We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surfer-friendly, awesome deal all-around”
Review of Puri Rama Homestay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canggu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Puri Rama Homestay
Ranked #13 of 139 Canggu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 9, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Puri Rama Homestay for 4 days and 3 nights and got an incredibly inexpensive deal for a very lovely room. It was spacious, with a high ceiling and its own little garden. The furniture were simple but tasteful. Everything was clean, even the common area and kitchen. The place is peaceful and staff were very helpful, arranging taxis for us and giving us tips on where to go. Rama even personally showed us our room when we arrived.

The homestay is a 5-minute walk to Brawa beach. We went late November so the waves were not much, but became decent by late afternoon. Easy to rent surfboards by the beach, too.

Canngu is a little far from the concentration of bars and restaurants in Kuta. Be wary of cabs scamming you at night on the way back, they always say its too far and charge an unfair amount. Though there is a spattering of good restaurants around the homestay.

Our time at Rama's was a great experience. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikki784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 106 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our two months with Putu and his family were exceptional. From the first day in our magnificent studio apartment we felt as if we were genuinely welcome and part of the community. Our accommodations were superb and extraordinarily reasonable. The modern Homestay is located in a very tranquil setting, walking distance to the beach and a popular surf spot. This part of Canggu is quaint and their are several small but excellent warungs nearby, Wendy's was our favorite. Seminyak, Legian, Tuban and crazy beer soaked Kuta are a short Blue Bird taxi ride away . Putu also offers transportation services and is one of the best drivers you'll ever get on the island . If you're looking for a very clean, reasonable and friendly place to stay outside frenetic south Bali, this is an excellent alternative.  

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank DrLoPan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Those who are looking for an authentic Balinese accommodation and tranquility away from bustling touristic streets and constant traffic jams, should choose Puri Rama Homestay. We have been very happy with the choice. The rooms are beautifully furnished, the garden outside is splendid. There are a few restaurants within a walk distance of 10 minutes and a shop Canggu Deli a bit further away. The beach is 5-10 minutes away and it is not busy at all compared to Seminyak and Kuta. In contrast to those, the ratio of locals versus tourists is in favour of locals here. There is a security guard present at all time and you can always ask for his assistance to call you a taxi. There is a communal kitchen where you can always have drinking water, tea, coffee and prepare food. Rooms have a fridge. We would choose this place again, if we went back! Greetings to Mr. Rama!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NoraM13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

The first time i came to Rama's place i stayed for a week, the second time i stayed for a month. The rooms are spacious, super clean, perfectly adapted to surfers' needs and offer privacy. Very good internet connection. Brawa beach is in a five minutes walking distance as well as some small warungs and Cafe Canggu to hang out. Rama, his family and staff always give a helping hand and are very, very friendly. I always recommand this place to friends visiting Bali.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SonBa_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

By far the best place I have stayed at in Bali. The building in new, the rooms are spacious, it's close to the beach, it's private, clean and both Rama and his staff are friendly and always helpful.

The shared kitchen is fantastic, everything is there, just go buy some vegetables and noodles across the road and cook yourself up a cheap meal.

I stayed at Rama's homestay just after it was built and have returned twice a year since. It's now been a few years and i've stayed here about 5 or 6 times. I always love returning to Brawa and staying here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank astewart_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

This place is so nice! Such a nice solid building overlooking the street.

Close to some good food places I can not recommend this place more! I hope I can come to visit again in June because the last stay was awesome!

Room Tip: Try to get a room upstairs for the balcony overlooking the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JRSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Friends in bali booked our first night at Puri Rama as we arrived late. The staff were amazing and very accommodating of our needs. Room was clean, with TV, Air Con, Fridge, Balcony and water and kitchen facilities just outside our room easily accessible so you don't need to always buy water! A short walk to the beach and to Cafe Canguu and other cafes/restaurants. Would recommend to anyone on a budget but wanting the guarnatee of a clean room and friendly hosts.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lydiaeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canggu hotels
0.9 mi away
FRii Bali Echo Beach, Hotel
0.3 mi away
Legong Keraton Beach Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel Tugu Bali
Hotel Tugu Bali
#2 of 39 in Canggu
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Koa d'Surfer Hotel
Koa d'Surfer Hotel
#12 of 39 in Canggu
224 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aston Canggu Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
THE HAVEN SUITES Bali Berawa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Rama Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Rama Homestay

Address: Jalan Pantai Berawa | Canggu, Tibubeneng, Canggu 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Canggu
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in Canggu
Price Range: $30 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spacious low budget home stay near Berawa beach, a paradise for surfers. Our located is just 40 minute drive away from international Bali air port. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Puri Rama Homestay Bali/Canggu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing