We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing in every aspect”
Review of Hotel Tugu Bali

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Tugu Bali
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Canggu
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Malawi National Park, Malawi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing in every aspect”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

This hotel is just amazing. The location, the chalets, decoration, food, service, attention to detail, attention to children... It is just out of this world. If we go back to Bali, I will ensure we stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blue-Zebra-Island
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoshanFernando, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Blue-Zebra,
Thank you for the time you took to post such a great comment of your experience with us!
I will pass on your positive comments about the food, the service, special care for children , etc. to my team... Of course we would be delighted to have you stay with us on your next trip to Bali in order for you to truly experience the "Tugu touch" care once again.
with best wishes,
Roshan Fernando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    638
    81
    14
    10
    5
See reviews for
118
427
43
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was truly paradise. We did the dining temptations package and have never in my life had such a magnificent dinner in the red dining room. This was like staying in a beautiful museum, with exquisite food and truly helpful staff. We were having a problem with our next hotel on our trip and the desk staff connected us by phone and were supportive while we had to change our next booking at the last minute. Took a tour of the extra special suite overlooking the lily pond - this is where we will stay when we come back someday with our kids and future grandkid(s).

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Winchestermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoshanFernando, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Winchestermom,
Thank you very much for posting an impressive review on TripAdvisor. We are appreciative of your valuable feedback and are deeply encouraged by your kind words and comments on our resort. The most importantly we are very happy that you have had a great time.
We all appreciate the wonderful words you have mentioned about dining temptation package, particularly about our Bele Sutra dining room ( a dismantled Kang Xi period temple from 1706 which has been reconstructed ), the cuisine, staff & impressive facilities. We are so happy to have such great comments from our dear guests, which give us tremendous motivation & happiness in our hearts.
We will be delighted to welcome you back & please do not hesitate to contact us for any assistance you may require at anytime.
With warmest and fondest thoughts of you,
Roshan Fernando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

we stayed her for part of our honeymoon and found the place to be simply lovely. the staff are warm, welcoming, caring and attentive. the décor is beautiful and unique. this place feels like a combination of authentic culturally attuned museum and incredible hotel. very funky and very cool. the hotel located steps from a great surf beach, but it's far from the hustle of the more touristy beaches further south (you can get to those places easily by taxi). our room was incredible. the hotel grounds were lovely to stroll through. the food was excellent. and you can choose to have your own private dining experience. we had dinner for two on the beach with our own waiter while watching sunset and surfers catch their last waves! so fun! the hotel staff even baked us a cake for our honeymoon and another cake for my birthday! they were so thoughtful! we were always greeted with a warm smile by the staff. a great place to stay in Bali!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wishiwaselsewhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoshanFernando, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Tugu guest,
Thank you very much for posting an impressive review on TripAdvisor. We are appreciative of your valuable feedback and are deeply encouraged by your kind words and comments on our hotel. The most importantly we are very happy that you have had a great time. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you specially on your birthday & thank you so much for been with us.
We all appreciate the wonderful words you have mentioned about little Tugu, particularly about our colorful antiques, beach dinner, cuisine, staff & impressive facilities. We are so happy to have such great comments from our dear guests, which give us tremendous motivation & happiness in our hearts.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back again for your next visit in Bali.
With warmest and fondest thoughts of you,
Roshan Fernando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Hotel Tugu is a place unlike any other hotel we have stayed. It is very secluded and private with a beautiful Balianese feel. During our stay at this unique hotel we had a very restful time. The beautiful Balianese people helped to make our holiday at Tugu very special.

Room Tip: Our suite was fabulous, felt like you were in a tree house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roslyn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoshanFernando, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Roslyn,
Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience with us at the resort through Trip Advisor.
We were very pleased to learn that you had a restful time and had an opportunity to favor Balinese hospitality with that special "Tugu touch" care and that we contributed in some small way in making your stay a pleasant and memorable one.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back again for your next visit in Bali.
With warmest and fondest thoughts of you,
Roshan Fernando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 20, 2014

First, I've never experienced a staff that was as kind and attentive at Hotel Tugu. Wonderful people in every sense of the word. The facility is mind-blowingly beautiful and you'll realize what I'm talking about within 2 minutes of being there. Our room, one of the suites, was big enough to live in with views of the ocean and every amenity you'd want in a place like this. Never went to the spa, but everything else about the place was great - close to the beach, great restaurant, and just a really pleasant time altogether. I'd really be nit-picking if I had anything bad to say about Hotel Tugu.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbar41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoshanFernando, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Jbar,
Thank you very much for posting your review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to read your positive feedback and are grateful that you share your impressions! We all appreciate the lovely words you have mentioned about little Tugu, particularly about our impressive location, our restaurant, staff, & impressive facilities. We are so happy to have such great comments from our dear guests, which give us tremendous motivation & happiness in our hearts
We are looking forward to welcoming you back again for your next visit in Bali.
With warmest and fondest thoughts of you,
Roshan Fernando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I have to agree with a lot of what other reviewers say - a nice place, pretty good staff, but not for everyone. We came here from an Aman property in Bali, and it's hard to compete with that so they were at an automatic disadvantage. Our welcome wasn't so good - they didn't really explain the welcome drink or the massage aspect, and then couldn't provide our welcome massage until the next day (not really a welcome massage then, is it?) That said, the service snafu seemed isolated to one particular staffer who may have been new and learning the ropes. Everyone else was really friendly & helpful. The facilities are cool - but kind of dark, as one reviewer said. That's not my cup of tea - but if you're into artifacts & that genre, you may love it! The place grew on me - the food & the afternoon tea were good. Walk up to Echo Beach and enjoy a sunset cocktail. The pool is nice & the massages (especially if you can do it outdoors, and try to get Widia!) were great! Also, I took advantage of private yoga a couple of mornings, and really enjoyed that. Excellent dinners ... the food was surprisingly good. Have fun! We loved the beach (although pretty rough right near the hotel - again, walk to Echo Beach where you can swim a little easier) and Bali is a worthy destination. Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KLBWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoshanFernando, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear KLB,
Many thanks for taking the time to provide valuable feedback pertaining to your recent stay in Hotel Tugu Bali, much appreciated. We are happy to hear that you had great impression of our staff, dinners & Spa treatments & private yoga lesions. Etc.
We also thank you for posting your constructive feedback and comments; we do take your observations serious and we have already discussed some of your concerns at the daily briefing this morning. We always want to ensure that 100% comfort to all our dear guests.
At Tugu we aim to make every stay as perfect as possible, and whatever had happened with your stay, we will always thrive to be better in the future, so once again we thank you for your comments.
We are certainly confident in our ability to restore your loyalty to Tugu hotels and we look forward to this opportunity in the future.
With best wishes,
Roshan Fernando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Very good hotel, with very clean rooms. Staff very friendly and helpful, the hotel is full of history of Bali which is worth to see on its own. staff has a great knowledge on all the artifacts and are very whiling to share this.
Minor point the facilities for kids are a little bit on the poor side.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank M123B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoshanFernando, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Scubamikeb,
Thank you very much for posting a review on TripAdvisor. We are very appreciative of your valuable feedback and are deeply encouraged by your comments of our services and the concept of our resort.
As for the children facilities, actually there are more options than just the pool area or our beach. We have also opened a new outlet called Kakilima recently, with a beautiful vast green lawn and sunset view with children play area filled with outdoor games & equipment. We regret that this was not noticed by you & not had an opportunity to explore this area.
We will be so happy to serve you again & we are looking forward to welcome you back soon.
With warmest and fondest thoughts of you,
Roshan Fernando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canggu
0.5 mi away
THE HAVEN SUITES Bali Berawa
1.1 mi away
Lv8 Resort Hotel
Lv8 Resort Hotel
#12 of 35 in Canggu
220 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#7 of 143 in Seminyak
1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ngeluwungan Boutique Villa
2.8 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#9 of 143 in Seminyak
1,603 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#3 of 143 in Seminyak
1,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tugu Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tugu Bali

Property: Hotel Tugu Bali
Address: Jl Pantai Batu Bolong | Canggu Beach, Canggu 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Canggu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Canggu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Canggu
#1 Spa Hotel in Canggu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Tugu Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a beautiful pristine sunset beach Hotel Tugu Bali is almost an experience too surreally beautiful to be true. Built upon a passion for the romantic art, history and culture of Bali, a vast collection of Indonesian antiques adorned the hotel, blending pure tropical luxury with an out-of-the-ordinary ambience. 30 Minutes from the airport, 15 minutes from Seminyak, Tanah Lot Temple and one of Southeast Asia's best golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Tugu Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tugu Bali Hotel
Tugu Bali Canggu
Hotel Tugu Bali Canggu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing