We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxed, super comfy and great breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homestay Bali Starling

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Homestay Bali Starling
Ranked #24 of 105 Canggu B&B and Inns
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
“Relaxed, super comfy and great breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

The rooms are nicely decorated and very comfortable. The hosts helps with whatever you need from scooter rental, laundry, restuarants or just local knowledge.
The breakfast puts the last piece to the 5 rating. The eggs benedict or home made granola is top notch! By far the best breakfast I had during my 1 month stay on Bali.
Perfect location very close to places like Cafe Beetlenut and cool Ex Machina. And all of Canggu surfspots are within 5 min drive with scooter.
This is the place to stay if you are going to Canggu!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreasPils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliStarling, Manager at Homestay Bali Starling, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Hi Andreas,

Thank you for your kind words. We're glad you enjoyed your stay that much.
Hope to see you again.

Marcella & Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
36
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We enjoyed our 3 night stay very much. Beautiful new homestay. Good breakfast. Canggu Club is included. Very good place for a workout and relaxing. I recommend this place to people that do not mind to be outsider of the busy tourist area's

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Menno M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliStarling, Manager at Homestay Bali Starling, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Menno,

Thanks for the review. Hope you have a great time in New Zealand!
Take care.

Marcella & Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Spending over a month in Bali, we especially favor the Canggu area: up-and-coming, a little outside of busy Kuta, plenty of new excellent restaurants and cafes, and close to our favorite surfbreak. Our last week we spend in the Bali Starling, a 1 year old small (4 rooms) guesthouse with modern western amenities. Large size rooms, perfect beds, LCD/DVD, airco, tastefully decorated and meticulously clean. Efficiently run like only a Dutch couple can, the breakfast is made in a homely atmosphere on the topfloor kitchen/communal area overlooking the rice fields: self made granola, banana pancakes, poached avocado eggs, fresh juice and fruit salad, topped off by excellent coffee. And it doesn't stop here: a membership to the Canggu club is included, a posh sporting club around the corner with a large swimming pool, gym, library, cafe and restaurant, good for our days without surf and to do some cardio again.
By far the best accommodation we have stayed at!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frans S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcellavdv, Owner at Homestay Bali Starling, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Google Translation
Beste Frans en Carolina,

Wat fijn om te lezen dat jullie zo genoten hebben. We wensen jullie heel veel plezier tijdens de rest van jullie reis. En wie weet zien we jullie hier over een tijdje wel weer. Want het is natuurlijk nergens zo leuk als hier op Bali ;)

Goede reis!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

First I'll start off by saying that I use to live in Bali for almost 2 years a couple years back. I stayed here with a friend for almost 2 weeks in Sept 12'. Mike n Marcella were great hosts, definitely felt like they really cared about our stay and were always willing to help us no matter what the request. The rooms were newly built, decorated beautifully and very clean. Although there is no pool at the villa, access to the Canggu Club which is only 2 minutes away by scooter was amazing. Started off most days at the club. We will definitely stay here again! Cant get anything better for the price!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveeDantonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcellavdv, Manager at Homestay Bali Starling, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Hi Dave,

That's a lot of kind words. Thank you so much for that! We would love to have you as our guest again when you return to Bali. Hope to see you soon.

Mike & Marcella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villingen-Schwenningen, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Best accomodation we had in our four weeks in Asia! Newly opened, very nice rooms at a reasonable price, awesome breakfast and only 5 min by motorbike to the beach and 10 min to Seminyak. The owners are a young durch couple and very helpful if you need any advice. If we ever do come back to Bali we will stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaninaLandauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcellavdv, Manager at Homestay Bali Starling, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Kai & Janina,

Thank you for spending part of your honeymoon at our homestay. We wish you all the luck and a beautiful future together. Take care.

Marcella & Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
172 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Stayed there for three days. I had a very large room which was in great condition, everything worked and the couple running it were very helpful and friendly. The homestay only has 4 rooms, thus it is a very layback place with a view of cows, padis, bananas etc.
While there is no pool or many services avaialble, membership to the Canguu club was fine. It is a 20 min walk or short taxi ride and has grat gym, pools, playing fields etc.

The breakfast area also functions as a lounge room and you can sit around it at night havinig a drink and chatting away.

The location will not suit everyone if you do not have a car or bike as it is 20 mins from the beach and there is little to do immediately around the homestay. But if you don't want the noise and chaos of Kuta it is fine.

Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Pick the top floor room (there is only one)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ClaudiusSg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcellavdv, Manager at Homestay Bali Starling, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Mark,

Thank you very much for your great review. Getting a 5 star review from someone who's written over 70 reviews, makes us really happy and proud.

Take care,
Mike & Marcella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Münster, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We spent our summer holidays in Bali Starling. During two weeks we felt like home in this place. The way the owners, Mike and Marcella, treat us was wonderful. The room was newly furnished, modern, comfortable, large and spacious, with a good bed. The bathroom is big with a great open shower. The entire hotel was very clean.

There was a great choice of breakfast in the morning which we enjoyed on the fabulous terrace. Our favorite was the spectacular homemade Muesli with its fresh fruits accompanied by a fresh fruit shake. Everything we needed (transport, tour guides, sightseeing and restaurant recommendations) was provided by the hosts.

Some days we used the free entrance to Canggu Club with its swimming pool and gym and really enjoyed this possibility.

We highly recommend this homestay for your visit in Bali, for the place as well as the hosts.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NachoAnnki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcellavdv, Manager at Homestay Bali Starling, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Nacho & Anki,

It was a real pleasure having you as our guests for more than two weeks.
We're very grateful for your kind review. Hopefully Nacho is able to deal with the cold, German weather. ;)

Warm regards,
Mike & Marcella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canggu hotels
0.4 mi away
Matra Bali Guesthouse
Matra Bali Guesthouse
#6 of 105 in Canggu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jonsen Homestay
Jonsen Homestay
#62 of 105 in Canggu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
1.1 mi away
Echoland
Echoland
#20 of 105 in Canggu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Matra Bali Surf Camp Guest House
0.7 mi away
Serenity Eco Guesthouse and Yoga
0.4 mi away
Charlie Brown Surf Stay
Charlie Brown Surf Stay
#23 of 33 in Canggu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homestay Bali Starling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestay Bali Starling

Property: Homestay Bali Starling
Address: Jalan Raya Semat | Gang Bekul 8, Canggu 0000, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Canggu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Canggu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homestay Bali Starling is a brand new, boutique bed and breakfast, where you can enjoy the peace and tranquility while still being located at the heart of one of the most bustling and exiting areas in Bali. Homestay Bali Starling is just a short stroll away from world famous Echo Beach, but within 10 minutes you can also reach Seminyak, where you can enjoy great restaurants, shopping and the best nightclubs and bars. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Homestay Bali Starling Canggu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing