We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Taman Ahimsa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Taman Ahimsa
Ranked #50 of 255 Specialty Lodging in Canggu
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Paradise...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

We were in Taman Ahimsa for a week, with friends and family, total of 15 guests. We had fantastic time. The villa and surroundings were magnificent. People working in a villa, cook and villa manager, Prama - were superb! Everything was worth the money we pay for our stay. Really good food, service, very helpful in every matter. Villa is situated on the beach, and it is a bonus, because the sea view is fantastic. Bali is a surfers paradise, so waves and currents are very strong, not possible to swim, specially with kids. So if you are planing beach vacation, Thailand or Philippines would be better. For us and kids pool is enough, and at the villa pool is clean and very pleasant, and garden is big and beautiful. We had massages everyday, upon request, usually outside :-) All the rooms were beautiful and spacious, we could easy put 2 more people in each room if needed. During our last night, while we were sleeping, we were robbed, which was not a good experience. They took money only, leaving all our belongings untouched. Next morning we found out Prama's office was also burglarized. Th agency and manager were shocked. It had never happen there before. At the same time they were very helpful getting police on side and security. In my opinion they should invest in even more security and maybe cameras on side. So if you decide to go, ask them about it. Otherwise it was a perfect vacation for all of us, with a bit bitter ending.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ania19721017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
Couples
0
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
126 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

This was my first visit to Bali, the villa has 7 rooms and it was ideal for 4 families with kids. The location is awesome and gives you the best view of the setting sun. The staff is courteous and helpful and the villa manager Ms. Prama a genuinely nice person. The initial days one might feel the pressure of planning for food and giving instructions but once the staff knows your needs they manage it well. We were a big group staying in villas at a walking distance so we had large parties and the villa staff could handle it very well. It is a old Balinese style architecture and the open to sky showers are just fabulous. The other amenities in the kitchen as not shinning new but well maintained. It has a unique touch and is a great villa to unwind.

Room Tip: The room facing the ocean and the suites on the first floor are a great pick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

This was our third Bali villa stay in three years, and unfortunately the least enjoyable one.

Firstly, the booking experience was not very assuring to start with. We booked and paid a deposit for the villa 6 months ahead. Prior to us paying the deposit, the villa (or its marketing agent) agreed on a number of things (such as the extra person charges, villa benefits, transport agreement and charges). They subsequently tried to change these agreements just before our arrival. It was only after numerous emails with reminders of earlier agreement that they agreed to revert back to earlier promises. In fact, there were still some email exchanges on the issue of extra person charge even when we were there. The fact that they tried to unilaterally change the agreement made us very wary. The feeling of "what's next ?" kept popping up.

Secondly, there were so unbearably many mosquitoes in the villa that everyone got at least a few mosquito bites each day. Children suffered the most bites with some of them getting close to 30 bites from the stay. And this was despite the mosquito repellent, mosquito coils and mosquito net (for sleeping). During our stay we took a few excursions out of the villa and that's when we were happy that we didn't have to deal with the mosquitoes in the villa.

For a villa that cost us about usd2200 a night, it's only reasonable that we hoped we could spend some peaceful times in the villa and its compound. But instead many of us felt we were better off out of villa.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank BusYawbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1,238 reviews
187 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 586 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Our positive experience from a 4 night stay here should give you confidence when trolling through the website and thinking "Will it be OK for us?". The villa arranges transport to meet you at Denpasar Airport and take you to them. Depending how your arrival time coincides with the ebbs and flows of Bali traffic, travel time will range between 75 and 120 minutes! For those that know Bali, the trip from Seminyak to Cemagi could vary between 30-60 minutes. However the travel time is quickly forgotten once arriving at what is a beautiful garden setting by the sea. There are 4 individual villas and one building housing a villa on ground floor with 2 units above. All are very spacious and among our group of 9, every person and couple were extremely happy with their accommodation. The staff provide outstanding service and are a huge part of making this place a great holiday experience. During our stay we enjoyed sumptuous breakfasts each day, relaxing casual lunches and two lovely group dinners. On the days and nights we chose to tour around or eat out, the villa made arrangements for their vehicle or taxis to get us to and from sights or restaurants. Nothing was a problem. An example of this was morning one when our alcohol supplies were running low from a raucous first night. We fully expected a few of us to need to get in a car and spend a few hours travelling for replenishments. The staff were happy to get our order filled, and quickly, while we stayed by the swimming pool finishing off leftovers! While it is not recommended you swim at the beach outside Taman Ahimsa, at low tide, we had plenty of confidence in swimming safely but would not attempt it at other times. However, the beach was not where we wanted to be, preferring to be in or around their charming pool. Working rice farms cover most of the surrounding area, making it very picturesque for walking or riding resort bicycles, they have 2 kayaks for water fun and it is an approximate 45-60 minute walk along the beach at other than high tide to Echo Beach bars and eating. Being away from the craziness of Seminyak, Legian and Kuta means you have a top resort experience with your family, friends or work colleagues, allowing some quality time together but spare periods for touring as well. Time out to local restaurants is easily arranged by resort staff so we suffered no inconveniences or missing some of Bali's best dining. In summary, the staff make sure your every need is met and if you want a luxury holiday away with a small group of special people in your life, but still want to take time out to explore, you can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emanpee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Taman Ahimsa may be off the beaten track, but it more than makes up for it in privacy & luxury. The rooms were very large (the master villa has a bed that could literally sleep 4 or 5). The open-air bathrooms just divine. But the best thing about Taman Ahimsa are the attentive staff. Nothing was a problem, they did their best to accommodate last minute changes & I swear the house-keeping staff were ninjas (I barely saw them, only their excellent work). The best holiday I ever had.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChadLDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Stayed here in March-April 2013 and had the best time. The rooms, the pool, the entire villa and the view are better than the photos could ever capture. The staff were polite, helpful and accommodating but not intrusive. It is a bit hard to find and far from everything else, however the rate includes a driver for the day should you want to go into Seminyak or somewhere else. You get a chance to pick you menu during your stay and the staff would do the grocery shopping and the cooking for you, they charge the cost of the shopping + around 15 % service fee.
We had an event here and it was the perfect setting, couldn't ask for more.
Definitely would recommend it if you're looking for a quiet getaway.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank popscenester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Just had our wedding at Taman Ahimsa and it was an idyllic venue to host our friends and family. The stay was just as exceptional, really top notch.

The rooms are unique, lot's of space and nicely decorated. Bed was massive, it felt larger than a california king!

You are on the beach in a sleepy part of Canguu, perfect views of the sea. The pool hosted probably the most epic pool party I've ever seen.

Staff were attentive and mindful. Food was great, no complaints there.

I'd say that the only downside was the music stereo. The only reason why I don't give it 5 bubbles... If they were to invest in a nice receiver and speaker system around the pool with connection at the pool's bar hut, it would have been that much better.

Other than that, it's a 5!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zattinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canggu
0.5 mi away
Villa Semarapura
Villa Semarapura
#62 of 255 in Canggu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ambalama Bali
Ambalama Bali
#3 of 19 in Mengwi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.0 mi away
William Place Apartment Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Villa Ombak Putih
Villa Ombak Putih
#1 of 2 in Beraban
5.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sejuk Beach Villas
Sejuk Beach Villas
#4 of 19 in Mengwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa TanJuBali
Villa TanJuBali
#107 of 255 in Canggu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taman Ahimsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taman Ahimsa

Property: Taman Ahimsa
Address: Jl. Pantai Mengening, Desa Cemagi | Tanah Lot, Canggu 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Canggu
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 255 Specialty Lodging in Canggu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taman Ahimsa means 'Garden of Peace' which, apart from the rhythmic waves breaking just beyond the boundary of this magical seven-bedroomed villa on Bali's south-west coast, describes the setting perfectly. Traditional materials of thatch, coconut husks, bamboo, rattan and recycled wood enhance a stunning natural environment, while Indonesian artefacts and ornate handmade fabrics lend unique character to interiors. After a day of relaxation or an invigorating massage by the pool, let your taste buds be dazzled by the villa's skilled chef and his team before heading back to your dreamy bedroom pavilion with its starlit ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Taman Ahimsa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taman Ahimsa Bali/Canggu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing