We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice, cosy resort - definitely recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Legong Keraton Beach Hotel
Ranked #19 of 35 Hotels in Canggu
Singapore
Level Contributor
72 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A very nice, cosy resort – definitely recommended”
Reviewed October 2, 2010

Legong Keraton is in Canggu, which is along Bali’s west coast up north from the main tourist centers of Kuta, Seminyak & Laguan. Canggu is a quiet village & this resort is actually the last resort on that stretch of road.

But the drive & the stay is well worth it – the resort is located right on the sea & is very spacious. The resort also has its private, stretch of beach right outside – but the beach is a little pebbly. However, it is ideal for wakeboarding & we saw a lot of people in the sea there.

The rooms have all the modern comforts, but are furnished in the old Balinese style giving the resort a very pleasant charm. The rooms are very clean, spacious & each room has its own little sitting verandah with lounge chairs outside.

Breakfast is included in the room price and is quite sumptuous. You get the standard continental spread, along with noodles, sandwiches & soups.

The staff is also very courteous & willing to help. The resort also has options to join various Bali island tours, diving/snorkeling tours, rent cars & a business center.

For someone who wants to truly enjoy Bali without the usual touristy hustle-bustle, Legong Keraton is definitely recommended.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTravelingHorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    118
    52
    16
    9
See reviews for
50
90
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nha Trang, Vietnam
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2010

We found this hotel last minute and we were very positively satisfied. The hotel is located outside of kuta's exciting and busy area which is the perfect place to relax. We enjoyed the premises very much; the rooms were large and comfortable with their own balcony. The restaurant is right on the beach and the menu remains very affordable. We had lunch and dinner there for nearly 4 days and we did not get board with the selection. Staff is also nice, smiling and helpful. Communication is sometimes an issue as the English level is not always good (but we are use to it as we live in Vietnam). Fortunately they have a good supervision and their genuineness and friendliness make you forget about it.
I would expect a better service in terms of concierge activities like tours and visits. We have tried to rent a bike there and we had to wait 2 hours instead of the 40 minutes as per the receptionist. Transport from the hotel is also very expensive; taxi would cost you half price in general.
The beach is nice but swimming is not always easy as big waves clash onto hidden volcanic underwater rocks.
I won't forget this place as I have proposed my Girlfriend there on the beach... We will certainly be back their in a couple of years.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurentNT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wherever
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2010

We spent 5 nights here in a deluxe room. The room itself was spacious and clean with a good size bathroom. The bedside lightening was rather dim for reading at night otherwise we were happy with the accommodation. Our balcony looked out onto the garden area making it a nice place to sit in the evening and listen to the waves crashing on the beach. Was quite suprised with the qualilty and freshness of the meals in the restaurant and also the prices which were on par with eating out in Legian.
I remember reading in a previous review that the hotel was looking a bit tired. It appears that this is being recetified as there was painting in progress while we were there to freshen up the hotel. As previous reviews have said this is definitely not a place to go for nightlife or partying on, you are better off in Legian or Kuta. Noticed surfers made it their base for surfing up the coast. There a tidal creeks either side of the hotel so if you want to venture up or down the beach need to do it at low tide. There is a restaurant/ bar just outside the hotel, can't comment on the food as we did not eat there but did have a couple of drinks there. Reminded me of Bali 20 years ago. We bought water and cool drinks about 200mts up the road at a small stall which catered for the locals

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nomad46wherever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2010

I dont want to say too much otherwise next time we got to book this place we will have to pay more or we wont be able to get a room. But I am doing this for the staff who are lovelly especially front desk and in the restaurant. The rooms are plain but beautiful and huge, only missing a kettle for my morning cuppa but staff are more than happy to bring you some hot water. Rooms 12 & 14 on the second storey have massive decks which could hold a small wedding reception, you have your own table, chairs and umbrella to boot. The food in the restaurant was great and well priced for Bali standards, especially the Steak and Mash Potatoe (yummy). The outside dining in the restaurant be it evening, lunch or breakfast beats Jimbaran Bay, Kuta or Legian handsdown, the waves literally crashing behind the small brick wall that seperates you from the beach. In the evening you are lost in a romantic world of fairy lights set far up in the coconut palms above your tables and during the day you can watch the surfers ride the endless waves in front of your table. All in all this was a beautiful place, I would recommend hiring scooters to investigate the many Gangs and Jalans and the hotel is not too far from Seminyak if you take the short cut down past the Canggu Country Club. All in all excellant find but dont tell to many people, One last thing, the Spa could have another lady as the current one is to busy for drop in, make sure you book.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank citybails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2010

I was unsure what to expect with this hotel after reading all the reviews on trip advisor and unfortunately it lived up to the more negative ones.

We went for a relaxing week and anticipated good surf, relaxing hotel and great food out of the way of the madness but with more than enough to occupy us. I was also very dismissive of comments that Kuta was too far away seeing as it only seems to be 20 minutes by taxi but it was a pretty big pain getting in and out every night for decent food.

The hotel I would say is a 3 star at best and is not value for money. The staff are all very young and there doesn't seem to be anyone in particular managing them. It can take three staff to brush up non existent leaves but none to refresh the breakfast.

The food at best is mediocre and overpriced and after a few days you have gone through the whole menu and don't really fancy doing it again. There are very few other cafes or restuarants around the area either but it is only 30 minute walk down the beach to Seminyak and a little further to Legian. It's a nice walk too if you can do it before sunset. To find your nearest little shop for water, snacks or supplies you need to hire a scooter, which you can from the hotel for 50,000 IDR a day. If you're brave enough its quite a lot of fun.

Kuta is only 20-30 minutes away by car and they do offer a free shuttle bus, you have to book in advance and the shuttle bus only takes six people so you need to get in early or make your own arrangements. They run at 10am and 3pm each day one way only. Taxi's range in price trying to get back from Kuta too and beware the drivers who try to charge you double by telling you it's very far! 60,000 IDR is a fair price each way.

The hotel predominantly caters for German tourists and beware the 1980's myth of towels on sun loungers!! By 8.30am there was not one lounger available by the pool and just a sea of towels. Made more annoying in that some days no one but the towels used them. There isn't enough loungers for the amount of guests and there is nothing else to do in the area but surf and lie round the pool. Pretty annoying when for Bali prices you are paying quite a lot per night for the room and all the amenities.

If you love to surf then head out here but only for a few days at a time, any longer and you go stir crazy, it's not a good enough hotel to do nothing for a week or more. The sea is pretty polluted and not too inviting unless you are a surfer. There are better surf spots around Uluwatu and surrounding areas and much cleaner water too.

A real shame as we were so looking forward to ten days in an idyllic location but unfortunately it didn't match up to it's website! Next time I'll face the crowds in the surf at Legian and be closer heart of Bali.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chelle1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2010

I found Legong Keraton Beach Hotel through Trip Advisor and read all the reviews not quite knowing what to expect - they were so varied!

We chose to stay here primarily because of the surf (husband) and location being isolated but still close enough to the shopping action (me!) so we were both completely satisfied. On most days the surf pumped both morning and evening and with a daily shuttle bus to Seminyak/Legian I was in heaven. We both love being away from the hustle and bustle but if you require “conveniences” then this resort might not be for you. There isn't anything else within walking distance - there is another restaurant directly behind the Resort (though due to an unfortunate case of Bali Belly picked up at Aromas in Kuta we couldn't dine there) but this restaurant and menu looked very nice. There is also a little 'shop' 100m up the road that you can get your water, Bintangs and the like and a short taxi ride away near the Changuu Country Club there is a massive “deli”. The Resort had a lovely day spa, the food and service were exceptional and the pool area was small and inviting. Sitting in a sun lounge watching the surfers sipping a cocktail was just the ticket! We stayed in Villa # 1, which is the best room at the resort and can highly recommend it as it is an individual bungalow with no common walls and a single storey dwelling.

We have been to Bali 6 times and have never experienced "Bali Belly". As mentioned above my husband caught this at Aromas in Kuta and we needed to call a doctor as he was violently ill. We unfortunately didn't travel with any medication - a massive warning to everyone, take precautions and go to your Chemist before you depart - but we luckily we did have Travel Insurance! The hotel staff were wonderful, they arranged for a doctor to attend (at 10pm) and then during the recovery phase the kitchen gave us food that helped nourish. Their Margherita pizza was one of the best I have eaten!

I can't stress enough about the isolation - its a standard resort with just one pool, one restaurant, no gym - we spoke to several people staying there that found it challenging and wanted to leave. So if surf, peace and quiet isn't your thing then I wouldn't recommend staying here – but we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thumper010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 28, 2010

We found the hotel to be great but the surf waas very very crowded all day and the water not so clean.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gday66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canggu hotels
0.4 mi away
THE HAVEN SUITES Bali Berawa
0.2 mi away
Lv8 Resort Hotel
Lv8 Resort Hotel
#12 of 35 in Canggu
220 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Kirana Hotel Resto and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
FRii Bali Echo Beach, Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Tugu Bali
Hotel Tugu Bali
#1 of 35 in Canggu
748 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aston Canggu Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legong Keraton Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legong Keraton Beach Hotel

Property: Legong Keraton Beach Hotel
Address: Pantai Berawa Street, Canggu, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Canggu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Canggu
#14 Spa Hotel in Canggu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Legong Keraton Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Legong Keraton Beach Hotel offers beach front tranquility with a Balinese ambiance. It boasts an outdoor pool, spa and a beachfront restaurant and bar.FACILITIES: With a children’s pool and babysitting facilities young visitors are well catered for. For adults a large pool and massage service provide an opportunity to relax after trawling the streets of north Kuta. An on call Doctor and laundry are amongst the services offered. Traditional Balinese massages and herbal treatments are on offer at Pasir the Spa. The hotel also offers bike rental, tour bookings and childcare services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Legong Keraton Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legong Keraton Beach Canggu
Legong Keraton Beach Hotel Bali/Canggu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing