We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique, Different, Private, Prepare to Spend money, then prepare to enjoy it :-)”
Review of Hotel Tugu Bali

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Tugu Bali
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Canggu
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta
Level Contributor
161 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Unique, Different, Private, Prepare to Spend money, then prepare to enjoy it :-)”
Reviewed August 28, 2010

My husband and I had always enjoyed the collection eclectic and sometimes strange atmosphere of the Tugu Restaurants in Jakarta and thought it might be interesting to spend our 7th year anniversary in one of their hotels.

So being the detailed planner and budgeter that I am, I had begun to email back and forth with the guest relations at Tugu Bali, preparing and scheduling everything from what daily activities we planned to do, where we planned to go and where we planned to eat around the hotel (you can request your bfast/meals anywhere on their property). Hence all this was executed by the Tugu staff without much of a problem.

This detailed planning on our part, also allowed us to be prepared with how much money we were going to spend on our short trip there. Yes, staying at Tugu is no where near moderately priced. It is definitely up on the high end scale. When you have mentally prepared for this, then when you get there you can just simply enjoy it.

We stayed for 3 nights during the NYEPI holiday period on their "Revitalization at Waroeng Jamu Spa Package". We did not go wrong in choosing the Walter Spies Pavilion as our room, as it was private, beautiful, but low keyed with a serene atmosphere all around. The massages and spa treatments we had were divine and truly put us in an sublime state. The ala carte breakfast was delicious, varied and catered to almost all tastes. The dinner on the beach and cooking class was nicely executed. We really did relaxed and unwind in our 3 day stay there.

The decor and museum like pieces/ artifacts in their public rooms/areas can be strange and even wacky wild for some, but a welcomed different feel for us, as we have stayed in various luxury resorts and 5 star hotels around the world.

So, if you have the right mind set and mood to enjoy a differently unique type of luxury, or "tired" of the usual 5 star hotel or resort feel, Tugu should be a welcomed experience since Tugu tries to present to their guests an experience that is base on rich local history and rooted deep in ancient legends. This is definitely not your typical 5 star resort...

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UmiSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    638
    81
    14
    10
    5
See reviews for
118
427
43
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2010

We stayed at Tugu Bali for several nights at the beginning of our honeymoon in Bali. Despite the weather, we had a lovely stay there. The room (we were in a villa) was incredibly spacious and pretty, and we really enjoyed the privacy and the nice touches. The rooms have lots of antiques in them, but they're not stuffy.

Breakfast each morning was delicious, and enormous, and dinners were very good as well. The whole hotel has a really nice quiet vibe.

Service was very gracious and warm - despite a snafu with a dinner reservation (they told us they made one, they actually didn't, so we went on an hour drive in traffic for naught...). We did the market tour and cooking lesson, which was truly amazing. We absolutely loved the market in Denpasar, and cooking in the outdoor pavillion at Tugu.

It was a great introduction to Bali, and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2010

Hotel Tugu is an amazing place. After a long series of flights from LAX, we began our Bali adventure with a stay at this memorable resort. After spending 4 nights at Hotel Tugu, we couldn’t imagine a more perfect place to recover from jet lag and drift into the Bali vibe.

Always smiling, the friendly resort staff are wonderfully attentive. They genuinely attend to all of your needs in unobtrusive manner and with typical Balinese grace. Among the Balinese, once you become acquainted, you are considered a friend.

The resort is enclosed in an intimate compound, located near a popular surfing beach. Low rise accommodations are privately interspersed within beautifully landscaped grounds and meandering pathways. The major shopping and night life scenes are located in Seminyak, about 20 minutes away.

Take advantage of all the hotel dining options because the food is delectable and the service is outstanding. Although the restaurant is located in the attractive, open air lobby, the resort staff will accommodate any of your dining location requests. In addition to room dining, you can dine on the beach, the pool area or any of numerious and unique private dining spots on the property, including a 300 year old temple. We even signed up for the resort’s Indonesian cooking class, which included a trip to the bustling and colorful Denpasar Central Market.

If you’re looking for a small and intimate Balinese experience that is away from the crowds, Hotel Tugu really delivers. It’s a great place to relax, enjoy quiet privacy and experience great Balinese food, all within a stunningly beautiful environment that feels like authentic Bali.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shuttereyeguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2010

We were staying in Seminyak, but had heard from a friends that it was worth the 30min drive to go up to Hotel Tugu for dinner. Our friends had tried the Warung restaurant, but we decided to have a traditional Rijsttafel, so we hired a car and driver and set off to watch the sunset, then eat.
Upon entering the lobby, you are struck by the facinating collection of antiques and furniture the owner has amassed and that are casually displayed throughout the public areas. As we wanted to see the sunset, we were shown to the beach, where the waiter served a bottle of wine we had ordered, while we reclined on sun-loungers watching the spectacle.
After sunset, we went back into the main part of the hotel - this time to a re-constructed centuary old Javanese house, where our dinner was to be served. This place was truely amazing, and the certerpiece was a dining table which could easily seat 12, that had a 10cms thick slab of marble as it's top. And we had it all to ourselves! Here we would have our 13 course Rijsttafel dinner, and what a delicious experience it was too!! Beautiful, unusual spicey flavours that came at a nice slow pace, which left us ample time to digest between courses....perfect service.
This really was one of the most special and unique dining experiences, and we can't wait to return. So, if you enjoy authentic flavours in astonishing surrounds, go and have a Rijsttafel dinner at Hotel Tugu....I promise you won't be disappointed.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LizandAlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2010

Hotel Tugu Bali is an inspiring and breathtakingly beautiful property situated on in the Indian Ocean in Canggu Beach, Bali. During our stay, we experienced peace and tranquility while exploring the grounds and interacting with the warm and welcoming staff. We were also continually marveling at the meticulously kept grounds that reflect the colorful and vibrant Balinese culture. Hotel Tugu Bali also provides a cultural educational experience in the various rooms assembled around the lobby which honor the Balinese history and influence of the Chinese and Dutch cultures. The cuisine at Hotel Tugu Bali is unparalleled in both flavor, diversity, and service. The breakfast, high tea, and dinners alike are unbelievably wonderful and guests can choose to dine at various sites on the property. Hotel Tugu Bali boasts a mystical lotus pond, lush grounds, a beautiful beach front property, an immaculate fresh water pool, and the most gorgeous lobby we have ever seen. Entering the lobby is truly a transcending experience, and echoes the beauty and magic that is sure to be experienced during a stay at Hotel Tugu Bali.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gratefultravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2010

LOVED every aspect of this hotel. I had an amazing time there. Staff were excellent.
******

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALAdrums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2010

Packed with romance and historical character, this very charming hotel and its superb and friendly staff made our holiday 5 star+++ experience.
Something beautiful reveals itself behind every corner of the many pathways you can choose to get around this stunning place.
Is a perfect getaway if you want to do little or nothing at all, or do it all during the day and come back to a different world to relax and reflect on your day.
Although we enjoyed our daily adventures on the island we were really looking forward to coming back to our home for the week, to dine in a location of our choice ( anywhere in the property) , and they are many, indoors and outside.
We loved the daily spa experiences and the range of traditional Balinese treatments on their list.
We dined at the hotel nearly every day , and enjoyed the great traditional specialties the menu has to offer, linked to Bali's history.
Always there when needed but never overbearing, the staff are extraordinary and their attention to detail is impressive. They often went out of their way to make us feel special. Unforgettable.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LolaDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canggu
0.5 mi away
THE HAVEN SUITES Bali Berawa
1.1 mi away
Lv8 Resort Hotel
Lv8 Resort Hotel
#12 of 35 in Canggu
220 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#7 of 143 in Seminyak
1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ngeluwungan Boutique Villa
2.8 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#9 of 143 in Seminyak
1,603 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#3 of 143 in Seminyak
1,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tugu Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tugu Bali

Property: Hotel Tugu Bali
Address: Jl Pantai Batu Bolong | Canggu Beach, Canggu 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Canggu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Canggu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Canggu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Canggu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Tugu Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a beautiful pristine sunset beach Hotel Tugu Bali is almost an experience too surreally beautiful to be true. Built upon a passion for the romantic art, history and culture of Bali, a vast collection of Indonesian antiques adorned the hotel, blending pure tropical luxury with an out-of-the-ordinary ambience. 30 Minutes from the airport, 15 minutes from Seminyak, Tanah Lot Temple and one of Southeast Asia's best golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Tugu Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tugu Bali Hotel
Tugu Bali Canggu
Hotel Tugu Bali Canggu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing