We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful traditional boutique hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Tugu Bali

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Tugu Bali
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Canggu
Certificate of Excellence
sydney
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“beautiful traditional boutique hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2011

This hotel is a traditional Balinese style boutique hotel The hotel is beautiful serene and classy My husband and I loved our Dedari suite ..large room clean plunge pool and exotic outdoor balinese bathroom Laying in the bath one just relaxes whilst watching the fish swim around in the pond Restaurants and service excellent Beach so much better than Seminyak due to cleanliness and so few people Hotel a 15min taxi to Seminyak A$5 We walked to La Luciola for breakfast..easy 45mins Love that restaurant! Great hotl if you want to stay out of Seminyak but easy for taxi etc We also visited Tugu Lombok and that was amazing These hotels are so elegantly classy and traditional with excelllent service Very exotic

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank love2travel2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    608
    74
    14
    10
    3
See reviews for
114
407
41
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Macau
Level Contributor
108 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2010

The Tugu is no ordinary place. More than a resort, it is a shrine to Indonesian culture and history, created by an artistic soul. It isn't for every traveller, but the cultured and discerning ones won't forget it. When I booked it I didn't know what to expect, I was just looking for a place not too far from the airport to end my holiday in Bali. Now I want to go back and to try all the other Tugu properties. In an island full of excellent resorts, the Tugu manages to be different. Of course, if I had known in advance that the Tugu belongs to the same people who own the Lara Djongrang restaurant in Jakarta I would have an idea of what was waiting for me.
I liked everything except the tempura!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Goncalo2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2010

Hotel Tugu is an absolute charm. The rooms and grounds are amazing and the staff ever so friendly and attentive. It is a little hide away located on a beautiful quiet beach where you can watch the surfers but not too far away from the resturants and bar's of seminyak. We got married here a year ago, came back for our first year anniversary and hope to continue to return each year. We would definately recommend this hotel.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ExpressoMartini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2010

Hotel Tugu is a wonderful hotel set by the sea with great old wooden buildings, nice gardens and a real sense of itself. The hotel is full of antiques, beautifully managed and shows an amazing attention to detail, and a character that is so often lost when hoteliers leave this type of thing to overambitous architects and interior designers.. In my opinion the hotel really isn't that expensive, when you consider what other hotels with this much going for them charge. I wasn't totally convinced about the Canngu area, which the crass developers in Bali seem to be intent on subjecting to the same overdevelopment as they have already inflicted on other areas like Seminyak, and the beach was a tad desolate and windswept for my tastes (It iseems very popular with action surfers and some sort of parachute surfing).Nevertheless, these are minor quibbles when considering the Tugu hotel itself, which you'll be hard pressed to fault. If you like this type of hotel you might also think about checking out Hotel La Taverna in Sanur, which is similar type of place and dates back to Bali's glory days in the 70's, rather less polished (but also considerably cheaper) than the Tugu, it's rather like a slightly poorer cousin to the Tugu, but it retains a similar charm and style.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheLilliputian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klang, Malaysia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2010

I'd recommend Tugu Bali to everyone who plans to stay in Bali, be it for work or leisure. No other hotels in Bali (or anywhere for that matter) would serve you authentic local dishes at authentic dining spots.. which is anywhere to your liking between the cozy countryside setting of the hotel courtyards. The food is excellent, you don't see the typical breakfast of cereal, eggs & bacon like in other hotels here.

I highly recommend Tugu Bali for the food, the romantic and exotic atmosphere and the excellent service by its staff. Thumbs up for Tugu Bali.

One thing that could be improved is the erratic wireless internet in the suite, though this may not be a problem if you're planning to get disconnected in Bali! :)

It's THE place to stay in Bali, period.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nazlihaffiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2010

Going back to Tugu is like returning home. I've been a client of this hotel for the past six years and there is no hotel in the world as special as this one. Tugu does not only perfectly capture the essence of Bali in its decor but also in its soul. The staff is beyond fantastic and you truly feel at home there.

There is no place like Tugu!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nevius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
161 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2010

My husband and I had always enjoyed the collection eclectic and sometimes strange atmosphere of the Tugu Restaurants in Jakarta and thought it might be interesting to spend our 7th year anniversary in one of their hotels.

So being the detailed planner and budgeter that I am, I had begun to email back and forth with the guest relations at Tugu Bali, preparing and scheduling everything from what daily activities we planned to do, where we planned to go and where we planned to eat around the hotel (you can request your bfast/meals anywhere on their property). Hence all this was executed by the Tugu staff without much of a problem.

This detailed planning on our part, also allowed us to be prepared with how much money we were going to spend on our short trip there. Yes, staying at Tugu is no where near moderately priced. It is definitely up on the high end scale. When you have mentally prepared for this, then when you get there you can just simply enjoy it.

We stayed for 3 nights during the NYEPI holiday period on their "Revitalization at Waroeng Jamu Spa Package". We did not go wrong in choosing the Walter Spies Pavilion as our room, as it was private, beautiful, but low keyed with a serene atmosphere all around. The massages and spa treatments we had were divine and truly put us in an sublime state. The ala carte breakfast was delicious, varied and catered to almost all tastes. The dinner on the beach and cooking class was nicely executed. We really did relaxed and unwind in our 3 day stay there.

The decor and museum like pieces/ artifacts in their public rooms/areas can be strange and even wacky wild for some, but a welcomed different feel for us, as we have stayed in various luxury resorts and 5 star hotels around the world.

So, if you have the right mind set and mood to enjoy a differently unique type of luxury, or "tired" of the usual 5 star hotel or resort feel, Tugu should be a welcomed experience since Tugu tries to present to their guests an experience that is base on rich local history and rooted deep in ancient legends. This is definitely not your typical 5 star resort...

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UmiSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canggu
1.5 mi away
THE HAVEN SUITES Bali Berawa
1.2 mi away
The Kirana Hotel Resto and Spa
0.3 mi away
Aradhana Villas
Aradhana Villas
#4 of 33 in Canggu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#9 of 142 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
13.8 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#2 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#5 of 142 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tugu Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tugu Bali

Property: Hotel Tugu Bali
Address: Jl Pantai Batu Bolong | Canggu Beach, Canggu 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Canggu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Canggu
#1 Spa Hotel in Canggu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Canggu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Tugu Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a beautiful pristine sunset beach Hotel Tugu Bali is almost an experience too surreally beautiful to be true. Built upon a passion for the romantic art, history and culture of Bali, a vast collection of Indonesian antiques adorned the hotel, blending pure tropical luxury with an out-of-the-ordinary ambience. 30 Minutes from the airport, 15 minutes from Seminyak, Tanah Lot Temple and one of Southeast Asia's best golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Tugu Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tugu Bali Hotel
Tugu Bali Canggu
Hotel Tugu Bali Canggu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing