We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bland and overpriced ”
Review of Motion Cafe

Motion Cafe
Ranked #62 of 371 Restaurants in Canggu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $13
Cuisines: European, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Description: Small and cozy cafe/restaurant serving breakfast, lunch & dinner (delivery possible). Various dishes from homemade granola via healthy burgers and world class salads to cakes/muffins, healthy drinks and lots of vegetarian and vegan dishes. Weekly changing healthy diets for delivery to your home and office. Detox programs and nutrition consulting available. Open every day 07:00 - 22:00.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I fear in the name of trying to be healthy the chef has forgotten about flavour. I ordered the tomato pasta and it tasted of nothing. The basil was dry, not fresh, so added very little taste. No seasoning was used in that dish at all. The penne was over cooked and would break up when you tried to press it onto your fork. I would expect this kind of pasta from a school that is serving hundreds of kids, not a highly touted cafe. Perhaps they should stick to coffee and protein shakes, along with the chef googling salt and herbs perhaps. The iced lemon, ginger and honey tea was water with ice in it, couldn’t taste any of the said ingredients and I’m sensitive to the taste of ginger. The light “brownie” was a cake. And the price did not reflect the quality. I could’ve made better pasta with basic ingredients from a supermarket, if only I had a stove to do so. Don’t waste your money or time here, it’s just a posey “cool” cafe that people want to be seen in.

Thank Hayleyjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvocadoCafeCanggu, Manager at Motion Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Hayleyjan,
sad to hear that you were so disappointed in our food. Mistakes happen, but our pasta is usually al dente and we use fresh basil for the tomato sauce only. Its a pity that you haven't brought your complaints to the attention of our staff straight away. We would have tried to make you happy and offered you a different dish free of charge, and thus maybe would have gotten a less aggressive review from you. We are proud that we have lots of very satisfied customers (and 100% genuine reviews) who appreciate the way we serve food, namely in a healthy, clean way with absolutely no artificial additives such as flavour enhancer or preservatives like many people (probably including you) are used to so much nowadays. We don't "tout" our cafe at all and if you have the impression that we are a "posey cafe that people want to be seen in" than you might ask yourself why YOU have come at all. Probably not to eat something healthy, natural and different than served in most other places around.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (307)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 307 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2018 via mobile

Went to motion Café every morning. Great café in relaxed atmosphere. Served healthy, fitness food. Had the Avocado eggs every morning and they tasted amazing.
Tried the protein waffles as well and it was really good.
Will come back for sure!!

Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2018 via mobile

Visited this cafe about 10 times whilst in Canggu and was some of the most yummiest food we had whilst in Asia. Great vegan and non vegan options, and the staff are so friendly. If you're in Bali, Motion is the place to be.

Thank Jack W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2018 via mobile

We found out about motion cafe during last couple of days of our stay in canggu otherwise would have frequented this place more often. Food is good and at par with organic cafe but service here is better and good value for money as they don't charge extra in the name of 15% taxes that all places charges. All their prices in menu are inclusive of all taxes and service charges. Since the staff was so attentive we ended up tipping our server. Food wise we loved their chickpeas curry with red rice and granola. Lentil burger was below average and left a lot to be desired of. Overall a very good option for gluten free and vegan population and a must visit place.

Thank AjayS1386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2018 via mobile

The best selection of healthy food in the area. There is something for everyone here. My personal favorite is the paleo plate breakfast with eggs, sweet potato and spinich.

Thank TrotaAye3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Motion Cafe also viewed

 
Canggu, North Kuta
Canggu, North Kuta
 

Been to Motion Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing