We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What an awesome find” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Salt

Red Salt
Ranked #58 of 216 Restaurants in Canggu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $8
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Set amoungst the rice terraces of Pererenan Village a mere 300 m from Echo Beach. RedSalt is an old Javanese Joglo that has been transformed into a gorgeous restaurant with amazing views. Open for B'fast, Lunch & Dinner - Serving both Indonesian & western food. Fresh healthy Juices & Smoothies, along with illy Coffee. Swimming pool & sun lounges available for customers to relax the day away. Our sunsets are amazing and the perfect backdrop for dinner & drinks.
Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“What an awesome find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

What an awesome place tucked away in the rice fields near Pererenan beach. Stunning views over the rice fields, very friendly staff, excellent food & decent coffee. Would highly recommend the bruschetta verde and Red Salt salad. There is a good size pool for guests to use. Ideal place to go with family and friends.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Di D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    61
    28
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“great food, views and a pool!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

you eat (very good menu) and then wander down to the big clean pool and have a swim... what more can you ask for? Building very well done, interesting. Food very good. and the views stunning as there is nothing around. I love to go there for a quiet moment and then hang around the pool for a few hours. Owner Wayan speaks English and is interesting man. Good way to spend a day!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank shirley b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Love this restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Just been back to Bali and visited Redsalt 5 times. Well worth the trip from Kuta. We spent
the whole day there as they have a beautiful pool set in fantastic tropical gardens.
The food and juices are delicious There is always a new juice on the menu. We had Christmas lunch at Redsalt (a table of 10) along with people from all around the world. We were served a 4 course meal including the traditional Turkey Ham roast with Plum Pudding and Brandy sauce there was something for everyone. Wayan the owner and Frederic from Germany sang. Everyone joined in. Red Salt is owned by Wayan and his Aussie wife Nicole. This restaurant is set in the ricefields so you have beautiful views all around. Fantastic sunsets too. Make sure you visit this restaurant on your next visit to Bali.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, WA
Level Contributor
94 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“dinner after horse riding”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

We were starving after a long horse ride and decided to eat before driving up to Ubud and so chose Red Salt as it was nearby. Food took 45minutes to come and only after 3 meals had arrived did they tell us my daughter's choice wasn't available. We hadn't eaten all day so scoffed what we could and daughter ate later. Alas the 3 who ate all had bad bellies the next few days and so the finger has to point to our Red Salt meal. Shame as everyone else seems to have such good experience here

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PaulainPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oztraveller95, Owner at Red Salt, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
We are sorry you didn't enjoy your visit to RedSalt Cafe. It is unfortunate that you were sick during your trip to Bali.
Our Chef has over 10 years experience in Australia and is fully qualified in food handling & safety proceedures. All of our supplies are purchased fresh daily from reputable suppliers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“New Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Red Salt is quite a new restaurant in the area with a nice open area overlooking rice paddies as well as a pool area for private functions, the food is good quality with the restaurant being owned and run by a returning Balinese who has spent many years in Australia and his Australian Bule wife. We ate there on a number of occasions, the food was good quality and if I have one comment for improvement to them it would be to improve speed of service a little. When we are next in Bali, we will return though.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Salt also viewed

 

Been to Red Salt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing