We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”
Review of Hotel Tugu Bali

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Tugu Bali
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Canggu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 11, 2014

One of a kind hotel in amazing Bali. We had a very memorable stay at the hotel. Staff is very warm, well mannered and always smiling. The hotel itself is one of a kind, with well preserved artifacts and museum like layout. Lot of history and culture in hotel which is what we were looking forward to. The hotel grounds are lovely to take a stroll. Love the idea of "eat where you please". food and drinks are excellent. Rooms are well maintained and clean, with fish ponds in the lower level rooms, something which we found very unique. We were lucky to be there for a traditional Balinese dance and dinner night organized by the Hotel. Good to see that the Hotel Management is taking efforts to preserve the Balinese traditions and culture. The hotel staff also baked us a honeymoon cake which we really appreciated. Only negative was the weather, got really really hot to step out during the day, however the hotel grounds make up for it.
Special mention to Maggie, the GM, very warm and helpful and always smiling, took us around the hotel and briefed us about the collections.
Thank you Tugu Bali, will definitely return to the hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shubham996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoshanFernando, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear Shubham,
Thank you very much for posting an impressive review on TripAdvisor. We are appreciative of your valuable feedback and are deeply encouraged by your kind words and comments on our resort. The most importantly we are very happy that you have had a great time.
We all appreciate the wonderful words you have mentioned about little Tugu, particularly about our colorful antiques, ambiance, cuisine, staff & dining experiences. We are so happy to have such great comments from our dear guests, which give us tremendous motivation & happiness in our hearts.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back again for your next visit in Bali.
With warmest and fondest thoughts of you,
Roshan Fernando.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (835)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

446 - 452 of 835 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2014

Our stay at Tugu was fabulous. We felt like we were part of a family, living in a Balinese village. The setting and grounds were beautifully maintained with secret pockets and gardens filled with antiques and fish ponds. All the staff were attentive, warm and accommodating. The rooms and buildings were amazing. Loved the 'Surfing in Style' package. Excellent and varied menu. Best chai tea I've ever had! A long way from Canada, but I hope we can go back sometime.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Menoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoshanFernando, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear Menoo,
Thank you so much for taking your time off to post a review in the TripAdvisor. What a pleasure to learn that you have enjoyed such a pleasant stay at little Tugu! We thank you for sharing your great feedback with us and for recognizing our effort. All of us at Tugu Bali will say “big thank you" from the bottom of our hearts.
We will be happy to welcome you again anytime. Please do not hesitate to contact us for any assistance you may require from our end.
With best wishes,
Roshan Fernando.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

The hotel is fabulous . The rooms , the service , the antiques , the food .. The moment you leave it by the back door leading to the beach you are instantly aware you are in a 3rd world country , and the magic disappears .
As I was heading for the beach I was greeted by a local exhibitionist , on a bike .
Small matter ( no pun intended ).
The beach was a terrible disappointment . Filthy beyond words . This is not what I remembered from my previous visit in 2008 when I could walk all the way to Tanah Lot .
I was told it was rainy season ... Well all you have to do is to have cleaners from Tugu and neighboring hotels constantly cleaning it . Excuse me it is 5 star !
I was amazed walking through what could only be described as a garbage dump and see people there " sunbathing "!!!
When I booked Tugu I knew I would have fabulous lodging and meals . But my dream was to walk for hours along the beach which sadly was not possible .

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malgorzata604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoshanFernando, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Malgorzata,
We thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor. We remember your stay well and we are sorry to hear that you have not been pleased with the condition of the beach; please accept our sincere apologies for any inconveniences you may have faced in this matter. Unfortunately this problem still exists in some parts of the island due to rainy season, despite many efforts of the hotel staff, surfers associations, Rotary club involvement and the local community , working hard to remedy this situation.
However, we will triple our frequencies to clean our part of the beach area & will get involved with all other well wishers to make positive results for the future.
Nevertheless, we are pleased to know that you were able to have a pleasant stay with us overall and we are looking forward welcome you back again for your next visit in Bali!
With best wishes,
Roshan Fernando.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Despite the less-than-ideal rainy season weather we had a truly wonderful and memorable stay at Hotel Tugu Bali. The suite was one of the most beautiful rooms we've ever stayed in, with an enclosed veranda featuring a sunken bath and views over the gardens out to sea.
The decor was traditional yet stylish with antique furniture and artifacts everywhere. The small pool area was intimate and beautiful and the spa was exquisite and the treatments relaxing and effective.
But what really made Hotel Tugu Bali stand out was the service. It was unobtrusive yet seamless and delightful. From the wonderful fruit platters at breakfast to the tiny delicious sweet treats at afternoon tea, everything was delivered with charming smiles and genuine enjoyment. The Balinese people are truly special but the staff here were in a league of their own. Nothing was too much trouble.
There were no real negatives except that it was very quiet, even in the week before Christmas so the bar was deserted by mid-evening. However, the beach bar next door (actually owned by the hotel) has live music most nights and was much more lively.
We stayed in three hotels in Bali this trip, but Tugu is the one to which we'll return.

Room Tip: our corner Rendang suite had a wonderful view. We preferred this to the ground floor suites which ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lazzagear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoshanFernando, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear Lesley,
Thank you for taking your time off to post such an inspiring comment about our resort, how you have expressed your impression of our little resort with such finer details of service and the “Tugu touch “experience. I was delighted to personally convey your appreciation to all our staff members, they have read your review and I would like to inform you that you have brought huge smiles on their faces this morning.
We are always committed to serve you with that extra smile from the heart. In your own words " Unobtrusive yet seamless and delightful". We want you to consider our resort as your own home. We are proud of being a part of the Tugu family because of happy guests such as you.
Our mission is simple, to provide you with that extra special, pleasant experience while visiting in Indonesia, for you to remember even after you return back to your country of residence.
Lesley, may we thank you once again for sharing your personal experience, we will be anxiously waiting for your next trip to Hotel Tugu Bali. Please do not hesitate contact us for any assistance you may need from this end.
With our best wishes,
Roshan Fernando.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

This hotel is just amazing. The location, the chalets, decoration, food, service, attention to detail, attention to children... It is just out of this world. If we go back to Bali, I will ensure we stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blue-Zebra-Island
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoshanFernando, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear Blue-Zebra,
Thank you for the time you took to post such a great comment of your experience with us!
I will pass on your positive comments about the food, the service, special care for children , etc. to my team... Of course we would be delighted to have you stay with us on your next trip to Bali in order for you to truly experience the "Tugu touch" care once again.
with best wishes,
Roshan Fernando.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

This hotel was truly paradise. We did the dining temptations package and have never in my life had such a magnificent dinner in the red dining room. This was like staying in a beautiful museum, with exquisite food and truly helpful staff. We were having a problem with our next hotel on our trip and the desk staff connected us by phone and were supportive while we had to change our next booking at the last minute. Took a tour of the extra special suite overlooking the lily pond - this is where we will stay when we come back someday with our kids and future grandkid(s).

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Winchestermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoshanFernando, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Winchestermom,
Thank you very much for posting an impressive review on TripAdvisor. We are appreciative of your valuable feedback and are deeply encouraged by your kind words and comments on our resort. The most importantly we are very happy that you have had a great time.
We all appreciate the wonderful words you have mentioned about dining temptation package, particularly about our Bele Sutra dining room ( a dismantled Kang Xi period temple from 1706 which has been reconstructed ), the cuisine, staff & impressive facilities. We are so happy to have such great comments from our dear guests, which give us tremendous motivation & happiness in our hearts.
We will be delighted to welcome you back & please do not hesitate to contact us for any assistance you may require at anytime.
With warmest and fondest thoughts of you,
Roshan Fernando.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

we stayed her for part of our honeymoon and found the place to be simply lovely. the staff are warm, welcoming, caring and attentive. the décor is beautiful and unique. this place feels like a combination of authentic culturally attuned museum and incredible hotel. very funky and very cool. the hotel located steps from a great surf beach, but it's far from the hustle of the more touristy beaches further south (you can get to those places easily by taxi). our room was incredible. the hotel grounds were lovely to stroll through. the food was excellent. and you can choose to have your own private dining experience. we had dinner for two on the beach with our own waiter while watching sunset and surfers catch their last waves! so fun! the hotel staff even baked us a cake for our honeymoon and another cake for my birthday! they were so thoughtful! we were always greeted with a warm smile by the staff. a great place to stay in Bali!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wishiwaselsewhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoshanFernando, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Dear Tugu guest,
Thank you very much for posting an impressive review on TripAdvisor. We are appreciative of your valuable feedback and are deeply encouraged by your kind words and comments on our hotel. The most importantly we are very happy that you have had a great time. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you specially on your birthday & thank you so much for been with us.
We all appreciate the wonderful words you have mentioned about little Tugu, particularly about our colorful antiques, beach dinner, cuisine, staff & impressive facilities. We are so happy to have such great comments from our dear guests, which give us tremendous motivation & happiness in our hearts.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back again for your next visit in Bali.
With warmest and fondest thoughts of you,
Roshan Fernando.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canggu
0.5 mi away
THE HAVEN SUITES Bali Berawa
2.5 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
2.8 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#11 of 148 in Seminyak
1,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#19 of 148 in Seminyak
3,502 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lv8 Resort Hotel
Lv8 Resort Hotel
#16 of 40 in Canggu
273 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#7 of 148 in Seminyak
1,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tugu Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tugu Bali

Address: Jl Pantai Batu Bolong | Canggu Beach, Canggu 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > North Kuta > Canggu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Canggu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Canggu
#2 Spa Hotel in Canggu
Price Range: $289 - $512 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Tugu Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a beautiful pristine sunset beach Hotel Tugu Bali is almost an experience too surreally beautiful to be true. Built upon a passion for the romantic art, history and culture of Bali, a vast collection of Indonesian antiques adorned the hotel, blending pure tropical luxury with an out-of-the-ordinary ambience. 30 Minutes from the airport, 15 minutes from Seminyak, Tanah Lot Temple and one of Southeast Asia's best golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Tugu Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tugu Bali Hotel
Tugu Bali Canggu
Hotel Tugu Bali Canggu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing