We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but.....”
Review of La Mexicana

La Mexicana
Ranked #10 of 254 Restaurants in Canggu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We use as much as possible organic fruit and vegetables and wash them in purified water. Ice cubes are made of mineral water and we fry our gluten free Tacos and Corn Chips several times daily in cholesterol free Coconut Oil ! Enjoy your dinner ( we also have Vegetarian options) with great cocktails and sub-zero cooled beers served in a ice-bucket, in our unique and amazing Mexican cactus garden. Unlike many other restaurants, most of our food ingredients are imported from Mexico, Australia, New Zealand, Europe and the United States and therefore subject to high import taxes and transportation costs. But we are still able to prepare large, delicious meals for a very moderate price. Our team hopes to welcome you soon in " LA MEXICANA " all week from 4pm-10pm.
Bologna, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good but.....”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I have lived in California for a while and tried mexican food several times, both in restaurants and at home of mexican friends; this place in Canggu is very good and offers most of the famous mexican dishes (which are also the most common) in a nice atmosphere and beautiful garden.
BUT I don't quite understand why they have to put Coriander everywhere, as this is not the original receipt.. my mexican friends always taught me that the real Guacamolle is only made with avocados, black pepper, salt, lime, tomate and sometimes garlic. Same as for Salsa Pico de Gallo... it should only be with tomatoes, onions and chillies.
Coriander has a really strong flavour and covers up all the good taste of food; also, not all people like it and me and my friends could not eat most of the dishes in La Mexicana because coriander was everywhere. And last but not least, using coriander is not the original mexican recipe.
If it wasn't for this reason, I'd go to La Mexicana every day.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colossus17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    107
    37
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bali
1 review
“Amazing ambience and great food!”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We have come here twice in 10 days. The food is excellent, I recommend specially the "Plato muy grande" to get a taste of everything if you are not sure what to choose. Their Nachos are big and crispy. Also their mixed juice is all berries and very refreshing. The music and the mexican cactus garden behing feels like Mejico!!! They should expect us back in a few days!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sandumelati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I liked pretty much everything about the place. The design is great. Open spaces, brilliant cactus garden. The food was excellent. Had chicken and beef fajitas. The meat was very tender, excellent portion size and all the fillings you could hope for - Mexican rice, shredded lettuce, refried beans, cheese, guacamole, salsa, sour cream. Service was prompt and with a genuinely friendly smile. Thought the price was absolutely fine. US$9 per person for the excellent Fajitas. Bottle of Sol to wash it down was US$5, when in most places it would be US$8 or9. For my taste it could have been a little spicier, but they do bring 3 sauces to add a little heat if you want. Spoke to the manager/owner and he told us that they would make it spicier if asked. Problem is, the waitress never asked and I can't remember it saying anything about this on the menu.

I would definitely go back and would recommend to anyone. They really care about giving good service and good food, and you don't always see that in Bali.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Twistydad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Some thing different in Bali !”
Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

We just had our beautiful lunch in la mexicana. Good food , good environment and very good Internet access which is rare in whole Indonesia !

The staffs are so friendly and also smily.

Over all this place is highly recommended by me to any tex mex lovers who are traveling to Bali.

One thing is missing is a web site which I couldn't find any to know more about this fine restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mohamed_r_Bagherian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“tex mex”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

this place was good. i'd go back. tex mex stye. like you'd make at home. didn'y have things like ceviche etc. but had all the normal dishes, burrito's, fajita's, taco's.

my villa was close to it. ill go back there when i return to bali. also teh decor was nice. the cactus garden out the back is cool.

big and open spot. probably good for large groups.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grazmulcahy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mexicana also viewed

 

Been to La Mexicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing