We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bali's best kept secret”
Review of Hotel Tugu Bali

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Tugu Bali
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Canggu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2010

Hotel Tugu is an absolute charm. The rooms and grounds are amazing and the staff ever so friendly and attentive. It is a little hide away located on a beautiful quiet beach where you can watch the surfers but not too far away from the resturants and bar's of seminyak. We got married here a year ago, came back for our first year anniversary and hope to continue to return each year. We would definately recommend this hotel.

Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank ExpressoMartini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (841)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

642 - 648 of 841 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2010

Hotel Tugu is a wonderful hotel set by the sea with great old wooden buildings, nice gardens and a real sense of itself. The hotel is full of antiques, beautifully managed and shows an amazing attention to detail, and a character that is so often lost when hoteliers leave this type of thing to overambitous architects and interior designers.. In my opinion the hotel really isn't that expensive, when you consider what other hotels with this much going for them charge. I wasn't totally convinced about the Canngu area, which the crass developers in Bali seem to be intent on subjecting to the same overdevelopment as they have already inflicted on other areas like Seminyak, and the beach was a tad desolate and windswept for my tastes (It iseems very popular with action surfers and some sort of parachute surfing).Nevertheless, these are minor quibbles when considering the Tugu hotel itself, which you'll be hard pressed to fault. If you like this type of hotel you might also think about checking out Hotel La Taverna in Sanur, which is similar type of place and dates back to Bali's glory days in the 70's, rather less polished (but also considerably cheaper) than the Tugu, it's rather like a slightly poorer cousin to the Tugu, but it retains a similar charm and style.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheLilliputian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2010

I'd recommend Tugu Bali to everyone who plans to stay in Bali, be it for work or leisure. No other hotels in Bali (or anywhere for that matter) would serve you authentic local dishes at authentic dining spots.. which is anywhere to your liking between the cozy countryside setting of the hotel courtyards. The food is excellent, you don't see the typical breakfast of cereal, eggs & bacon like in other hotels here.

I highly recommend Tugu Bali for the food, the romantic and exotic atmosphere and the excellent service by its staff. Thumbs up for Tugu Bali.

One thing that could be improved is the erratic wireless internet in the suite, though this may not be a problem if you're planning to get disconnected in Bali! :)

It's THE place to stay in Bali, period.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nazlihaffiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2010

Going back to Tugu is like returning home. I've been a client of this hotel for the past six years and there is no hotel in the world as special as this one. Tugu does not only perfectly capture the essence of Bali in its decor but also in its soul. The staff is beyond fantastic and you truly feel at home there.

There is no place like Tugu!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nevius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2010

My husband and I had always enjoyed the collection eclectic and sometimes strange atmosphere of the Tugu Restaurants in Jakarta and thought it might be interesting to spend our 7th year anniversary in one of their hotels.

So being the detailed planner and budgeter that I am, I had begun to email back and forth with the guest relations at Tugu Bali, preparing and scheduling everything from what daily activities we planned to do, where we planned to go and where we planned to eat around the hotel (you can request your bfast/meals anywhere on their property). Hence all this was executed by the Tugu staff without much of a problem.

This detailed planning on our part, also allowed us to be prepared with how much money we were going to spend on our short trip there. Yes, staying at Tugu is no where near moderately priced. It is definitely up on the high end scale. When you have mentally prepared for this, then when you get there you can just simply enjoy it.

We stayed for 3 nights during the NYEPI holiday period on their "Revitalization at Waroeng Jamu Spa Package". We did not go wrong in choosing the Walter Spies Pavilion as our room, as it was private, beautiful, but low keyed with a serene atmosphere all around. The massages and spa treatments we had were divine and truly put us in an sublime state. The ala carte breakfast was delicious, varied and catered to almost all tastes. The dinner on the beach and cooking class was nicely executed. We really did relaxed and unwind in our 3 day stay there.

The decor and museum like pieces/ artifacts in their public rooms/areas can be strange and even wacky wild for some, but a welcomed different feel for us, as we have stayed in various luxury resorts and 5 star hotels around the world.

So, if you have the right mind set and mood to enjoy a differently unique type of luxury, or "tired" of the usual 5 star hotel or resort feel, Tugu should be a welcomed experience since Tugu tries to present to their guests an experience that is base on rich local history and rooted deep in ancient legends. This is definitely not your typical 5 star resort...

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UmiSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

We stayed at Tugu Bali for several nights at the beginning of our honeymoon in Bali. Despite the weather, we had a lovely stay there. The room (we were in a villa) was incredibly spacious and pretty, and we really enjoyed the privacy and the nice touches. The rooms have lots of antiques in them, but they're not stuffy.

Breakfast each morning was delicious, and enormous, and dinners were very good as well. The whole hotel has a really nice quiet vibe.

Service was very gracious and warm - despite a snafu with a dinner reservation (they told us they made one, they actually didn't, so we went on an hour drive in traffic for naught...). We did the market tour and cooking lesson, which was truly amazing. We absolutely loved the market in Denpasar, and cooking in the outdoor pavillion at Tugu.

It was a great introduction to Bali, and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2010

Hotel Tugu is an amazing place. After a long series of flights from LAX, we began our Bali adventure with a stay at this memorable resort. After spending 4 nights at Hotel Tugu, we couldn’t imagine a more perfect place to recover from jet lag and drift into the Bali vibe.

Always smiling, the friendly resort staff are wonderfully attentive. They genuinely attend to all of your needs in unobtrusive manner and with typical Balinese grace. Among the Balinese, once you become acquainted, you are considered a friend.

The resort is enclosed in an intimate compound, located near a popular surfing beach. Low rise accommodations are privately interspersed within beautifully landscaped grounds and meandering pathways. The major shopping and night life scenes are located in Seminyak, about 20 minutes away.

Take advantage of all the hotel dining options because the food is delectable and the service is outstanding. Although the restaurant is located in the attractive, open air lobby, the resort staff will accommodate any of your dining location requests. In addition to room dining, you can dine on the beach, the pool area or any of numerious and unique private dining spots on the property, including a 300 year old temple. We even signed up for the resort’s Indonesian cooking class, which included a trip to the bustling and colorful Denpasar Central Market.

If you’re looking for a small and intimate Balinese experience that is away from the crowds, Hotel Tugu really delivers. It’s a great place to relax, enjoy quiet privacy and experience great Balinese food, all within a stunningly beautiful environment that feels like authentic Bali.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shuttereyeguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canggu
0.5 mi away
THE HAVEN SUITES Bali Berawa
2.5 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#19 of 148 in Seminyak
3,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#11 of 148 in Seminyak
1,717 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#4 of 148 in Seminyak
1,604 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ngeluwungan Boutique Villa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tugu Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tugu Bali

Address: Jl Pantai Batu Bolong | Canggu Beach, Canggu 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > North Kuta > Canggu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Canggu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Canggu
#2 Spa Hotel in Canggu
Price Range: $261 - $511 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Tugu Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a beautiful pristine sunset beach Hotel Tugu Bali is almost an experience too surreally beautiful to be true. Built upon a passion for the romantic art, history and culture of Bali, a vast collection of Indonesian antiques adorned the hotel, blending pure tropical luxury with an out-of-the-ordinary ambience. 30 Minutes from the airport, 15 minutes from Seminyak, Tanah Lot Temple and one of Southeast Asia's best golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Tugu Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tugu Bali Hotel
Tugu Bali Canggu
Hotel Tugu Bali Canggu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing