We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place...You will not want to leave!!”
Review of Mote Surfstay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mote Surfstay
Ranked #4 of 292 Specialty Lodging in Canggu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Just got back from my first Bali trip, I stayed 5 night at Mote surfstay and enjoyed every minute!
So lets start with the pros:

Great location, short ride from the beach and seminyak
Awesome staff, Marta was really helpful even arranged a scooter for me as soon as I arrived. They arranged great surfing lessons for me too!
Lovely clean dipping pool
Common room was cool to hang around and meet new people
Outdoor showers were really cool and room is cleaned everyday


Cons:
Have not got any...for $25 a night what more can you possibly want?!
Maybe a recommendation would be to put a sign up by the entrance door with arrival instructions as I wasn't sure exactly where to check in.

I can't wait to come back!!

Don't waste your time....scrolling through millions of reviews...just book this! You will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful, enjoy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rach25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 252 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and had a great time. The staff are super friendly, helpful and easy to approach. The pool is inviting and so refreshing after a day in the Bali sun.

The rooms are really clean and comfortable. The beds are huge and we had a great sleep. The outdoor showers are neat and the water pressure feels great.

There is a comfortable common room to hang out in where you can put some beer and snacks in the fridge. There is a big TV as well, a good place to gather. There's always other guests around to talk about the surf with.

It's really close to the beach and there are plenty of motorbikes to rent for 50.000 per day. You can even get one with a surfboard rack. Mote's is a great choice to base your surfing holiday out of. Thank you!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank alliviet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

A very tranquil place, with a nice relaxed atmosphere. Rooms are nice and clean, there is wifi and a big pool, air con option too. The staff are great and the whole place is well maintained. A really good price for what you get. It is a little (2 min) scooter ride to the main canggu restaurants and beaches, which makes it quite peaceful. You have to travel to any restaurants as there isn't any in walking distance (not at night anyway), so they have a really great communal area with TV, DVD, some kitchen facilities and use of the fridge, water and coffee, which is a great option if you'd rather stay in or make it a bit cheaper. They hire scooters straight from the property at a good price which is another bonus. Overall, a very relaxed place. A must if you're staying in canggu.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank 87dp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

After 4 months of non stop travelling around south east Asia, this was the place that made us not only stop for a complete month in Bali but also decide to come back afterwards to finish there our 6 months trip.
Lovely place, lovely people, extremely clean rooms and a great relaxed surfer atmosphere to make friends with whom hang out after a great surfing session. Having a swim at the nice pool while the sun is going down, with a beer in your hand and planning the next surf session with your new mate is a commom thing at Mote. Nice clean rooms, great commom area, espectacular bathroom, helpful owners, efficent staff and experienced surf instructors will do the rest for you to leave the place planning your next visit to Bali.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guille R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We wanted a quiet base close to the beach and good food, but easy enough to get into Seminyak and stayed in the Bingin Suite of Mote Surf Stay for 3 weeks in November through to mid December. We were older than most other guests (an international group of young avid surfers) but are young at heart and love the sea, and were delighted to be in this great, friendly, relaxed environment. The Bingin Suite has its own kitchenette in addition to outdoor bathroom and was perfect for our needs. We used wifi in the communal area and the pool was perfect for a morning or evening dip. It was a 10 minute scooter ride to the surfing beaches of Batu Balong and Echo and Bali's fantastic food has found its way to Batu Balong in recent years, including delicious salads and wraps from Betelnut, authentic pastries from French baker M Spoon, tasty inexpensive nasi padang at Bu Mi, and great seafood at Echo Beach, and the list is growing. Mote and Martha have done a great job in creating this super chilled out, beautifully landscaped corner of Batu Bolong. The atmosphere is friendly and respectful and it was a joy to come back to after negotiating the traffic jams of Seminyak. Although most other guests seemed to be there to surf, we did not feel out of place at all and were certainly very welcome. Mote himself is a highly experienced surfer and also gives surf classes. One of us took a class and felt that as a novice, he could not have been in better hands. We would stay here again and highly recommend Mote Surf Stay to anyone looking for simple and good quality accommodation in Canggu with essential services and comfort but no frills.

Room Tip: The Bingin Suite is Mote Surf Stay's largest room which is self contained with outdoor bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scottishflower8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

I had a great time staying at Mote earlier in November. I stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed my time there. It is clean and the pool is too. I got the room without tv, I thought it was going to be a problem, but without tv, you are forced to interact with other guests and it so much more fun than tv. I wish Mote provides stove or a microwave so the guests can make hot meal or reheat. Also perhaps the wifi can be put more towards the center of the homestay instead of in the kitchen, so the rooms in the back can get signal too.
I am waiting for confirmation for my booking at Mote for later this month. I am excited to return and I am bringing my friends there. See you soon!

Room Tip: Get room closer to the kitchen/common area to get better wifi signal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blueplanettraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motesurf, Owner at Mote Surfstay, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Hello!
Thanks for your review and for your tips!!! we are going to study the possibility to get a powerful antena for our WiFi connection and get something better for our common area in order to help people to have their own breakfast of food.
We are open to listen to everyone here that help us to improve our place.
Thanks for choosing us, and we are looking forward to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Mote Surf Stay was a hidden Gem. We had a hard time finding a nice, clean, cheap homestay. We found Mote online, and when we arrived we where greeted by a friendly member of staff. He offered us Air con, and had us settled in shortly after. Then he introduces us to Mote, the owner of he home stay. A very nice man from Spain. He informed us of the good surf spots, and fees for renting. He then arranged us means of transport. He had someone he knew bring us a motor bike to rent for a very reasonable price. From the staff to the company they hosted, the cleanliness to the overall vibe this place gave off, our experience was unforgettable and I would 100% encourage anyone and everyone to stay at Mote Surf Stay :)

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartyjCarriere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motesurf, Owner at Mote Surfstay, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Thank you so much for choosing us as your accomodation in Bali and we are more than happy to see that you really enjoy our stay and your stay in Bali.
Hope to have the chance to see you again here and from all my team we thank you and send you all the good vibes ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canggu hotels
1.4 mi away
FRii Bali Echo Beach, Hotel
1.6 mi away
Hotel Tugu Bali
Hotel Tugu Bali
#2 of 40 in Canggu
821 reviews
0.6 mi away
Theanna Eco Villa and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Kirana Hotel Resto and Spa
1.4 mi away
Ngeluwungan Boutique Villa
1.7 mi away
THE HAVEN SUITES Bali Berawa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mote Surfstay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mote Surfstay

Address: Jalan Batu Bolong 40, Canggu, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Canggu
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 292 Specialty Lodging in Canggu
Price Range: $20 - $29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MOTE SURFSTAY was born as an idea in 2009 after living and enjoy the island of Bali for more than two years. This idea reaches maturity in 2012 where we opened its doors as an accommodation of "low cost" located in Canggu, just 2 minutes away from the famous and renowned beach of Echo Beach.Our Home-Stay or "surfstay" (as we liked to call it) is built around a traditional Balinese style, carefully constructed in order to not only to keep its traditional taste but to get the maximum comfort for their occupants.Our hotel has 15 rooms fully equipped with air conditioning, Wi-Fi, separate bathrooms with hot water and also offers large common areas with cable TV, kitchenette and outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mote Surfstay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mote Surfstay Bali/Canggu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing