We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence in action”
Review of Murray Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Murray Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 19 Chau Doc B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

After a one day visit in October we booked for 2 nights to take in the surrounding sights. Couldn't speak highly enough of Wayne and Thanh Can for their warmth and hospitality. We were picked up from the wharf, shown to our beautifully appointed room, had our tour organised, sleeping bus to saigon booked, fed wonderful meals and personally delivered to our bus. We were treated like friends not customers. A highlight if our stay in Vietnam.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank suzanne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 224 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed at murray's for two nights and had a really nice time. The owner and his wife are lovely, attentive and friendly and go out of their was to ensure your getting the most out of your stay. They organised a few tours for us and the boat trip out of chau doc. The rooms are clean and tidy, the shower is one of the best we've had in vietnam (in terms of water pressure, they use solar heating so it is sometimes difficult to get a hot shower, though we didn't mind seeing as it was always so hot outside) and the shower was separate from the toilet. Tv has English channels, breakfast is good and they has a nice bar area with a pool table and a rooftop to get a nice view of the big town

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelBug250891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Staying at the Murray Guesthouse was one of the highlights of our trip through Cambodia and Vietnam, thanks to the generosity and efforts of the wonderful Guesthouse owners and operators who went to every effort to ensure we got the most out of our time in this Delta transit town. The Guesthouse is operated by a lovely Vietnamese woman, her Australian ex-pat husband, and their extended family, which makes for a comfortable and inviting family vibe. Free bicycles (the best way to see this town and nearby Sam Mountain), great breakfast, and all the free (and best) travel & practical advice you can ask for. Our next trip to South-East Asia will include a few days at the Murray Guesthouse in Chau Doc, and another banquet of the best roast suckling pig in Vietnam!

Room Tip: If available, ask for a room to the rear of the Guesthouse to minimise traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pccsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Absolutely brilliant place to stop! After a hot and long bus ride from Ha Tien we checked in and were very happy with our room. It's modern, new and clean. The beds are comfortable :-) and has a good shower.
The breakfast is an added bonus !
The pool and bar are a great touch!
We use the hotels bikes for free to go to the Cham village and Sam mountain and they helped us book onward travel.

Would definitely stay here again if we were in Chau Doc.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Clarery001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

In three months of traveling SE Asia, Murray Guesthouse is easily the nicest & most comfortable lodging I have had here. The staff are so friendly and helpful. The bed is awesome! The included breakfast is fresh and good. The location is convenient - can walk pretty much everywhere if you want to. And the rooftop terrace is also very nice.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, you might want to request rooms that are not on the 2nd floor near the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 101travelerNo_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Great, decent-sized room, very comfortable bed, lovely bed linen. Amazingly good bathroom for SE Asia, where the plumbing does tend to be hit and miss.

The staff are excellent. My Mekong river trip was about an hour and a half late but staff came after one call to collect me from the quay. They arranged my bus booking on to HCMC, took me to a good restaurant for dinner (late by Vietnamese standards) and were generally very helpful.

I'd give four and a half stars if that category were available. There was no hairdryer in my room and no-one seemed able to get one from another room. The breakfast choice was very limited and the coffee supply was dwindling - I got the last cup.

I was told that the owner had had surgery the day before and sensed that everyone was very worried about him. However a hotel needs to function well even when the boss is away and this one was not quite making it while I was there. The manager, who has excellent English, seemed to be needed in too many places at once - the dining room, the front desk - and the other staff, though friendly and smiling seemed less able to know what to do.

Nevertheless I would highly recommend Murray Guesthouse. Wish there were more places like this in Viet Nam.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJMcI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We loved everything at Murray Guesthouse! The owners were extremely friendly and talkative. This is a quite new place and you can tell that it was prepared with dedication and you feel that you are at a family house. The room we took was big and very comfortable. The breakfast was fresh and very decent; possibility of choosing either a western or asian breakfast. They have an amazing roof terrace with great views of Chau Doc. We would definitely recommend you to choose this guesthouse on your visit.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marilinepinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chau Doc hotels
0.4 mi away
Victoria Chau Doc Hotel
Victoria Chau Doc Hotel
#1 of 18 in Chau Doc
830 reviews
0.9 mi away
Trung Nguyen Hotel
Trung Nguyen Hotel
#5 of 18 in Chau Doc
275 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dong Xanh Hotel
Dong Xanh Hotel
#7 of 18 in Chau Doc
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Victoria Nui Sam Lodge
Victoria Nui Sam Lodge
#2 of 18 in Chau Doc
236 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hai Chau Hotel
Hai Chau Hotel
#6 of 18 in Chau Doc
172 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hung Cuong Hotel
Hung Cuong Hotel
#3 of 18 in Chau Doc
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murray Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murray Guesthouse

Address: 11 - 15 Truong Dinh, Chau Phu B, Chau Doc 883000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > An Giang Province > Chau Doc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Chau Doc
Price Range: $30 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Murray Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique family-managed accommodation that sets the benchmark to international standards: 10 rooms, AC, guest lounge with private bar and pool/snooker table, travel advice, booking arrangements, free wifi and breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Murray Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing