We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best mexican restaurant in Bali”
Review of La Mexicana

La Mexicana
Ranked #11 of 238 Restaurants in Canggu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We use as much as possible organic fruit and vegetables and wash them in purified water. Ice cubes are made of mineral water and we fry our gluten free Tacos and Corn Chips several times daily in cholesterol free Coconut Oil ! Enjoy your dinner ( we also have Vegetarian options) with great cocktails and sub-zero cooled beers served in a ice-bucket, in our unique and amazing Mexican cactus garden. Unlike many other restaurants, most of our food ingredients are imported from Mexico, Australia, New Zealand, Europe and the United States and therefore subject to high import taxes and transportation costs. But we are still able to prepare large, delicious meals for a very moderate price. Our team hopes to welcome you soon in " LA MEXICANA " all week from 4pm-10pm.
California, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Best mexican restaurant in Bali”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I have tried many Mexican restaurants in Bali and I q this has been the best for the quality of its dishes along with its atmosphere. just perfect!. The cactus garden is amazing!. Totally recommended!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jacob Smith s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    289
    102
    37
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denpasar, Bali
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Best Mex in town!”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

A truly great place. Food is terrific quality, very tasty with great portions and a cool setting to top it off. Staff are friendly, decor amazing and every meal i have had here has been fantastic. Prices are very reasonable for the high quality, and you will leave feeling full and satisfied. Great parking, fast internet and great attention to detail. Highly remommended. Soft Beef Taco's, and the special hot sauce... Wow!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canggu, Indonesia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We couldn't believe the size of the portions. We over ordered and the bill was still reasonable. A great family restaurant. One of the waiters spoke fantastic english and that can make such a difference if you don't speak Indonesian. Kids loved it, adults loved it. We are definitely coming back for more.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LiveCanggu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

After looking for a place to eat on TripAdvisor La Mexicana Canggu came up on the radar with decent reviews so we decided to try it out. We ended up eating here twice in a row. The portions of food are huge and tasty, and definitely worth the money. Service is great, but remember English isn't the first language of the staff so be patient when explaining if your order is complicated. The atmosphere in the restaurant is great and I loved the music and cacti decorations. La Mexicana was also very close to our Villa, only about 2 miles away. Overall great restaurant, food, and service; if we stay in Canggu again we will absolutely be eating here again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joshua G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“marvelous mexicana”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This is a great place to chill out and have a good value-for-money dinner. We spent about USD155 for 9 adults and 5 children and had a great time with the drinks and food. I would recommend to call ahead and make reservations, if you need a big table. The staff would gladly join the tables for you. And the price includes a generous supply of alcoholic drinks for the adults and drinks for the children as well. I won't recommend what to order, to avoid diminishing the experience that comes from encountering the menu and the enjoyment that comes from tasting the food. It's a very chill-out place - go for a relaxed dinner served by a friendly crew.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wjng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mexicana also viewed

 

Been to La Mexicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing