We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super chill and comfortable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Surf Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Surf Camp
Ranked #29 of 105 Canggu B&B and Inns
Squamish, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Super chill and comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

Spent 3 nights here in feb 2014. Stayed in a "deluxe" room, which was clean and a decent size. Nice balcony with a bit of a view. Bed was great, had a TV, DVD, mini fridge and safe in the room. Bathroom was looking a bit tired and the hot water was kindly finicky, but not a big deal. AC worked well and since we were traveling with our 9 month old baby, we really appreciated the black-out blinds. Keeping it dark inside meant better daytime naps and longer sleeping in the AM.

Common area is good, small poolside bar with sat tv. Good for socializing with other guests. Pool was clean (other than a few leaves) and warm-ish.

Breakfast is ok, but basic, choices for eggs or pancakes or French toast, plus a bit of fruit.

Beach is not actually 150 meters away... More like a kilometer. About a 5-8 min walk or so. You can find other restaurants for lunch / dinner along the road or At the beach. Echo beach places are another 6 mins along the beach, but require crossing a river... Ankle deep on low tide, chest deep on high tide! You can also order delivery from the echo beach places for free.

Decent surf break at the beach directly at the end on the road. Renting a surfboard from the hotel will cost you $100,000rp for 24hrs, while renting it on the beach is about $50,000 rp per hour... So go with the hotel.

We paid $165,000rp for flat rate taxi from the airport (from the official desk). Paid $185,000rp by meter taxi to leave for Ubud. We didn't rent a scooter, but if we did, lots more food & surf within easy range.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and felt it was great value for the money! Staff were very friendly and always cleaning something!

Another great option within the same price range, just down the road is Pondok Nyoman Resort. We came across it once we arrived... Right on the beach, with an amazing restaurant and infinity pool!

Room Tip: The "bungalows" are the older rooms, with basic amenities. The 8 "deluxe" rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bc2planker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    24
    9
    11
    3
See reviews for
8
33
27
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

I had the a beautiful month at premier surf camp! The crew is briljant they really like what they do so nothing is to much for them. If you ask they do anything what you want! Breakfast is nice a lot of choice, the rooms are clean and big surf classes are good with good instructors! The owner ray is also really good for his guests he takes you to everywhere if you ask! I will be back next year for sure!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Paul v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

Stayed in this place for two weeks and really enjoyed the time. First of all, the location is really good, becouse it's in quiet and clean area in Changgu. Also it's about only 5 minutes walking to the beach. Rooms are clean, staff is friendly and always pay you attention if you need it (maybe becouse of the fact the hotel is not big, so there are not many customers). And the most amazing thing there is special atmosphere: you feel yourself home there: really quiet and positive place.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wmachok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

Stayed in Premier last May and couldn't of wished for a better place for my first visit to Bali. The staff and owner Ray are super friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. Rooms are very comfortable and clean and good aircon. Was there for over 2 weeks and enjoyed a delicious breakfast every morning after a surf. The pool has sunken stools which is where I had most breakfasts. There is also great facilities for surfing with an outdoor shower and board rental at the camp.

There are four quality surf breaks just down the road, 2mins on scooter which you can rent from the camp. The area has some great warungs and cafe's to get something to eat, and also a great pizzeria. Can't remember the name but Marco at the camp will be able to tell you. Will definitely be returning on my next visit in July.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dkell2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

I stayed in Premier Surf Camp (PSC) for a week in the deluxe room and was a memorable experience. The verdict is that if I ever return to Canggu I might end up staying here again.

So whats good about the place

Value for money - Clean and large room, with a large and comfortable bed. I never had any problems with my sleep, so full marks to the bed. The aircon was also functioning very well. Cold and hot water at all times. The balconies face the pool and offers a good view. The pool is great for a dip on a hot afternoon.

Helpful Staff: Everyone from the staff at the reception, the owner, the surf instructor were super helpful.

Location: This is on a quiet beach probably called the Perernan beach. There are one or two decent cafe's on the beach though. Compared to the beaches closeby, Echo and Batu Bolong. Batu Bolong and the street leading to it has the most number of hotels and cafe's. Echo comes next and the most peaceful being Perernan. You are most likely to rent a bike so the location does not matter since all these beaches are just 1-2 kms apart from each other. I used to walk from one beach to another but the distance depends on whether you can cross the channel separating Echo and Perernan. Sometimes after heavy rains it swells and you have to take the long route.

Free breakfast and Wifi: The breakfast was delicious and filling. The Wifi was super fast as well.

Surf Instructor: I got surf coaching by Nyoman the resident instructor. Being off season I got 1:1 training and I must say Nyoman put all the effort to get me trained. His English could be better but should say that he gets the job done. His style is more of hit the waters and learn on the field so there is very little theory.

So overall a very pleasant stay and great surfing experience. I met several people who were repeat customers and had opted for long stay at Premier.

The only thing I did not like is the cleaning frequency. During my 7 nights stay, the cleaning was done only once when I asked for it. I even had to ask for the towels to be changed. So my advice to Rai is that he gets 1-2 separate staff for cleaning and changing towels. Its likely that the staff are finding it difficult to multitask between reception, making breakfast, satisfying customer requests etc.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bijucyborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

If you to go to Canggu, go only if you want to surf all day everyday, and want to be settled amongst the peace and quite of rice fields. The rooms are clean, have TV and DVD, good hot shower. The views in the morning are amazing!However, from morning to evening nothing much is going on. I didn’t see anyone else who was staying there. Canggu is around a 30 minute drive from the Kuta/Legian/Seminyak region where all the night life is. Scooters/motorbikes can be hired for AUD$5 per day. The nearby Echo beach has 3-4 cafes which serve pretty good food. You can either take a 10 minute scooter ride, or a 20 minute walk through the beach. At night, I suggest walking, as you can easily get lost on the long and winding roads.

The staff at Premier were extremely nice and friendly and helped with anything they could. The atmosphere was very quiet and subdued, maybe it was the Christmas period. So if you are looking to surf any wave you can and not see anyone, this is the place. The beach has dark sand and is full of rubbish, not a hugely pleasant sight. Again, the beach is inhabited by surfers from all over looking for soft, easy beach breaks. The beach is good for surfing and that’s about it. If you’re a lone traveller looking to socialise, this isn’t exactly the place for you.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patasha123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Me and my daughter stayed here in December 2013, and were booked in for a week's surfing lesson package, but cancelled after a few days due to bad surf teacher, terrible breakfast (not even juice, no coconuts, just tea or coffee and all western food), unfriendly atmosphere (the owners live on the property and refuse to say hello), and difficult location with NO MAPS provided (to get to Echo Beach you have to take your scooter across dirt tracks which get flooded when it rains). There are NO restaurants or bars nearby, as this hotel is in Prerenan beach and NOT on Echo Beach which at least has a few bars/ eateries. The rooms are OK but the bathrooms (no windows, shower and toilet in same area) are dirty.

The worst part is that we felt we were charged far too much by the surf teacher the hotel hired for us. We supposedly paid for individual instruction but in reality only my daughter was instructed as the teacher bought along his teenage nephew who could not speak English to 'teach' me. After complaining about this, a real teacher was arranged for me the next day. The main surf teacher also did not have functional English and was most unhelpful in addition to being at least double what other teachers charge (as I found out later). My advice is arrange your own surf teachers direct from the beach and DO NOT get the hotel to arrange teachers for you as you will get ripped-off!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canggu hotels
0.6 mi away
FRii Bali Echo Beach, Hotel
1.4 mi away
Matra Bali Surf Camp Guest House
0.4 mi away
Echoland
Echoland
#18 of 105 in Canggu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Lubdhaka Canggu Residence
Lubdhaka Canggu Residence
#20 of 105 in Canggu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jonsen Homestay
Jonsen Homestay
#62 of 105 in Canggu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bima Sakti House Canggu
Bima Sakti House Canggu
#33 of 105 in Canggu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Surf Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Surf Camp

Property: Premier Surf Camp
Address: Jl. Pantai Pererenan 133 | Mengwi, Canggu 80351, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Canggu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Canggu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Surf Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier Surf Camp is located in Canggu, 300 meters from Pererenan Beach and Echo Beach (7 minutes walking). It offers an outdoor pool with a pool bar, set in a tropical garden. Free Wi-Fi is provided throughout the building. Premier Surf Camp is located a 10-minutes drive from Canggu Club. Stylish Seminyak is a 15-minutes drive away while it takes a 50-minute ride to reach Ngurah Rai International Airport. Each room offers a private terrace with garden view. A flat-screen TV, minibar and en suite bathroom with hot water. Breakfast included. Massage services are available upon request. Sightseeing arrangements, car and scooter rental services are provided at the tour desk. The property also offers laundry services. Room service is available for convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Premier Surf Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Surf Camp Bali/Canggu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing