not have done so out of choice; it was ok but no elevator and harvest season meant the town was swarming with flies and bugs which got into everywhere, a grim experience but hey, this is how the locals live so you're seeing it as it is

Room Tip: on a low floor because you're carrying your luggage up and down the stairs
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlgarveSunman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

We stayed three nights at the Trung Nguyen in Chau Doc. Most people only stay one night, or two at the most. This area of the Delta is great because it doesn't see much tourism apart from travellers to/from Cambodia. The hotel has 'tab' system, so you just pay for everything at the end. Our tab came to $107 and this included three nights accommodation, breakfast for two for three mornings, a 2.5 hour tour up to Sam Mountain, a three hour tour on the water seeing floating markets, Cham village and flaoting fish farming, several big bottles of water, an unmentionable number of beers, 2.5kgs of washing, and two bus tickets from Chau Doc to HCMC. Amazing! The manager is fantastic and the location couldn't be better. It's not the Ritz, but if you want that, you could always stay at the Victoria Hotel, never leave the building and have a really boring time!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clairemynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews