We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (17)
Filter reviews
17 results
Traveler rating
14
3
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
14
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beds pushed together old man within walking distance air con mans bath deus ubud villa
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 17 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2016

We have just enjoyed a perfectly relaxing holiday at Villa Kakatua. From the minute we arrived at the airport, the service was exceptional. We were so well looked after, all 9 of us (4 adults and 5 young kids, including a baby). The villa was beautiful and so well maintained, a great size for our party too - there were days we didn't even leave the sanctuary of the villa it was so lovely (that could also be because of Novi's delicious cooking - especially the more traditional fair, so yum).
We really loved the location too - is a less built up part of Canggu, so close to the beach and Old Mans yet also just down the road from great coffees and cafes.
A great time and a beautiful villa with the loveliest peoples - we'll definitely return!

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2016

We enjoyed a wonderful week at Villa Kakatua. We were greeted at the airport by our friendly driver who thoughtfully stopped to check if anyone needed to use the bathroom and politely waited while my husband dashed off to get me a coffee for the journey! The villa had organised two complimentary vehicles to transfer our group of 8. The vehicles were well maintained and air conditioned and we were promptly offered lovely cold towels and bottles of water before we set off for the villa. It took about an hour to get through the heavy afternoon traffic to our villa, but I always find driving past all of the sights in Bali part of the adventure, so the time passed quickly. As we got closer to Canggu it was apparent that the area was much more spread out and open and when we arrived at the gate of our villa we were only 100 metres from the ocean... Our security guard opened the gate and greeted us warmly and we made our way down the garden path, past the adjoining Villa Kedidi (which can be booked separately or in conjunction with Villa Kakatua for larger groups) and through the wooden door to the beautifully landscaped grounds of our villa. We were greeted by our staff with a welcome drink, fruit basket and gifts. While the staff sorted out our luggage, our wonderful villa manager showed us around and went over our plans for the coming days to ensure that we had meals/drivers/activities organised. The only glitch that we had during out stay was that the upstairs a/c was playing up when we arrived, so the manager stayed on site until it was repaired, which was before bedtime on our first night. Prior to arriving the manager had corresponded with me via email and arranged for the staff to prepare a delicious dinner on our first night, breakfast on the following morning and a few groceries and drinks that I had requested. We simply gave our housekeeper some money for a float and she provided a tally of the costs as we went and deducted it from the float. Everything was very reasonably priced and had we realised how lovely the food would be we wouldn't have booked as many restaurants as we did! The breakfasts were lovely and we could all order different things to eat, nothing was too much trouble and the staff were very polite and friendly at all times. We had a family group with 6 adults and 2 teenage children and there was plenty of space for everyone to spread out and relax. My husband and I stayed in the one of the two rooms that are separate from the main house and our two teenage children stayed in the adjoining room. They had the most enormous four poster bed that I've ever seen, which comprised of two queen size mattresses side-by-side (perfect for a boy/girl siblings who don't want to be anywhere near each other!) My parents stayed upstairs in the main house, which had lovely views all the way to the ocean, and my aunt and uncle stayed in the master suite downstairs. The villa itself is just the right mix of Balinese style and modern comfort, in my opinion, with lovely high ceilings, four poster beds with mosquito nets, indoor/outdoor bathrooms, exposed timber, Balinese artworks and sculptures and gorgeous well maintained tropical gardens. Even the lighting at night contributed beautifully to the ambiance... There were plenty of areas to sit and relax from the lounge area in the main house, indoor dining area, outdoor dining area, lounges by the pool (including a lovely covered double daybed) and two daybeds on the verandah of the rooms us and the children stayed in. There is a good sized kitchen with everything that you need as well. The pool was a perfect temperature for swimming day and night and the staff ensured that mosquito coils were lit every day when the sun went down. The surrounding area was just what we were hoping for, away from the hustle and bustle but close to the beach and some lovely shops and restaurants within walking distance. Our favourites were Old Man's across the road and overlooking the beach - perfect for a casual meal or drink or to grab an ice cream (I believe they also have DJ's and dancing on particular nights and happy hour every afternoon/evening), Echo Beach Cafe - right on the beach (perfect for watching the sunset) and they have an extensive menu which includes a fantastic BBQ option, Deus Ex Machina Temple of Enthusiasm - which is a cafe/shop/gallery within walking distance that specialises in custom motor cycles and surfboards and has something for everyone. Betelnut Cafe nearby also has a good menu but was quite hot the night that we went there and we couldn't wait to get home and jump in the pool. The villa also offers a driver whenever needed, we just paid for petrol, which was cheap compared to paying for taxis. One of the best decisions that we made was asking our villa manager to organise massages for us at the villa on a couple of occassions. It was so relaxing not to have to go out to a salon or spa and very reasonably priced. I cannot thank Putu, Yuni, Novi, Widia, Nhurah, Nengah and the ground-staff enough for their hospitality and attention to detail. We could hear some very minimal noise from the construction next door during our stay but it really didn't bother us at all. Our manager spoke to them on one occasion when they continued to work after dark and they stopped immediately. I would definitely stay here again and have recommended it to all of my family and friends.

  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2016

Villa Kakatua was the perfect size for 4 adults and two small kids. The staff was amazing, catering to both adult and toddler meals without any trouble. Highchairs, pool fence, and a big box of toys was also provided. The staff and villa really seemed to pride themselves on interactions with kids.

The Canggu area can be quite busy with traffic a lot of the time. It took us around an hour each way from the airport, which can just get annoying. It's no fault of the villa of course.

It's a short walk down the road to Old Man's bar on the beach, and a nice surfing beach. The beach is not appropriate for young kids or even recreational swimming.

Lastly, there was some pretty severe construction next door at the time (May 2015) you may want to check with the management company to ensure this will not intrude on your stay.

I can't say enough about Elite Havens, they really know how to take care of their guests, were very accommodating and helpful planning activities to take us away from the construction.

I would stay here again for the venue and staff, especially once the construction is complete.

Room Tip: There is one upstairs master -- has sunset and slight beach views.
  • Stayed: May 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2015

This villa turned out to be exactly what anyone would want from a Balinese villa. It's beautifully designed in the traditional Balinese style, it's well equipped, it's clean, and it's spacious. By far the best feature were the staff: from the moment we arrived to the moment we left, we felt completely looked after. Nothing was too much trouble.
(A big thank you to Putu, Widya, Ngurah and the others!)
You might think that this kind of hospitality comes as standard in Bali villas, but we stayed in a second villa in Ubud and discovered that it doesn't....
Other practical advantages: the villa (and the villa staff) are child-friendly. You have to pay extra for a pool fence, which is a must if you have toddlers. The location in Canggu is good, and there's a great view to the sea from the one upstairs bedroom. (There are no views to speak of from the ground floor, though.)
A couple of points to note: the locally based management team is SUPERB - but the main management company (who handle bookings etc) are not brilliantly on the ball. Also: if you're booking for a stay between now and December 2015, be aware that a low-rise boutique hotel is being constructed one or two plots away. Construction was at an early stage while we were there: we couldn't see anything, and we couldn't hear it when we were in our rooms with the air con running. But outside by the pool is was definitely audible and, on occasion, smell-able (diesel fumes). It didn't spoil the holiday and we were offered a 15% discount, which seemed fair.
So if you are booking during the construction period, we still strongly recommend Kakatua, just make sure you get a discount. If you're booking outside the construction period, this is THE villa to stay at.

  • Stayed: May 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dom186361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elite_Havens_eh, Manager at Villa Kakatua, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2015

We are happy to hear you and the children enjoyed Villa Kakatua and the care of the villa staff so much. The villa manager Putu and his team are very proud you consider their service Balinese hospitality at its best. Thank you for mentioning them in your review.

Bali is undergoing tremendous growth. We are always upfront with our guests regarding the possibility of any potential disturbance, no matter how minor. We admit there is always room for improvement and with your feedback we know what needs our attention. Thank you for taking the time.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2015

We stayed for 3 (too short) nights at the villa. There were 6 adults and 8 young kids. We were pampered from the time we arrived till we left. Staff is all super friendly and helpful. Loved the fact that there is a housekeeper who tended to our needs almost 24/7.

The villa is great in itself with its wide open concept and the kids can roam freely. The pool fence was put up on our request, leaving the little ones to wander about freely. Do note that the spacing between the upper floor railings are large enough for little ones to fall through. Other than that, the villa is extremely kids friendly.

The Batu Balong beach is a short 2mins walk away but I wouldn't say it is a pristine beach to play on. There are several cafes on the beach but we didn't eat there.

The in-house chef are excellent! We paid a total of IDR4.8mio for all meals in the villa including a scrumptious BBQ (which included 15 king prawns) on our final night. This works out to USD380 for 16 mouths over the span of 3 days!

The only bummer was that our electricity went off at 4 in the morning on our final night so it was a bit stuffy to sleep in the bedrooms and we didn't want to feed the mozzies by sleeping outside. So we just had to bear it out.

  • Stayed: May 2015, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Busy_Mum04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews