We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Premier Surf Camp
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Tugu Bali(Canggu)(Great Value!)
$373
$280
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Kirana Hotel Resto and Spa(Canggu)(Great Value!)
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Legong Keraton Beach Hotel(Canggu)(Great Value!)
$56
$40
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ngeluwungan Boutique Villa(Canggu)(Great Value!)
$75
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Theanna Eco Villa and Spa(Canggu)(Great Value!)
$156
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Berawa(Canggu)(Great Value!)
$109
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$27
$23
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
FRii Bali Echo Beach, Hotel(Canggu)(Great Value!)
$44
$40
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amore Villas(Canggu)
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveler rating
58
29
11
13
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
58
29
11
13
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswim up barecho beachincluded breakfastchilled vibeevery morningawesome placegreat poolhot waterrent a scootershort walk to the beachstayed here for nightssurftvbalibrekkiechannelslaundry
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 116 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Stayed in this place for two weeks and really enjoyed the time. First of all, the location is really good, becouse it's in quiet and clean area in Changgu. Also it's about only 5 minutes walking to the beach. Rooms are clean, staff is friendly and always pay you attention if you need it (maybe becouse of the fact the hotel is not big, so there are not many customers). And the most amazing thing there is special atmosphere: you feel yourself home there: really quiet and positive place.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wmachok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Stayed in Premier last May and couldn't of wished for a better place for my first visit to Bali. The staff and owner Ray are super friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. Rooms are very comfortable and clean and good aircon. Was there for over 2 weeks and enjoyed a delicious breakfast every morning after a surf. The pool has sunken stools which is where I had most breakfasts. There is also great facilities for surfing with an outdoor shower and board rental at the camp.

There are four quality surf breaks just down the road, 2mins on scooter which you can rent from the camp. The area has some great warungs and cafe's to get something to eat, and also a great pizzeria. Can't remember the name but Marco at the camp will be able to tell you. Will definitely be returning on my next visit in July.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dkell2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

I stayed in Premier Surf Camp (PSC) for a week in the deluxe room and was a memorable experience. The verdict is that if I ever return to Canggu I might end up staying here again.

So whats good about the place

Value for money - Clean and large room, with a large and comfortable bed. I never had any problems with my sleep, so full marks to the bed. The aircon was also functioning very well. Cold and hot water at all times. The balconies face the pool and offers a good view. The pool is great for a dip on a hot afternoon.

Helpful Staff: Everyone from the staff at the reception, the owner, the surf instructor were super helpful.

Location: This is on a quiet beach probably called the Perernan beach. There are one or two decent cafe's on the beach though. Compared to the beaches closeby, Echo and Batu Bolong. Batu Bolong and the street leading to it has the most number of hotels and cafe's. Echo comes next and the most peaceful being Perernan. You are most likely to rent a bike so the location does not matter since all these beaches are just 1-2 kms apart from each other. I used to walk from one beach to another but the distance depends on whether you can cross the channel separating Echo and Perernan. Sometimes after heavy rains it swells and you have to take the long route.

Free breakfast and Wifi: The breakfast was delicious and filling. The Wifi was super fast as well.

Surf Instructor: I got surf coaching by Nyoman the resident instructor. Being off season I got 1:1 training and I must say Nyoman put all the effort to get me trained. His English could be better but should say that he gets the job done. His style is more of hit the waters and learn on the field so there is very little theory.

So overall a very pleasant stay and great surfing experience. I met several people who were repeat customers and had opted for long stay at Premier.

The only thing I did not like is the cleaning frequency. During my 7 nights stay, the cleaning was done only once when I asked for it. I even had to ask for the towels to be changed. So my advice to Rai is that he gets 1-2 separate staff for cleaning and changing towels. Its likely that the staff are finding it difficult to multitask between reception, making breakfast, satisfying customer requests etc.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bijucyborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

If you to go to Canggu, go only if you want to surf all day everyday, and want to be settled amongst the peace and quite of rice fields. The rooms are clean, have TV and DVD, good hot shower. The views in the morning are amazing!However, from morning to evening nothing much is going on. I didn’t see anyone else who was staying there. Canggu is around a 30 minute drive from the Kuta/Legian/Seminyak region where all the night life is. Scooters/motorbikes can be hired for AUD$5 per day. The nearby Echo beach has 3-4 cafes which serve pretty good food. You can either take a 10 minute scooter ride, or a 20 minute walk through the beach. At night, I suggest walking, as you can easily get lost on the long and winding roads.

The staff at Premier were extremely nice and friendly and helped with anything they could. The atmosphere was very quiet and subdued, maybe it was the Christmas period. So if you are looking to surf any wave you can and not see anyone, this is the place. The beach has dark sand and is full of rubbish, not a hugely pleasant sight. Again, the beach is inhabited by surfers from all over looking for soft, easy beach breaks. The beach is good for surfing and that’s about it. If you’re a lone traveller looking to socialise, this isn’t exactly the place for you.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patasha123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Me and my daughter stayed here in December 2013, and were booked in for a week's surfing lesson package, but cancelled after a few days due to bad surf teacher, terrible breakfast (not even juice, no coconuts, just tea or coffee and all western food), unfriendly atmosphere (the owners live on the property and refuse to say hello), and difficult location with NO MAPS provided (to get to Echo Beach you have to take your scooter across dirt tracks which get flooded when it rains). There are NO restaurants or bars nearby, as this hotel is in Prerenan beach and NOT on Echo Beach which at least has a few bars/ eateries. The rooms are OK but the bathrooms (no windows, shower and toilet in same area) are dirty.

The worst part is that we felt we were charged far too much by the surf teacher the hotel hired for us. We supposedly paid for individual instruction but in reality only my daughter was instructed as the teacher bought along his teenage nephew who could not speak English to 'teach' me. After complaining about this, a real teacher was arranged for me the next day. The main surf teacher also did not have functional English and was most unhelpful in addition to being at least double what other teachers charge (as I found out later). My advice is arrange your own surf teachers direct from the beach and DO NOT get the hotel to arrange teachers for you as you will get ripped-off!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicolette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews