We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Premier Surf Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Premier Surf Camp
Ranked #29 of 109 Canggu B&B and Inns
Zapresic, Grad Zagreb, Croatia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Booked a room for 5 nights in a bungalow, but after I saw how bungalow looks like I decided to stay only three nights. Pictures on the website do not match the look of the bungalow. The room was ok, but the bathroom looks like it was not cleaned in a long time and very neglected. Warm water you have literally 10 seconds, from the pipe on the wall leaks and floor is constantly wet so I was afraid to go into the bathroom without flip flops.
Bungalows is located next to the pool, bar and kitchen and this is the main meeting place so it is constantly loud in front of the room. Bungalow is separated from the yard with a large glass door and it is impossible to remove the curtains and let the light to enter because other guests have a direct view into the room.
Hotel is accommodated close to the beach, but about 30 minutes away from the city so each time when you wish to go to the city you have to call a taxi or rent a motorbike.
If you are not fan of water sports, this is definitely not the place for you.
I highly recomend to check this place before booking because the hotel does not offer a free booking cancellation.
Only positive in this hotel was frog in my room :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
premiersurfcamp, Manager at Premier Surf Camp, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Hi Kristina,

We are sorry you didn't enjoy much your stay here at Premier Surf Camp. I want to apologies if the room was not matching your expectations. Next time we suggest you to book our Deluxe room instead. The Deluxe is bigger, much more elegant and newer. This is why we give a choice of a Deluxe room and a smaller Bungalow for who is on a budget but want to enjoy our swimming pool and pool bar and all the Surf Camp facilities. Usually our bungalow guests are young travellers / couples.

The Bungalow is comfortable with a queen size bed, air conditioning and daily cleaning service but of course for this very cheap price including the breakfast you can’t expect luxury ;)
After all don't forget you are in a surf camp and not in a posh hotel in Sminyak.

I appreciate the description of our location because it's true. The Premier Surf Camp is located in a quiet area of Bali, where you can still see the real amazing Bali, surrounded by many different waves, from beginner till expert.

Water sports are essential for us. Besides we have the Famous Echo beach at 10 minutes walking, with many restaurants and pubs. Or else if you want to go in the chaos of Seminyak or Kuta, yes you do need a motorbike or car (aprox 15/20 minutes driving).

We really hope you will come back and enjoy our Surf Camp in a Deluxe room next time and may try some water sports with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    24
    9
    11
    3
See reviews for
8
33
27
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Marco, Wawan, Yuni and Fandy were really really helpful and went out of their way for us. Facilities were great, breakfasts were great, and after driving around a big area in Bali, we decided we like the Surf Camp's area the best because it was rural and quiet but close to the beach. The other guests were great too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoeCoolSnoopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We were so impressed with the tranquility of the Premier Surf Camp in Canggu.Not Ritzy but clean,tidy,comfortable and homely.The staff are fantastic - warm and friendly and nothing is too much trouble.They can offer up amazing info,from car hire to fishing trips and prep for a barbeque!Rooms are air conditioned,loads of hot water with a big comfortable bed.The pool and gardens are lovely and I felt very secure with the 24 hour security.The Camp is well situated - quiet and away from the hustle of Kuta but within good distances of cafes,restaurants and sight-seeing.The BBQ salad buffet at Echo Beach was a favourite.We experienced local cuisine from the more 'up market' through to the basic fare at the nearby 'warung' The guests seemed really nice and the overall ambience is of laid back ease and relaxation!The breakfast in the morning was good - so thank you to Uni,Wayan and Fandi who do a wonderful job with the hotel housekeeping.They are always smiling and eager to help!Thank you to Marco,too for the fantastic work he does making everone feel so welcome.Nicky and Martin

Room Tip: I enjoyed our room on the ground floor,opening out onto the garden and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

My boyfriend and I were looking for somewhere in the Canggu area that was affordable, clean, close to the beach and epic surf spots, and had a pool. that is exactly what we found at the Premier Surf Camp and so much more! we stayed in one of the bungalows right next to the pool for 3 months and loved every minute. All the staff and really nice people, they have no problem offering help and advice, cooked awesome yummy breakie for us every morning (which was included in the price for our room, bonus!!), and cleaned our rooms as often as we wanted. They have everything you could want from surfboard rental to laundry service, all for a very good price. The location was great, close to heaps of really nice restaurants, and only 30mins out of Kuta for when you want to do some shopping, but far away enough to be out of the craziness! it is nice and quiet and a great spot to see the true bali and relax without someone pushing you to buy something every time you step onto the street! We met a bunch of wicked people during our stay, including the staff, Rai, Marco, Wawan, Yuni and Fandi. Thanks you guys for all the great times, We will definitely be back! Highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a nice, affordable, chilled out place with good people, good vibes, and good waves. Cheers again! Alex and Mitchell

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank alex92bishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

This place was quality. Value all round. Ended up staying 2 months roughly which really helped my ability to ride superglassy waves ;). The rooms are clean and tidy. The pool is lovely. The staff are very friendly. Its also quiet in the evenings to catch some Zzz's. And best of all its really close to several world class surfing breaks. Talk to Marco firstly about which beach caters for which ability, some of the waves are faster and bigger, hence more dangerous, depending on which beach you choose to surf so beware before heading out (unless youre an expert therefore know the hazards etc). And once youve found a spot you like, hit it everyday and let the good times roll!!! A good spot for beginners/intermediates is Batu Balong. Canggu has lots of great restaurants that cater well for all food types too so when youre feeling hungry, good grub is never too far away.. but I would advise maybe renting a scooter due to the lack of pavements and street lights. Again ask Marco or the staff for a scooter/car rental and they'll get you sorted in a matter of minutes. Check out Echo beach around the corner for salad buffet with good BBQ and added sunset views. I met alot of great people here too from all walks of life, families, couples, solo travellers, big shoutout to all the Kiwis and everyone else that came through, was nice knowing everybody and hope they had as much of a good time as I did. Thank you to the staff for the good breakfasts and hotel upkeep. Big Thank you to Rai too for being a legend and Marco for being superglassy haha. Sorry again for snapping the board lol

Tony

Room Tip: If youre looking to stay over a month see if you can strike a deal price wise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Especially for intermediate to pro surfers who want to stay for a while, Premier Surf Camp is a great deal: basic but comfortable and clean rooms, very good a/c, friendly staff, easygoing atmosphere, located a few hundred meters from Pererenan beach, and just 5-10 minutes more for the breaks around Echo Beach. These are fast, powerful and fairly advanced waves, so if you're a beginner or fledgling intermediate like myself, who still want to be able to walk to your surf break, you may be better off staying near Batu Bolong or Berawa, where there is also more amenities/cafe/restaurant life -- but at a higher price. Pererenan is more remote: apart from a few (good) local restaurants in walking distance, you will need a scooter to get to more central parts of Canggu (5-15 mins, depending), but this still probably works out cheaper if you're staying for a while. Premier is small, so the vibe depends on who's here, but the place is a friendly haven in a beautiful part of Bali, with a very good standard for the price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EuroDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunsborough, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

We truned up the eve of Nyepi day,Communication Lacked to start with but once that was sorted we had the BEST BALI HOLIDAY and it would be hard to top it.1st the rooms are good A/C,Big beds,tv,fridge shower,toilet what more do you need value for your money.The Pool,Pool bar,breakfast bar,gardens basically the whole place is relaxing.the beach is about a 5 min walk or a 25 sec scooter ride down the road.Marco and the crew were awesome. Anything we asked for there was no hesitation.always happy and friendly.The Premier Surf Camp is not a ritzy hotel so don't expect one when you get there, But when you start relaxing and enjoying the place you'll realize it one of the BEST places (in my opinion) to stay.And its due to the People there,the Staff and the Amazing people we met there. the location is awesome close to the beach,in a peacefull area,just far enough away from the hustle of kuta etc.. but close enough to go there if you wanted.Would Stay there Again For sure and recommend it to people.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fabianleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canggu
1.4 mi away
Matra Bali Surf Camp Guest House
0.4 mi away
Echoland
Echoland
#19 of 109 in Canggu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lautan Kupu - Kupu Villas
Lautan Kupu - Kupu Villas
#14 of 109 in Canggu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Matra Bali Guesthouse
Matra Bali Guesthouse
#6 of 109 in Canggu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.9 mi away
Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat
0.2 mi away
Andy's Surf Villa and Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Surf Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Surf Camp

Property: Premier Surf Camp
Address: Jl. Pantai Pererenan 133 | Mengwi, Canggu 80351, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Canggu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Canggu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Surf Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier Surf Camp is located in Canggu, 300 meters from Pererenan Beach and Echo Beach (7 minutes walking). It offers an outdoor pool with a pool bar, set in a tropical garden. Free Wi-Fi is provided throughout the building. Premier Surf Camp is located a 10-minutes drive from Canggu Club. Stylish Seminyak is a 15-minutes drive away while it takes a 50-minute ride to reach Ngurah Rai International Airport. Each room offers a private terrace with garden view. A flat-screen TV, minibar and en suite bathroom with hot water. Breakfast included. Massage services are available upon request. Sightseeing arrangements, car and scooter rental services are provided at the tour desk. The property also offers laundry services. Room service is available for convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Premier Surf Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Surf Camp Bali/Canggu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing