We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Place of Relaxation and Tranquility”
Review of RedDoor Bali

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
RedDoor Bali
Ranked #17 of 290 Specialty Lodging in Canggu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2013

My husband and I spent nearly a week at Red Door in early August 2013 which proved to be a life enriching experience.
The location and construction of the villa itself bought with it a sense of peace and tranquility almost upon our arrival.
The caring hospitality of the staff bought warmth,friendship and gratitude into our lives.
Red Door has been beautifully constructed and fits well into the local surroundings.Our villa overlooked the rice fields which seem to promote a feeling of calmness.
Our villa was very roomy--the bed was very comfortable and an ingenious construction meant that the bed was covered with a mosquito net which was not right on top of us. The high thatched ceilings and lovely wooden built-in complete the picture of this beautiful room.
The shower/toilet are also creatively designed, so that while showering you felt as if you were showering in an open country setting.
The downstairs area was a lovely open area constructed of beautiful wood.The comfy couches made it an ideal area to read or to just relax.This looked out on the swimming pool which was clean and inviting.An eating area adjoins this area . It is lovely to be able to eat and look at the villa's many banana and coconut trees and garden.
While some of the magic of Red Door comes from it's construction and surroundings,the joy and energy which we felt while we were there, comes from the staff of Ayu,Ywan, Made, Numan,second Made and Agust.All seem to enjoy working together to bring joyous experiences to their guests.
Ywan--the main organiser, could not have been more caring.
Canguu is ideally located, in that you can experience the simplicity of village life and yet still be easily able to drive to enjoy the delight food experiences of Seminyak and Ubud have to offer.
When we didn't go out to eat, breakfast and other meals were cooked for us by the villa's cook,Made, with help from the other staff.Made loves to cook and try different spices and I would have to say that the meals we had at Red Door were among the best we had in Bali.
Our most memorable night at Red Door was my 60th Birthday dinner which the staff organised for me.Without any fuss the staff transformed the thatched roof but open sided massage area into a private dining area..A white tablecloth,beautiful flowers and candles completed the fairytale scene.The garden was also lit up with many candles.
An amazing 5 course meal complete with champagne and wine was cook by Made and his helpers.It was really delicious---but what made it all the more special was that it had been arranged and cooked with great care and love and the staff were delighted by how much we enjoyed the meal.On returning to our room we found that " Happy Birthday" had been written on the bed in rose petals---what a beautiful surprise!!!
The villa is also able to provide their guests with the services of a masseur and a masseuse for a therapeutic massage.Both my husband and I felt we benefitted enormously from the skills of these people.
The driver ,Agust,was a really excellent driver.This is a high praise coming from someone who is a nervous passenger.
What the owner and staff have created at Red Door is intangible. The whole experience at Red Door caresses the soul and reinvigorates the body.
We would like to thank the staff at Red Door for their many kindnesses to us . Their approach to life taught us much.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pauline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stak76, Owner at RedDoor Bali, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear Pauline,

what an amazing review, the best we have ever had.
Such a pleasure to know you have enjoyed your stay at RedDoor.

RedDoor experience is really satisfying everybody's taste but honestly we think that it would not be so good without our staff. we are so happy that ayu, wayan, made and the others are staying with us and we love when our friends/guests gets to spend some time with them.

thank you from all of us and can't wait to have you back and stay at RedDoor.

Claudio

ps.
we are super excited as we just been nominated Best Villa Development in Indonesia by South East Asia Property Award. Very Proud.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 183 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2013

What an amazing villa.

From the beginning till the end it has been such a pleasant stay, I was quiet nervous of receiving my mother for the first time in Bali, as first she doesn't like travelling far and then 2nd how would she react on the surroundings as it isn't quiet as organized like in Denmark where we all come from.

The whole family was down here for 3 weeks and not 1 day of any complain.

Recommending it? That will be for sure.

I have to be honest and say I was doing some work for the villa before they started renting but I would never have thought that it would have been such an experience actually staying there

The staff was on top, full 24/7 service (even though we didn't need it)

The chef was such a young talent, we wanted Chinese one night and Chinese he made.

We wanted Indian another and Indian he made.

Can't forget to mention the Balinese and Indonesian food he made.. Woww what an experience.

Good job!!

Much love.

Khaled Mahallati

Room Tip: All the rooms are spectacular.. the comfort of sleeping is just unbeliveable. pillows are so soft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mhllt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stak76, Owner at RedDoor Bali, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear Khaled,

what a nice review and such a pleasure to know you have enjoyed your stay at RedDoor with your family.

when we first planned to build RedDoor we had to choose btw the very crowed area, where we could offer to our guests to be close to all the main restaurants and shopping area or to be just a bit off the normal track so that all our visitors could enjoy what Bali is all about: nature, peace and inner soul time.

we are so proud you liked it together with our wonderful staff. I think they are the best of the best.

Made's food is just getting better everyday. its out of control.

thank you from all of us and thank you for make it possible.

claudio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have been to Bali a quite a few time now and never have I had such a wonderful, easy, beautiful place like the RedDoor to stay at. This trip was definitely my favorite by far, and RedDoor is the reason why. The staff at the RedDoor make this stay so easy, from our lovely welcoming, teaching us to cook, preparing family dinners, organizing trips, massages, cars, anything you want, Wayan and his team will do you for fast and efficiently with a smile on there face. Although in saying that, we all found it hard to leave this beautifully designed house, with open plan living, an amazing central pool, overlooking rice paddies and river, and sprawling gardens. The only place to stay in Bali, I look forward to many more stays at the RedDoor.

Room Tip: All rooms are equal in size, privacy in the back two solo rooms, and upstairs rooms offer veiws over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StefBambi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stak76, Owner at RedDoor Bali, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

hey Bambi,

thank you so much for your review. so good.
this comes from all the three of us: Franziska, George and myself.

it has been an amazing pleasure to have you at RedDoor and we are extremely happy to know that you have enjoyed spending your holidays with your family.

we all know its really difficult to leave then villa once you are in. So do not worry, its a common feeling.

we can't definitely wait for you to come back soon.

big thank you again from all of us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We have just returned home from our second trip to the Red Door. Words cannot describe how enjoyable this place is ! Bali is getting busier and busier as the years go on. Even since our trip last year it seems to have doubled in size.The streets are packed , the restaurants full. Thank God for a sanctuary like the Red Door we found ourselves mostly villa bound, the meals were outstanding, as good as any you would find in Seminyak. The Spa treatments came right to us. The only thing we left the villa for was a trip down the road for a surf.
Wayan the house boss had our every whim catered for.
The lay out of villa is incredible, so open, yet so many different place's to relax.
I spent a whole week in the villa and was not bored once.
The space was even more appreciated the second time around
I cannot reccomend anything more than a chillin trip to the Red Door.

Room Tip: The top two rooms over looking the rice paddies cannot be beaten.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DANIEL S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stak76, Owner at RedDoor Bali, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear Dan,

first of all let me thank you for your amazing review.
probably one of the best we have got so far.

it has been our main goal to give a serene energy and vibe to RedDoor and we are super happy when our closest friends can see that and we can share our villa with them.

I really hope you will be back soon. there will be always a place for you.

big hug

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We arrived at Red Door from the hustle of Seminyak; and although on 20 minutes away, Red Door is a world apart. The moment we arrived, we could experience the thought, the quality and the excellent planning that has gone into this wonderful villa. And Wayan and his Red Door staff are so welcoming and friendly. As we were a family group, we were seeking privacy, relaxation and also activities. We found all of these in trumps at Red Door. Privacy and relaxation is assured through both the individual villas and the fantastic communal areas set around the pool and surrounded by gurgling streams. For activities we loved surfing at nearby Echo Beach and Tugu Beach, and our side trips into the countryside. One night whilst on a walk we came across the local Canggu Gamelan Orchestra playing on the roadside and were welcomed in to listen by the village elders. Have I mentioned food yet? Every morning we were provided with a wonderful communal breakfast - fruits, juices, pancakes, omelettes, coffees. And in the evenings following our 'happy hours', Made prepared excellent Balinese food. Red Door is a treat for all senses. Thank you George and Cisco for your vision. And Wayan and Made for making this a reality.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Olivia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stak76, Owner at RedDoor Bali, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear Olivia,

First of all let me thank you for your kind words.
RedDoor has been a dream come to for all of us so its really encouraging when people show us appreciation for what we have done.

We always thought of building our dream house, where we could have grown our kids, in respect of the Balinese culture and the environment.

This is the reason why we have built the alang alang roof and tried to blend as much as possible with the surrounding nature.

we really hope you will come back soon to visit us

warmest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

A fantastic place.
Offers complete privacy.
The views of paddy fields surrounding the property are beautiful.
I was a little concerned with our meals but the efficient staff made sure that we feasted all through out. On special request excellent tempeh and fish preparations were rolled out by the cook Made!
Theres a masseuse who comes in on request and carries out great Balinese massages.
Will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pasnas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stak76, Owner at RedDoor Bali, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear Pasnas,

everybody here at RedDoor would really like to thank you for the nice review.
We are really happy we have managed to make your stay special and we look forward to have you again.

Our cook Made will be very happy to have you for a special dinner.

thank you
claudio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

From the moment we drove down the Red Door drive to the moment we were taken to the airport, we were blown away by Red Door. The photos of this villa just don't do it justice - very cool. If you are after the hussle of Seminyak or Kuta, then don't stay here. If you are after somewhere to chill and unwind, but within easy reach of the crazy, busy Bali, then this is your pad. The staff are brilliant and go out of their way to make everything perfect during the stay. Whether you want to drive to Ubud, hire a motorbike, be left alone to read by the pool or book a dinner reservation in Seminyak - it's all done by Wayan and his team. Made's food is brilliant. We miss them all already! In fact, the only thing missing at Red Door is me there more often! We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank enipesoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stak76, Owner at RedDoor Bali, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

dear enipesoj,

what a beautiful review and such kind words.
we are so pleased that you loved your stay at RedDoor.

Wayan told me you had regret not to have taken your kids with. I hope we will see you soon with them.

our staff makes such a different and we are so proud of them.
they have been with us since day one and both RedDoor and them are growing so much together.

what can I say?
first of all thank you for your review.

second please come and visit us again.
Made will hose you and your beautiful family for dinner.

thank you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canggu
1.2 mi away
Hotel Tugu Bali
Hotel Tugu Bali
#2 of 39 in Canggu
817 reviews
1.6 mi away
THE HAVEN SUITES Bali Berawa
0.6 mi away
Ngeluwungan Boutique Villa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Slow
The Slow
#14 of 39 in Canggu
85 reviews
2.9 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#18 of 148 in Seminyak
3,445 reviews
3.1 mi away
Alila Seminyak
Alila Seminyak
#23 of 148 in Seminyak
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RedDoor Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RedDoor Bali

Address: Jalan Pantai Pererenan | Gang RedDoor 6 Banjar Delodpadonan, Canggu 80531, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Canggu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 290 Specialty Lodging in Canggu
Price Range: $775 - $813 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — RedDoor Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RedDoor has been designed to make you feel completely at ease. With the beautiful and magical Pancaran River at the bottom of the garden, this charming villa is hidden away from all noise and traffic. Regarded as a boutique hotel, it has four master bedrooms across three different buildings to ensure complete privacy. RedDoor villa in Bali is perfectly situated in the quiet and beautiful beach village of Pererenan. It is 200 metres from the horse stables and 800 metres from Canggu’s best restaurants, bars, beaches and surf spots. 20 minutes away is Seminyak which hosts the island’s best food, shopping destinations and nightlife while tourist hub Kuta is a short 30 minutes away. RedDoor luxury villa makes for an unforgettable Bali escape vacation with family, friends or that special one you love. The stunning 2000 square metre space is both contemporary and organic in style, decorated with a mix of traditional and modern design pieces for an authentic space with un-interrupted views of the tranquil surroundings.Created by award-winning designer, George Gorrow, the RedDoor Bali villa is one of the most private and luxurious in the area. Each element values open space and the beauty of nature in the comfortable yet lavish setting. A strong focus on design with 20th century modern furniture puts this rental in a league of it’s own. Our Bali luxury villas are impeccably finished with sustainable timber and all overlook the 70 square metres of riverfront. The infinity pool gazes out over the waterfall, rice paddies and is the perfect spot to watch the spectacular sunset. The two single-storey villas each host a luxurious bedroom with en-suite, more spacious then any other Bali resort or hotel in Bali. There are plenty of relaxation areas so guests can always find a private spot for peace and quiet. Choose between air-conditioning and tropical open-air living to suit your comfort. On the grounds of the villas you will also find an additional gazebo area where you can unwind in the luxury of a Bali spa.A Bali holiday at RedDoor promises escapism for travellers seeking to leave behind their daily reality. It is a private and secluded property to simply be at one with the surrounding elements of nature. Be immersed in the richness of Balinese art, culture and colourful daily life.Conceived, built and managed with integrity, RedDoor is respectful of Bali's unique culture and shows sensitivity towards both the immediate environment and local community. RedDoor also practices sustainability through composting and recycling, reducing up to 90% of the waste produced.RedDoor grows its own organic produce in the surrounds of the Bali villa, which you will enjoy in the open plan kitchen space prepared by yourself or your own chef. The property is part of a carbon neutral program supporting rainforest rehabilitation and as such the villa is certified carbon neutral. Our partnership with ecoBali Recycling also guarantees that we are committed to respecting the environment.Come to RedDoor prepared to indulge in serenity and peace. Relax under the canopy of coconut trees and take in the surrounds of your private sanctuary from anywhere on the property - a day bed, the open plan living spaces or the pool. Enjoy many sunsets to remember in an exclusive and tropical environment that cannot compare to any other accommodation in Bali.RedDoor has every element of luxury you need for a sophisticated experience that is still close to nature. No detail has been overlooked in this refreshing interpretation of an intimate Bali retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your RedDoor Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
RedDoor Bali Canggu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing