We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unreliable, unwilling”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canggu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stormrider Surfcamp Bali
Ranked #70 of 292 Specialty Lodging in Canggu
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We are living in Bali and i have tried to organize a surf camp with Raja Ombak for my son during the school holidays. They gave rates and schedules but they said they were busy for the first week of the holidays and we scheduled to start for the following week. We waited the week to pass by and when the starting day came the guys became unreachable. No pick up the phone, no reply to the text messages, i passed by the camp to find out what was going on just to be said from one surf instructor (that was sleeping) that he was busy with beginners and there was 'no option' he would take care of my kid (he was the one that scheduled the program with my son!) and that he handed over the job to what i understand to be the owner of the camp. I called and text many times the guy and he never picked up or reply. Beside being very rude and unprofessional, I am pissed off because my son wasted his school holidays waiting for the Raja Ombak guys to take care of him as they agreed to do.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
5  Thank kikobali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StormriderSurfcamp, Owner at Stormrider Surfcamp Bali, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

This person simply never stayed at our resort. Nor did any of his family. He did ask us for a service we dont offer, surfguiding for poeple who are not our guests.

We did tell him that we may could do this IF it fits our surf-guiding program and we would contact him in this case. We did NOT commit to offering him or any of his relatives any service. As it didnt fit into our guiding program for the next two weeks after he did contact us we naturally didnt contact him. After this two weeks he did put up this made up "review". Thats the whole story.

And yes, our surfguides may sleep on a saturday morning at 8 AM as Its their day off.

The statement "Stayed April 2013, traveled with family" under the "review" is FALSE and an intentional lie, like the whole "review" is.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 45 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2012

My first stay at Stormrider was last year and I fell in love with the place and the staff and just had to come back. It is in a beautiful rice field neighborhood that is a short (5 minute) scooter ride from Ecco Beach or Batu Balong which are excellent waves if you feel like just going on your own, but for around $45 US a night for your room, you also get twice daily surf guiding from the Bukit to Medewi. Whether you go with the Indonesian guides or Arnd, the outgoing German owner, one of the few westerners who is fuly licensed to guide in Indonesia, they will get you to the right place for your surf level and the swell conditions of the day. Arnd and his guides know the sneak routes to avoid traffic too, which is a crucial plus. The place is very nicely designed and has spacious rooms and bathrooms that are a bit nicer than other camps i have stayed at on Bali. If you look at the photos on the stormrider site you will get an idea. The restaurant has a limited selection, but all the food is good and a good value, except for Arnd's curry chicken and curry fish, which is not good, it is excellent. And its such a good deal! Bali overall is a bargain, but the quality of the rooms for the price, if you compare to other local accommodations, its like you are getting the surf guiding free and just paying a fair price for room and breakfast.

Room Tip: the most amazing hostel accommodations ever. same antique wooden joglo type building as the dreamlan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Good_Advice_on_Jaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I stayed 3 weeks in the Villa Raja Ombak and enjoyed the good surfguiding. It's not a classical surfcamp full of teenagers and more theory lessons than actual surfing. This is a decent hotel that also offers transport to the best waves of the day according to your surf level.
It's located in Canggu, close to seversal good spots, but not directly at the beach (20 min walk or a short bike ride).

The dorm is big and spacious, the mattresses are thick and comfortable and each bed has a light so you can read comfortably. There is no air condition in the dorm, but the open building style makes air exchange easy and provides a good climate. The bathroom has a rainshower and is not typical dorm style as well, so all in all it's a very nice place. At night it can get loud when one of the many surrounding temples has ceremonies or the dogs do barking contests. People living in the aircondishened rooms told me they don't hear a thing from outside at night.
The place is clean and the pool is small but perfect for cooling down.

Breakfast is good and too small, you can chose between fried rice / noodles or pancakes, including a fruit salad, coffe / tea and fruit juice. The small kitchen serves food throughout the day, the menu is not big, but good enough for the small hunger. Several very good restaurants can be reached by a 10 min motorcycle drive.

The surfguiding is very good, twice a day they really look for good waves and drive a long way to get to the best conditions. They don't just throw you in the water at the closest spot, so you get to see a lot of different beaches, breaks and reefs. Still, this is south Bali, expect to spend some waiting time in traffic each day.
The renting material is top, very good boards! Bring your own wax.

The Manager Arnd is always a good source for tips where to spend the night / go out for dinner, gives helpful information on surfspots and takes care of his customers.
Sunday trips are included and guest can decide together where they would like to go and adjust the recommended program to their wishes.

I can recommend the stormrider sufcamp for very beginners up to really good surfers (I met people of all levels there, and all were enjoying the surfing), I would love to come back!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sali33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I stayed at Raja Ombak or Stormrider Surfcamp for a week to learn some surfing. It is a bit off the beaten track, so you need to rent a scooter to get to the nearest restaurants, but you'll get everything you need in the camp. The camp itself is beautiful, mostly built of wood in the middle of rice fields. I stayed in both a standard and the dorm room. The standard room is perfect, nice decor, very comfy, fantastic outdoor bathroom, fan cooled, overlooking the pool area. The dorm is upstairs and sleeps max 8 people. It is not a dorm in the traditional sense, as it is very spacious. I fond it great as long as we were only 3 people in it. When it is fully booked, it's a bit crammed and you have to fight over the bathroom. The kitchen is great and the staff serve very good breakfast and other meals for fair prices.

When it comes to surfing you can either join lessons or surf guiding. The surf lessons were great fun! The staff will do everything for you: arrange taxis, scooter rentals, massages etc. Weekly day trips and shuttles to Kuta are included in the price. I can highly recommend this place! I met some amazing people and it is good value for money compared to some other surf camps that cost 3-4 times the price.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dulin38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I recently spent 2 weeks at the surf camp. Due to an injury I sustained while surfing I was limited to only 2 good days in the water, but those 2 days in the water were fantastic!

Not being able to surf gave me a good opportunity to sit back and watch. For a few of the days the swell was 8-10 feet and nobody staying at the camp was experienced enough to surf at that size. They went to great lengths to find waves that were surfable, while keeping everyone out of danger.

The manager Arnd is a great guy and unlike a lot of other surf camps he actually cares about his guests and their well being. He constantly asked me whether my injury was getting any better and he was always enthused to answer any question posed.

The accommodation itself is really good value for money. Certainly not 5 star, but neither is the price.

I felt the only negatives were that the food was a bit bland and both showers available to people in the dorm room did not work very well.

Overall a great place and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chrismck84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2015, traveled with friends
Thank 321bacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank chrispeac0ck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canggu hotels
1.3 mi away
Canggu Surf Hostel
Canggu Surf Hostel
#42 of 292 in Canggu
81 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Chillhouse - Bali Surf and Bike Retreats
0.8 mi away
Canggu Beach Hostel
Canggu Beach Hostel
#10 of 292 in Canggu
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Wave Hunters Surf Camp
Wave Hunters Surf Camp
#44 of 292 in Canggu
24 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Temple by CSH
The Temple by CSH
#54 of 292 in Canggu
67 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Surf Camp
Premier Surf Camp
#38 of 140 in Canggu
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stormrider Surfcamp Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stormrider Surfcamp Bali

Address: Jl. Subak Pangi, Canggu 3425, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Canggu
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 292 Specialty Lodging in Canggu
Price Range: $35 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stormrider Surfcamp Bali and Resort is located in Canggu, on the south-west coast of Bali just one kilometer from the beach and close to various worldclass surfspots. Around the corner you find the well known "Echo-Beach" Surfspot of Canggu with its surrounding restaurants, bars and shops where you can enjoy sunsets at the beach with a cold drink in your hand.The Stormrider Surfcamp and Resort Bali offers stylish accomodation including surf-guiding and surfing lessons for all ages and skill-levels at affordable prices. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stormrider Surfcamp Bali Canggu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing