We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Tugu Bali
Nearby Hotels
The Kirana Hotel Resto and Spa(Canggu)(Great Value!)
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Legong Keraton Beach Hotel(Canggu)(Great Value!)
$56
$40
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aradhana Villas(Canggu)(Great Value!)
$158
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ngeluwungan Boutique Villa(Canggu)(Great Value!)
$75
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Theanna Eco Villa and Spa(Canggu)(Great Value!)
$156
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Berawa(Canggu)(Great Value!)
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$27
$23
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
FRii Bali Echo Beach, Hotel(Canggu)(Great Value!)
$46
$40
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amore Villas(Canggu)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (912)
Filter reviews
912 results
Traveler rating
779
95
19
11
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
779
95
19
11
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrejang suitededari suitelotus pondwalter spiespuri le mayeurcultural eveningchinese templeunique hotelindonesian artprivate plunge poolhotel groundscooking classsunken bathour honeymoonfruit basketfour poster bedthe hotel manager
Filter
Updating list...
500 - 505 of 912 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Hotel Tugu at Canggu beach Bali is a unique and beautiful place. The owners have constructed a hotel that reflects their passion for Indonesian history, culture and art.
My wife and I have stayed in many places in Bali and Tugu has certainly found a place in our hearts.
The staff are competent, warm and welcoming in a way that only Balinese can.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartaEscribanoMartin, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Dear Greg

Thank you for posting a great review about our Tugu on TripAdvisor. It deeply touches us to learn that you had unforgettable moments in our Canngu home. We all share a true passion for the culture & history of this beautiful island and it makes us proud to know that our guests believe in the same uniqueness of our home, Tugu.

Please count on us as your family in Bali! We will be delighted to welcome you back & please do not hesitate to contact us for any assistance you may require at anytime.

With warmest and fondest thoughts of you,

Marta Escribano Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Wonderful hotel with amazing rooms, antiques and cultural charms. Very friendly, helpful people who made our stay truly wonderful. Quiet hotel great for a relaxing holiday. Good location with easy access to variety of restaurants in a nice area away from the craziness of kuta and seminyak.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartaEscribanoMartin, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Dear Jessica,

Thank you so much for leaving such a lovely review of Tugu on TripAdvisor. Your kind words describe in detail the true feeling of our Balinese home and we are pleased to learn that you had a wonderful and an enjoyable experience with us. We hope you will think of us as your family in Indonesia!

We hope that with all the experiences you had with us will bring you back to our resort in the near future on your next visit to Bali.

The entire Tugu Family will be very happy to welcome you again anytime!

Warmest regards from Canngu,

Marta Escribano Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

I have to admit, I am a Tugu fan. I have now stayed at all 4 properties. The Hotel in Bali is dreamy and romantic beyond imagination. I loved the huge red billowing silk curtains in the spacious lobby which leads to the dining room. If you are looking for a romantic stay - look no further. Our room was huge, with a round copper bath and massage table. The grounds are exquisite and I loved my morning runs on the wild open beach. Above all, this hotel is a genuine Indonesian stay. It's like a walk through history and gives you a great appreciation of the living culture that exists in this country. Gracious service and very personable. I will be back.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank stephtravelwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartaEscribanoMartin, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Dear Steph,

Thank you very much for posting such a great review! We are touched beyond words about the loyalty you have for our Tugu family, we could not be more grateful for the magic moments we have shared in our hotel. We are truly honored to have served you with that special “Tugu Romance” and delighted to know that we both feel so moved by the genuine culture and history of this island. It deeply motivates all of us at Tugu to continue our quest to deliver that uniqueness of this Balinese heaven.

We will be anxiously waiting for your next trip to Canggu! Please do not hesitate contact us for any assistance you may need, from this end.

With our best wishes,

Marta Escribano Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Renewed our marriage vows last week at Tugu and we were totally blown away at how wonderful everything was. We stayed at the Puri Le Mayeur suite - it was fantastic. Loved the privacy and private outdoor dining area, the surrounding lotus pond (with hungry crazy fish), the private pool...the photo's of this place on the hotel website do not do it justice. Great menu - We must have drunk them dry in red wine - they do have a good wine list! Excellent concept about dining wherever you wish - whether it was a private little room or outdoors...just about anywhere is no trouble. But the greatest thing about Tugu is their staff - it is like they are psychic and know what we wanted and when we wanted it. Sorry to leave the place but you have to return to rality someday!

Room Tip: Lash out and get the Le Mayeur suite even if only for a couple of nights!
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartaEscribanoMartin, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2014

Dear Chris

Thank you so much for the time you took to post such a great review of your experience with us during your anniversary & vowel renewal in Bali.

It was such a pleasure having you and your husband as part of our Tugu family in such a special moment. The ceremony on the beach was beautiful and we were all blessed by your joy.

We are also very touched by the kind word you shared on our food, the suite and mostly our staff. I will certainly pass on your positive comments to my team.

We are already preparing for your next visit...and stocking up the cellar! We all hope to welcome you back very soon here in Bali. You are both truly missed in our Canngu family.

With all our good wishes,

Marta Escribano Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Wonderful small hotel with same owner as Tugu Malang. Hotel consists huge central Sala with wonderful rooms around it filled with Balinese antiques. Our room, Walter Spies, celebrated the influence on Bali today by a late 1920's German painter who lived and painted on the island. Suite is large and also contains works of art.

Hotel needs to be careful however since an edge of " tatiness" is beginning to creep in (plaster skims coming off external walls, pool tiles and surround not as they should be pool roof badly needs cleaning, etc) didn't spoil our enjoyment but….

Restaurant food excellent with an extensive choice of menu available 24 hours per day which we were able to enjoy either in the lovely dinning area or in our room. Wine list was a revelation too with some amazing choices. Wonderful friendly staff who couldn't seem to do enough to make our stay truly memorable.

Access to sea was reasonable, however this is an area where a walk along the shore is much safer than facing those crashing waves the local surfers enjoy so much.
.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Friggykeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartaEscribanoMartin, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2014

Dear Keith

Thank you very much for posting an impressive review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your valuable feedback and are deeply encouraged by your kind words and comments on our resort.

It is a pleasure to know that we share the same passion for arts and culture in Bali and that our beautiful collection made your stay a memorable one. We also thank you for highlighting our restaurant and wine list which is of so much importance to us when guiding our guests through a real Balinese journey.

Of course, we take good note of your comments about the maintenance improvements to be made in our Walter Spies Suite, and rest reassured that we are already undergoing changes in that respect.

Keith, we are looking forward to welcoming you back again for your next visit in Bali.

With warmest regards,

Muchas gracias


Marta Escribano Martin


Marta Escribano Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews