We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Villa Maya”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Canggu, North Kuta, Bali

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Antboi
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Villa Maya”
Reviewed January 9, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Villa Maya is a delightful villa tucked away in among the rice fields of Canggu with its sister villa, Villa Waha adjoining the property along with other neighbouring villas. The villa is located within walking distance to the Bali Equestrian Centre, the Canggu Club and many top name café’s and restaurants. Slightly further afield is the Finns Beach Club and multitude of restaurants, shops and cafes in Echo Beach. The closest areas of Seminyak can be a 15 minute car ride away with the further areas of Seminyak taking up to an hour to get to because of the heavy traffic conditions that now prevail in these heavily populated tourist areas.

The villa is staffed by some great guys – Apriadi the Manager, Nyoman the great chef, Budhi and Wayan the butlers and a keen gardener/pool boy who kept the grounds in spotless condition, not to mention some great security staff at night.

A special thank you to Apriadi, who went over and beyond his call of duty in staying back at the villa until a ridiculously late hour of 2am for our arrival due to plane delays. This was appreciated so much to be greeted at that hour by his smiling face to a group of exhausted and weary travellers. All the staff made our stay effortless and comfortable and kept the place working in tip top condition.

The property and amenities are all as depicted in the pictures online, with the property itself being quite new.

Due to the location of the villa, it is advised you arrange a car and driver which we did have to take us wherever we wanted. This is an invaluable service and one well used during our stay.

The only “complaint” we have for the villa is that the wifi is hopelessly inadequate. At the best of times it worked very slowly and very intermittently at a level that was unserviceable for any usage. At the worse of times it didn’t work at all which was more often the case than not. As a business owner who needed reliable fast broadband (as advertised), it unfortunately was insufficient for my needs and required my visiting local cafes for faster and more reliable coverage to be able to deal with running a business remotely.

In all, Villa Maya was a great place to stay and would be recommended to friends and family alike for future visits.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 19, 2017
Dear Antboi

Thank you very much for your detailed review which is very much appreciated. Apriadi, your villa manager, did check with you each day to see if there were any issues, and the wifi was never mentioned. This said, we have sent our technicians to the villa to make sure that the wifi is the best that Bali can offer. Do note, that the wifi in Bali will never be as fast as a super modern country....
We all hope that you returned home in comfort and style
Best regards from all of us at Villa Waha
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent K
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Villa! Great value!”
Reviewed October 21, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We had an excellent stay at The Villa Maya! We were a group of 3 families with 4 kids and the size was just right. Everything is as you see in the photos. Pool was decent sized and the kids had a great time in it although it is a bit deep for younger ones. The decor was modern and tasteful and has a good blend of Balinese local style with contemporary art. The bedrooms were good sized with comfortable beds. Bathrooms were also very nice where two of the bathrooms come with a large bath to soak in. All around the villa is very clean and appliances and furniture are new.

The staff at the villa is amazing! Apri and his team will take care of you from start to finish. There is a butler standing by in the villa most of the day and can help you with anything, even going out to buy groceries and Starbucks for us! Apri helped arrange transportation and restaurant bookings so it was no hassle at all. The chef was very skilled as well, the breakfast is delicious and we had ordered dinner in the villa one night and he cooked up some nice local dishes. We also had a very friendly driver who were with us most of the day and didn't even mind coming to pick us up at early at 6am for our round of golf!

Location is great and is minutes from Finn's Beach Club which is a new hip hangout and Canggu Club which has a nice water park and kids club. It was also easy to get into Seminyak for the nice bars and restaurants.

The only improvement points to note are the water heater and the water pressure. The shower was not strong enough in one of the bathrooms and the hot water only trickles out of the tap and if you try to set it to warm water the heater somehow shuts off and you only have cold water. We resorted to taking baths instead of showers as such. Apri really tried to help with the problem but seems it is due to the heater hardware so may need replacement. And with everywhere in Bali there will be mosquitoes but they have plenty of bug spray in the villa for you to use.

Overall it was an excellent experience and I would definitely recommend this villa if you are traveling as 2-3 families. I usually don't stay at the same place when I travel but really tempted to stay here again next time I visit Bali! Thanks Apri and team for a great stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 25, 2017
Dear Vincent
Thank you for taking the time to write your detailed review and we are delighted that you all enjoyed yourselves. Thanks for letting us know about the water heaters and water pressure, which we have fixed by replacing all the water heaters and deep well pumps.
Best regards from all of us at Bali Realty Holiday Villas
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay M
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Piece of Paridise in Canggu!”
Reviewed October 1, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

OMG! This villa is a stunning example of what luxury, privacy and fun in life is just around the corner. From stylish decor, open living space and enjoyable indoor and outdoor living to friendly and reliable service from staff and management. A perfect location away from major traffic but a stones through away from massage, food, shopping and entertainment. Beautiful rice fields with a calming feeling at your door step and space to entertain friends and family for babi guling.
Virtually anything we needed help with was fulfilled. I recommend this accomodation to all ages. So much happiness that anything not expected was nothing to worry about.
10/10.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justine W
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed July 31, 2016 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

What a beautiful place to stay!

We had the most amazing holiday at The Maya.

We were wowed from the moment we walked in at the beauty of this 2 storey villa. Such lovely contemporary Balinese architecture and styling.

Light, bright and open living spaces perfect for a large group or families staying together.

We stayed with another family and there was ample room for everyone. Spacious bedrooms, super comfy beds and all with stunning ensuites. The view of the rice paddy from our room made us feel miles away from the hustle and bustle of busy Seminyak.

I especially loved the main living area that openly flows out into the pool and garden but can be closed up at night.

The service level of the staff was superb! There's nothing better than waking up each morning with someone pouring your morning cup of tea, just how you like it, as soon as you sit down at the table. Or bringing you an icy cold drink whilst lying by the pool.

The kids loved interacting with the friendly staff, especially watching the chef make their pancakes and scrambled eggs. Having a driver each day was fantastic to head into Seminyak for shopping and dinner.

The location is tucked away and fantastic for a peaceful, relaxing holiday - but is only 5 mins by car/Scooter to surf at Berawa or 10 mins to Echo Beach. There are fantastic Cafés within walking distance.

The kids spent the whole holiday in the pool, which is a great size for groups and long enough to swim a few laps. They also loved how close we were to the Canguu Club/ Splash Waterpark - we spent a few days there and the whole family had a ball.

I would highly recommend this Villa for your next Bali holiday. We are looking forward to going back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staceylma...
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing stay at The Maya”
Reviewed July 24, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at The Maya Villa for a total of 6 nights with a group of friends. From the time we arrived at the villa to the time we left, we had an amazing time.

The villa itself if stunning! The modern aesthetic flows throughout the villa. It has large open shared spaces. The main living area (kitchen, lounge and dining) have sliding doors which open up to the outdoor area and pool. At night time these doors are closed. The pool was lovely and big (and the temperature was perfect). The rooms were spacious with large bathrooms. The beds were very comfortable.

The staff were outstanding! We were always greeted with a friendly smile. They also helped us arrange restaurant bookings, massages, etc. Nothing seemed to difficult! We received a more personal and fast service than you would receive at a hotel.

The villa is located around 15 minutes from Seminyak. It was excellent having a driver as we never had to worry about getting to places. The only downside was the villa was quite difficult to find when using other taxi services. Luckily enough the great villa staff helped out when they could (even jumping on their motorbikes to find our lost friends).

As a group, we would definitely recommend this villa to groups of people looking for somewhere to stay in Bali.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool area
Liked least: Difficulty finding the villa
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 27, 2016
Dear Stacey

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review which is very much appreciated. Our friendly staff are a joy to have, and we share these reviews with them which highlights to them the great work that they do.

We do hope you returned home safely and look forward to your return
Best regards from all of us
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nesters16
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent staff and property”
Reviewed July 18, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Very handy having a butter and a driver all the time. This is what a holiday is about. They go above and beyond to make sure you enjoy yourself. I would highly recommend for anyone traveling to Bali.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamB2508
Randwick, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Luxury Villa with surf and food at the doorstep.... Bliss”
Reviewed March 14, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed here with 3 life long friends. We all had the same agenda... Surf, eat, rest. The villa itself is impeccable ... Loved every inch on the owners take of modern Bali style. It is really well finished. The position of the villa is perfect. Very connected to the big hub of Seminyak ... Buts its views of rice paddies made it feel like we were away from the hustle and bustle as well.

The staff are so friendly, reliable and focussed on ensuring we were looked after around the clock. The driver knew the best surfing spots as well. Brilliant.

We ate breakfast in the Villa each morning and it was totally on point.

My room was upstairs and had great storage, and a tremendous ensuite ... All rooms have this. Makes it easy for big groups to use and all feel completely looked after.

This trip was with friends - but am planning on taking the family and my 3 kids up later in the year and would definitely stay here without hesitation. The 15 metre pool and grass area make it feel spacious and would be perfect for kids to enjoy the their stay.

5 stars. Well done.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Apart from the Villa pool... The staff
Liked least: There is nothing not to like
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing