We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend this great hotel in Chau Doc”
Review of Murray Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Murray Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 20 Chau Doc B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Murray Guesthouse was one of the best hotels of our Vietnam/Cambodia trip. It is conveniently located near the river, just a 10 min walk to the central market and Victoria hotel and a short tuk-tuk ride to the bus station and boat docks.
This hotel is new, clean, quiet and very comfortable.
They serve a delicious complimentary Vietnamese or western breakfast and, although there is no in-house restaurant, there are refreshments available in fridges and a relaxing rooftop garden in which to enjoy them.
From the moment we arrived the owner/manager Thanh Can and her staff were welcoming, attentive and so helpful with everything--from recommending good local restaurants to arranging our Mekong river boat ticket to Phnom Penh (their suggestion of a little more expensive but smaller boat made our river trip fast, comfortable, uncomplicated at the Cambodian border,and enjoyable--as promised). They even had two new bicycles with helmets for our day trip to Sam mountain with its beautiful views of the delta.
We had a great 2 day stay in Chau Doc and this hotel was a big part of that.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Beverly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 205 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2013

We stayed one night on our way to Cambodia. The owners are very nice and friendly. The place is new with very clean rooms and a nice pool table room upstairs for guests. Lots of interesting objects and photos from world travels on the walls. Highly recommend this place if you need to stay somewhere in Chau Doc. The local market is a great place to visit. Roof has views.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LGorecki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

Difficult to fault this guesthouse in any way. I have paid far more money for "good" hotels that do not compare. Spotlessly clean. Many extra facilities including an honesty payment bar and even a full size pool table. I was short on time, but couldn't resist an extra night. Ultra friendly host who speaks pretty good English and other equally friendly family members. Guesthouse is about a 10 min walk from the ferry drop off. Cycles and great advice available. Best possible introduction to Vietnam.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
2  Thank Haedwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Murray guesthouse for one night on our way from Vietnam to Cambodia. The hotel is pretty new and our room + bathroom were super clean. The staff is extremly nice and helpful (the hotel is run by a Vietnamese / Australian couple). Another big plus are the billiard table & the bar. It's a 10-15 minute walk to the city centre which is alright. The hotel also offers rental bikes for free. We felt welcome and would definitely recommend the hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kat_Loh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Good location aprox 10min walk to main atractions. Spacious and spotless room with big bathroom. There is tv, minibar and safe in the room. Free wifi available in the rooms, lobby and at beautiful terace as well. Free pool and darts at guests lounge. And on top perfect service. There can not be a better place to stay! Perfect value!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aslahmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We are travelling for 7 months with our 2 daughters. During our trip, we spent 1 month in Vietnam and the Murray GuestHouse was one of the best place we staid in.

The room was spacious, peaceful and clean, there is a pleasent bar (with a pool) and a roof where you can enjoy a beer with a very nice view.

All the family was helpful and friendly with us!

The Guest House is new and very well decorated.

for sure, this place is a "comparable" 3 stars!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laureremi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank Corinne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chau Doc hotels
0.4 mi away
Victoria Chau Doc Hotel
Victoria Chau Doc Hotel
#1 of 18 in Chau Doc
784 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hung Cuong Hotel
Hung Cuong Hotel
#2 of 18 in Chau Doc
108 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hai Chau Hotel
Hai Chau Hotel
#5 of 18 in Chau Doc
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Dong Xanh Hotel
Dong Xanh Hotel
#6 of 18 in Chau Doc
41 reviews
0.9 mi away
Trung Nguyen Hotel
Trung Nguyen Hotel
#4 of 18 in Chau Doc
270 reviews
4.2 mi away
Victoria Nui Sam Lodge
Victoria Nui Sam Lodge
#2 of 20 in Chau Doc
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murray Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murray Guesthouse

Address: 11 - 15 Truong Dinh, Chau Phu B, Chau Doc 883000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > An Giang Province > Chau Doc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Chau Doc
Price Range: $28 - $42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Murray Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique family-managed accommodation that sets the benchmark to international standards: 10 rooms, AC, guest lounge with private bar and pool/snooker table, travel advice, booking arrangements, free wifi and breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Murray Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing