We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over and above!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Homestay Bali Starling
Ranked #28 of 123 Canggu B&B and Inns
London
2 reviews
“Over and above!”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

My family stayed at Bali Starling for 5 days last month and cannot speak highly enough of Mike, the owner, and his superb homestay. The decor is lovely and the views out to the rice paddies are beautiful. Everyone mentions the breakfasts on their reviews and they really are fantastic - wide selection of choices, delicious ingredients and freshly prepared to order when you get up in the morning! I think we worked our way through all the selections during our stay and toughest decision was which one to choose for the next morning!

Travelling with our two young children we really appreciated the spacious room - plenty of space for 2 travel cots and access to the Canggu club was brilliant - we went there every day to make the most of the pool and great kids amenities. It was a 15 minute walk there - along the side of fairly busy roads but perfectly do-able for us with a buggy and we appreciated the swim to cool off at the end!

We cannot speak highly enough of Mike - his hospitality and helpfulness really was over and above - he was happy to share lots of advice, tips, hints and really helped us out with lots and lots of questions! Thanks so much and we would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending Mike and the Bali Starling Homestay!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeamToms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
36
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Mike and his wife have created a beautiful lovely place at the Bali Starling Homestay. It's close to Kuta and at the same time away from the crowd and the busy areas, perfect to resource oneself. The breakfast are just awesome and the owners really friendly and helpful. I highly recommend it to anyone who look for a nice, affordable and stylish accommodation in Bali.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gaetan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 20, 2014

My wife stayed at this lovely homestay recommended by the good reviews I had. And I have to say q not disappoint us. The place is beautiful in the heart of Canggu, surrounded by rice fields. The decor is tastefully done and the breakfast is great. Absolutely not recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Bali Starling Homestay for a week at the end of March and had a thoroughly enjoyable stay. Mike, the owner, was an excellent host and prepared a delicious breakfast for us every morning. There was such an excellent selection for breakfast that most evenings my biggest concern was which one to choose. However, the full breakfast, avocado toast and buttermilk pancakes were very good. The rooms were large, cool and nicely decorated. They were cleaned every day to a good standard. The breakfast area was open plan with a large communal table and balcony overlooking greenery and blue sky. Mike was happy to organise a motorbike for us as well as our transport back to the airport.
Overall our stay was wonderful. We were a 5 minute motorbike ride from Berawa beach and about 10 minutes to Echo beach. I particularly wanted to be in this area because it is much quieter than being in the Kuta 'madness' and the location of the honestay was perfect for this. It was incredibly quiet and a welcome spot after coming from the noise and chaos of Jakarta.
If you are looking for great service, delicious food and nice spacious rooms then I can absolutely recommend this charming Homestay.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sineadlawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Beautiful rooms, well maintained and clean, good hot showers, large comfortable bed, and really good breakfast each day, tailored to your individual order. A bit of an isolated location, but otherwise a great place to rest up and feel pampered in quality surroundings.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stayed here back in October. We originally stayed for a couple of nights at the beginning of our trip, loved it so much and came back for a few more nights at the end of our trip.

The house is amazing and the guestrooms are very comfortable and very clean. Mike and his wonderful hospitality also lend to the easy going and relaxing atmosphere. Mike also was the man behind the freshly cooked breakfasts each morning - delicious! Quite a few different things to choose from as well, and freshly made while you sit up in their lovely lounge overlooking rice paddies etc.

Having access to the Canggu club was an unexpected perk of being here and we ended up spending more time here than we would've thought :P

Canggu itself was away from the busy streets of Seminyak etc .. traffic on the roads is very light, it's easy to walk to the Canggu club and to the beach (10 - 20 min).

It was such a lovely stay and we'd be happy to stay again for sure. Thanks to Mike and his family (and their cute puppy) for their wonderful hospitality!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLGM11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

I recently stayed 10 nights at Bali starling, and was very happy. It is a 3 minute scooter ride to the beach, as the location provides for a very quiet atmosphere. Mike provides an A+ breakfast and coffee every morning, along with a plethora of local knowledge about the island to help plan your day, arranging anything for your needs, including scooter rentals or taxi rides. It was a 10 minute ride down to Seminyak for our shopping needs, and every time we ventured down there, we were happy we chose to stay where we did, as the traffic and congestion is insane in those areas. We were also able to take a very nice scooter ride to Tanah Lot and Ubud from this location. If you are here to surf, you are only a few minutes from the wedgy peaks of Canggu. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edbeard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canggu hotels
12.9 mi away
Pande Homestay
Pande Homestay
#18 of 123 in Canggu
38 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jonsen Homestay
Jonsen Homestay
#75 of 123 in Canggu
32 reviews
0.4 mi away
Big Brother Surf Inn
Big Brother Surf Inn
#13 of 123 in Canggu
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Matra Bali Surf Camp Guest House
0.7 mi away
808 Residence
808 Residence
#59 of 267 in Canggu
15 reviews
0.3 mi away
Matra Bali Guesthouse
Matra Bali Guesthouse
#7 of 123 in Canggu
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homestay Bali Starling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestay Bali Starling

Property: Homestay Bali Starling
Address: Jalan Raya Semat | Gang Bekul 8, Canggu 0000, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Canggu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 123 B&Bs / Inns in Canggu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homestay Bali Starling is a brand new, boutique bed and breakfast, where you can enjoy the peace and tranquility while still being located at the heart of one of the most bustling and exiting areas in Bali. Homestay Bali Starling is just a short stroll away from world famous Echo Beach, but within 10 minutes you can also reach Seminyak, where you can enjoy great restaurants, shopping and the best nightclubs and bars. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Homestay Bali Starling Canggu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing