We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be missed!”
Review of La Finca Bali

La Finca Bali
Ranked #24 of 254 Restaurants in Canggu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: La Finca is an authentic, rustic Ibizan/Spanish Mediterranean dining experience where everything is home-prepared with fresh, organic ingredients, using traditional, artisan methods and recipes.
Bali, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not to be missed!”
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

We went to La Finca one Saturday night to try out the new Spanish IT place in Bali. Located close to Batubelig beach, you can't miss this place with its bright lights. Interesting and tasty food. Excellent, excellent pork belly with pineapple sauce if you're adventurous with your food.

Cocktails are fabulous. So many to try. We ended up trying about 4 of them. :)

We had desserts and to-die-for cappuccino to end our night.

All in all, super!! Won't hesitate to come back soon. Maybe tomorrow for lunch. ;)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFincaBali, General Manager at La Finca Bali, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review! Receiving reviews and knowing that you had a great meal is what is gives us the most fulfillment. Please be back soon!
Just a reminder that we are still closed for lunch for the time being unfortunately. BUT stay tuned... in the very near future (~1 month) we plan to open our doors for lunch and weekend brunch as well.
For now we are open Monday - Saturday @ 530pm. Alimenta El Alma :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    337
    135
    53
    31
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Authentic Spanish in an Island atmosphere”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Went with a date, shared a bunch of good tapas. Of note were the Gambas, in oil and infused with garlic. Reminded me of flavors from Barcelona and Ibiza.

Chorizo and Careta (pig head) were also good, with the Careta in particular a tasty appetizer melding the crunch of roast skin, a sweet plum sauce and the juicy and savory flavors of the meat.

Had a salad that was overly salted, and the chef (who is from the Basque country) came out to apologize and make the necessary changes quickly.

For mains, shared the suckling pig and the Carne Piedre (steak on a stone). Both were fantastic. The seeming simplicity of the cooking allows the flavors of the ingredients to shine through.

Atmosphere was very Bali. High ceilings made of bamboo and thatch, with the restaurant open to the air on 3 sides, and with green and grass on both sides of the dining area. A solid island breeze kept up during the night.

Unfortunately the power went on/off intermittently over the course of dinner (never down for more than a minute), but the crowd and restaurant team took it in stride and had a good time with it.

Highly recommended for a relaxed night out, with authentic Spanish food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Columbiacate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFincaBali, General Manager at La Finca Bali, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for the review and feedback! I hope you had a nice date. We're happy to know that you enjoyed the food and ambiance :) I believe I remember your table including the over-salted salad that night. Thank you for letting us know. We checked and were able to fix this immediately as a result. Regarding the blackouts, I am glad to report that we have finally received our electricity upgrade and there are no more black-outs at La Finca anymore. At the time of your visit we were long awaiting PLN (Indonesia's national electricity provider), who sometimes work at an 'island's pace'. Thank you for taking the black outs that night with stride and humor. We hope to see you back at La Finca soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Awesome spanish food and drink in a great setting”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Came here for the first time last Friday and was blown away by the quality of the food and the friendly relaxed atmosphere. By half way through the meal I was already booking my Birthday celebrations the following Monday. Food is sensational, a mix of tapas, larger dishes and burgers and of course to die for desserts. Highlights include a sensational grilled calamari in garlic parsley oil (we had to order a second serving it was so good), steak cooked at your table on your own super heated lava stone, suckling pig, patatas bravas and the meatballs. The hamburgers are very good (with daily house baked bread) but I would stick with the tapas and mains. Desserts were outstanding too, a focus on chocolate with churros, chocolate mousse and chocolate truffles all being amazing. The cheesecake was outstanding too. Drinks wise they have 4 different sangrias, we tried the red wine based one which was dangerously easy to drink and probably the best sangria I have tasted. The wine list is extensive with some great Spanish Rioja and other varieties. The staff are lovely and very friendly and efficient, the owners are extremely welcoming and happy to chat and recommend dishes (as well as being extremely generous on my Birthday). Overall I can highly recommend La Finca for some of the best food on the island at very reasonable price in a great atmosphere. I am planning to make this a regular weekly eating spot as the regularly changing specials keep things fresh and interesting. Great work guys and keep it up, my favourite new spot in Bali.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jon_Sheppard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFincaBali, General Manager at La Finca Bali, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Hi Jon - thank you so much for your kind review and your frequent patronage already! We are very grateful for your feedback and for sharing your experience with others. Most importantly, we are extremely happy that you are enjoying your meals and time at La Finca so much. See you back at La Finca very soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JAKARTA, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The best spanish I've ever had in Bali by Far”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We've eaten at La Finca now 3 times and its only been open for a couple of weeks, the place is awesome, slightly off the main drag so you actually feel like your in Bali and dont have to suck up the exhaust fumes and suffer the constant noise of Seminyak. The decor is beautiful, it is Al Fresco dining and set in a very cool Bamboo structure, inside is a stone grill and bread oven which fills the restaurant full of a beautiful aroma, the space is big but there are many small enclaves and seated areas so you can always get that intimate space if you are looking for it.

The crowd are a good mix of locals, spanish community and tourists and all fairly sophisticated but its a relaxed vibe, I was wearing shorts and a t-shirt, I begrudge having to dress up for dinner in a place like Bali!

Now to the important stuff, the food, we feasted on most of the Tapas and it was absolutely amazing, the Croquettes, Black Ink Squid and Calamari all served with lovely fresh bread, still hot with an awesome dipping sauce which I forget the name but seemed yogurt and garlic based.

We then went on to the Carne Piedre, the stone cooked steak dish that they are famous for, we opted for the Wagyu and it was sublime, the theatre of cooking for yourself is good fun especially with a group, the steak was awesome and they have some very interesting sauces and condiments.

Overall I really rate this place and will definately be returning, keep up the good work La Finca, Bali has need some good Spanish for a long time!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexander d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas M, General Manager at La Finca Bali, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Alex, thank you so much for your review. We are ecstatic to know that you enjoyed your experience with us! Hopefully you will be back soon and we can deliver the same gratification and satisfaction again! See you very soon... Alimenta El Alma! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Finca Bali also viewed

 

Been to La Finca Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing