We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel in this part of the country”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Victoria Chau Doc Hotel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Chau Doc
Certificate of Excellence
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
129 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel in this part of the country”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

It's quite rare to get such a beautiful hotel setting in a remote area of the country. Service is impeccable, rooms are large, clean & well maintained; breakfast buffet is large and complete with Western & Asian foods (do not miss the collection of delicate jams and French baguettes).

Lots of mosquitoes at night so come prepared with insect repellents.

Room Tip: Rooms looking out to garden areas are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ntee6603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaChauDocTeam, Manager at Victoria Chau Doc Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Distinguished Guest,

IT IS with tremendous pleasure that we have the great chance to welcome you at our property. We'd like to take this opportunity to extend our warmest thanks for your stay and satisfaction & great comments on TripAdvisor. This is great motivation for us to work so hard to provide and sustain Top Quality Products and Services for all our customers

Look forward to welcoming You back.

Best regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    322
    76
    10
    6
See reviews for
90
429
40
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

The good: staff were very pleasant and obliging. The food was of good quality and quantity. We had well coordinated boat pick up and border crossing into Cambodia including visa application with the assistance of a guide organized by the hotel.

The bad: room was clean and comfy but the bathroom is due for an update. The "compulsory" New Years Eve dinner worth US$90 included two hours of pre-dinner cocktails but no water, which we paid an additional $5 for. They played the same ABBA song on repeat for about three hours, and then again at breakfast the next morning. Not to mention the cheapest of plastic children's toys that "decorated" the dinner tables. I am 30, not 3! Considering the remote location they went to some lengths to celebrate New Years for the westerners, but missed the mark and it wasn't worth the money we paid.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Madam_Zo_Zo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaChauDocTeam, Manager at Victoria Chau Doc Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Distinguished Guests,

On behalf of the Management, we would like to express our sincere thanks to your stay and valuable feedback on TripAdvisor.

Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience regarding to bathroom, rate of compulsory meal, toys on the table, music…, we have closely verified all the points with our related Service Departments and full attention to the points were paid to improve the Quality Service. We hope that You would give us the chance of the nearest occasions to offer the better Victoria Customers Service, ensured by the obligation of highest respect to every Guest without exception

Thank once again you for your valuable feedback and we all look forward to your patronage.

With best regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Stayed here for one night as part of a Mekong river cruise. It was an atmospheric hotel, with extremely attentive and helpful staff. We borrowed a DVD player and the staff went to a lot of trouble to wire it up for us. The room was spacious, clean and very comfortable, with a large bathroom and great view over the Mekong river. We had dinner on the terrace overlooking the river - very enjoyable, great food, service and ambience. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Room with view of river
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GillyGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaChauDocTeam, Manager at Victoria Chau Doc Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Thank you for sharing your positive comments here on TripAdvisor.

On behalf of the Management, We wish to seize this opportunity to extend our warmest thanks for your stay and satisfaction with our services.

Please rest assured that the Management & the whole staff members at the Hotel will always work tirelessly and passionately to create the best experience possible for all of our guests

Look forward to welcoming You again soon

Best regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed one night at the hotel and used the speedboat transfer to Phnom Penh. I am not aware of the cost as it was part of a total holiday package. The hotel is superb, for which I would have written a separate 4* review. Related to the speedboat service however, we were not satisfied. The service itself is okay. However, just after we had left the dock at the hotel, the Victoria Crew asked 4USD to each passenger on the boat in addition to the Cambodian Visa fee for "handling the paperwork". When writing to the hotel about this afterwards, they say it goes to the Cambodian police to make things go smoother. I understand these things happen, but would not expect it on a service run by a 5 star hotel. If the hotel knows they need this money to go through customs faster, they should simply include it in the cost of the service or inform passengers in advance. Independent who pockets this illegal money, you should be aware that you will be asked for this. Nobody on our boat knew.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marianne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaChauDocTeam, Manager at Victoria Chau Doc Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Madam Salmans,

On behalf of the Management, we wish to extend our appreciation to your stay at Victoria Chau Doc Hotel.

Regarding the Cambodian visa fees, we wish to report to your kind attention that the Cambodian immigration office fixes the price with $20 per visa. As our team is traveling through this river border twice a day, they are aware that entertainment gestures asked from Cambodian Police Officers with $4 or $5 per one could help allow an enhanced flexibility; there is however no compromise among the crew. We will pay more attention to your advice and find out solution for better service.

Please make assured that Victoria Chau Doc closely supervises the staff and always keeps refresh training of the work force systematically to provide the highest standards of service in the industry. .

Once again, please accept our apologies for any inconveniences. Look forward to your kind understanding, Madam Salmans,You remain Victoria Chau Doc Hotel’s most Distinguished Guest.

Best regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Our stay here was included withour Mekong cruise from Ho Chi Minh so I dont know the cost.
We had a huge room with 2 opening doors overlooking the river. Its only a few minutes walk from a busy market so plenty to see. Couldnt fault the hotel. Friendly and helpfull staff, good breakfast and dinner and excellent service in the restaurant. In the morning the staff were very helpfull getting us on our boat to Phnom Pen.
Cant rate the value as I dont know the cost and we didnt use the spa.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank safariselb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaChauDocTeam, Manager at Victoria Chau Doc Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Distinguished Guests,

On behalf of the Management, we are appreciative of your stay and good feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are happy and encouraged due to your gratification of Hotel service. Please believe that Victoria Chau Doc Hotel makes the great efforts to understand the needs of our dear guests to fulfill their needs better and maintain a high level consistency in our products offerings & service level. Your great comments definitely gives the encouragement and motivation to our team.

Look forward to welcoming You back at our Hotel

With best regards and all the best for the New Year 2014,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Vaud, Switzerland
Level Contributor
521 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Considering that chau doc is far away from many things and surrounded by a lot of poverty, the hotel is an island of luxury, decorated in colonial style with wooden floors and comfortable rooms.
An advice: qthe rooms toward the street seem noisy, when you arrive. But the traffic dies down at night. On the river, the noisy boats run all night and at least an hour before sunrise, the boats make lots of noise. So I think, the streetside is, bottomline, the better choice.
Breakfast choices and quality of products was good.
Service was very helpful and they did go the extra mile when we needed passport fotos for the visum to Cambodia, printed the, for us, helped us to get things done.
For stars only because of the comparison with the Hotel in Can Tho.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jochen-v-S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaChauDocTeam, Manager at Victoria Chau Doc Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Distinguished Guests,

IT IS a pleasure to have the great opening to receive You at our property.

On behalf of the Management, We wish to express our thanks to your stay and good comments. Chau Doc is both the serviceable stopover and fairly latent destination by reason of the Town bordering Cambodia, the Locally Preserved Authenticity and far away from very rapid development areas in the Mekong Delta. Many of the local authenticity is still very much alive and conserved. the Management have a unified commitment to the environment and actively seek ways in which we can implement initiatives whilst maintaining the high level of guest service for which we have been known for. Especially, the Hotel has a specific plan for soundproof of guests rooms.

WISHING YOU ALL “ HAPPY NEW YEAR”, looking forward to your visit again.

With best wishes,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
195 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We stopped in this hotel for the night before hoping on a speed boat for the trip into Cambodia and what a gem of a surprise, totally unexpected but totally amazing!!!!

We were not really expecting a great hotel for one night in this location but were taken aback from the first site of the facility. Very French in its appearance and direction and would not be out of place competing against the big hotels in any city .... that's my view anyway!!!!

The first impression from walking into the lobby is luxury and this does not stop. The rooms we had were very well appointed, large, well maintained and clean. The hotel faces the river and our rooms looked in that direction, fabulous location is all that could be said.

There is a very nice outdoor pool area, bar and lounge facilities and a lovely restaurant. We had both lunch and dinner in the restaurant and not just because there is not much else around. The food and service were great and we were very happy after both meals. Breakfast was also a pleasure being well stocked with variety and freshness, far better than most hotels experienced during our current trip.

If you are stopping in Chau Doc THIS is the only place to stay!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river would be the best I would suggest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 23PeterJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaChauDocTeam, Manager at Victoria Chau Doc Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Peter,

IT IS A Great Happiness for us to welcome You at our Property

On behalf of the Management, we wish to take this great opportunity to express our warmest thanks for your stay and good comments regarding meals, rooms, view, location...These comments will definitely encourage us to strive improvement of travellers' stay, go that extra mile to deliver the most exceptional customers services and maintain its standard as one of the best hotels.

We look forward to welcoming You back at an earliest occasion, Mister Peter, we remain at your disposition.

Happy New Year !

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chau Doc hotels
0.7 mi away
Dong Xanh Hotel
Dong Xanh Hotel
#6 of 17 in Chau Doc
36 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hung Cuong Hotel
Hung Cuong Hotel
#2 of 17 in Chau Doc
96 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hai Chau Hotel
Hai Chau Hotel
#5 of 17 in Chau Doc
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Victoria Nui Sam Lodge
Victoria Nui Sam Lodge
#2 of 18 in Chau Doc
209 reviews
0.4 mi away
Murray Guesthouse
Murray Guesthouse
#1 of 18 in Chau Doc
194 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hoang Duc Hotel
Hoang Duc Hotel
#2 of 20 in Chau Doc
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Chau Doc Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Chau Doc Hotel

Property: Victoria Chau Doc Hotel
Address: 1 Le Loi street, Chau Doc, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > An Giang Province > Chau Doc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Chau Doc
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Chau Doc Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On board the Victoria boats, cruise the mystical Mekong River from Vietnam to Cambodia. Located deep into the Mekong Delta, close to the Cambodia border, Chau Doc is a fascinating riverside small town with a mixture of Cham and Khmer cultures. Built in a colonial style on the banks of the Bassac River, at the Three River Crossing, Victoria Chau Doc Hotel offers a breathtaking view of bustling river life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Victoria Chau Doc Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Chau Doc
Victoria Chau Doc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing