We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Victoria Chau Doc Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Thanh Nam 2(Chau Doc)
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Song Sao Hotel(Chau Doc)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
Ngoc Phu Hotel(Chau Doc)
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
Hai Chau Hotel(Chau Doc)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Ky An Hotel(Chau Doc)
View Hotel
Thuan Loi Hotel(Chau Doc)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Chau Pho Hotel(Chau Doc)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (859)
Filter reviews
859 results
Traveler rating
400
363
80
10
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
400
363
80
10
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoverlooking the riverphnom penhlovely hotelcolonial styleone nightmekong eyesold world charmmekong deltanice poolamazing locationsister hotelboth dinner and breakfastboat rideswimming poolhotel restauranten routefantastic views
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
509 - 514 of 859 reviews
Reviewed December 2, 2010

Having stayed in a low budget place the night before this hotel was everything we hoped for. River views were absoulutely awesome! Day spa was fabulous. Staff very friendly and helpful. Restaurant food was excellent. Prices of food and beverages - great value. Very popular hotel, book well in advance or you will not get in.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gypsy004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2010

My son and I caught the boat from PP down to Chau Doc and had only one night at the Victoria Hotel. The boat ride was extremely relaxing and whilst it took a few hours the scenery changed a lot with some great photo opportunities. The boat ride was a bit hairy just before we got into Vietnam as the wind really picked up and the driver kept moving people around to get the boat stabilised. However once the weather calmed things were back to normal.

Even though we were just on one of the normal ferries they ended up dropping us at the Victoria dock which saved having to find a taxi. Check in was easy and pleasant with a lovely cold towel and drink. We were upgraded to a river front room which was well appointed with possibly the best beds I encountered anywhere in Vietnam. Room has all the usual amenities with some lovely touches. French doors open out onto a small balcony and you can watch the river traffic go by.

We went for a walk before dinner intending to find somewhere to eat but nothing took our fancy so we went back to the hotel restaurant. It was very formal with lovely service and we were the only people in the restaurant. The food was delicious and whilst it was expensive by Vietnamese standards it was worth the money and we thoroughly enjoyed it.

Breakfast was served on the terrace and the manager greeted everyone which was lovely and a nice touch. We went for a long walk but the weather was really hot so we went back to get ready for check out and our trip back to Ho Chi Mon.

The bus trip I must say was the most interesting and also the worst in the two trips I have done to this area. We were not allowed to book seats so ended up in back seat with some rather smelly people and the air con was not working. The first few hours were horrendous but it then started to rain which I think cooled the outside temp which made it a little more bearable inside. Anyway we made is safely back to hcmc and then they organised a mini bus transfer to the airport.

Overall the Victoria was very nice though expensive by other hotels that I stayed at throughout Vietnam. Would highly recommend though if you are looking for some comfort and some old world elegance.

Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
Thank millsie58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2010

We stayed at the Victoria Chau Doc Hotel for one night as part of a tour with Handspan Travel. The hotel is a beautiful colonial style building. When we arrived we were told that because it was low season we had been upgraded to a room with a balcony overlooking the Mekong which was magical.
The room was very spacious and clean, all with colonial style dark wood furniture and crisp white bedding. The bathroom was also spacious with all of the amenities you would expect from a 4* hotel. It was slightly tired looking but very clean.
There was a turn down service where they left a little card and some biscuits.
We used the swimming pool which was nice - although could have been filtered a bit better.
The free pool was nice as were the cocktails in the bar.
Wish we'd had longer to enjoy the breakfast which was excellent. The manager came over to apologise for not being around to greet us the night before which was a nice touch. He also advised that because the hotel was quiet, instead of a buffet breakfast we could choose from the a la carte. It was one of best breakfasts we've had - fresh and fantastically presented.
The room key came in a silk bag and a nice touch was that when we checked out we were given the bag as a keepsake!

The hotel restaurant was supposed to be the best in Chau Doc but unfortunately we didnt try it, but if the breakfast was anything to go by then Im sure it would have been delicious.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nurmel57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2010

We absolutely loved this hotel. Unfortunely we stayed only one night before crossing the border to Cambodia. We were upgraded on check-in and had an upstairs room with a garden view. The rooms are large with beautiful dark wood floors and paneling. The pool area is faboulous and kept our and other guest's kids occupied for hours. The staff are extremely polite and attentive. The restaurant is of the higest quality with a most reasonable price. The gardens are beautifully maintained with curious carvings and figurines dottd amongst the trees. We utilised the hotel's speedboat transfer to Phnom Penh which was excellent as well.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pedrovski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2010

This place was a great break for a day or two from Phnom Penh. I highly recommend the rooms facing the river (otherwise you face the traffic) - the views are fantastic. The food at the restaurant was quite good, though there is also a seafood floating restaurant next door that had good value for money. The rooms are nice style, though the hot water had some issues some mornings. The rooms had wooden floors, good bed etc. I highly recommend the hotel, it is the best in town - but I suggest not going through the hotel for local tours or the boat to Phnom Penh as you can get the speed boat for 1/4 of the price for the same thing locally and the local tours around Chau Doc for 1/4 of the price for the same thing as soon as you step outside the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lifeisbeaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews