We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Amazing”
Review of Hotel Tugu Bali

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Tugu Bali
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Canggu
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply Amazing”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

First, I've never experienced a staff that was as kind and attentive at Hotel Tugu. Wonderful people in every sense of the word. The facility is mind-blowingly beautiful and you'll realize what I'm talking about within 2 minutes of being there. Our room, one of the suites, was big enough to live in with views of the ocean and every amenity you'd want in a place like this. Never went to the spa, but everything else about the place was great - close to the beach, great restaurant, and just a really pleasant time altogether. I'd really be nit-picking if I had anything bad to say about Hotel Tugu.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbar41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoshanFernando, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Jbar,
Thank you very much for posting your review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to read your positive feedback and are grateful that you share your impressions! We all appreciate the lovely words you have mentioned about little Tugu, particularly about our impressive location, our restaurant, staff, & impressive facilities. We are so happy to have such great comments from our dear guests, which give us tremendous motivation & happiness in our hearts
We are looking forward to welcoming you back again for your next visit in Bali.
With warmest and fondest thoughts of you,
Roshan Fernando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    654
    84
    15
    10
    7
See reviews for
124
439
43
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I have to agree with a lot of what other reviewers say - a nice place, pretty good staff, but not for everyone. We came here from an Aman property in Bali, and it's hard to compete with that so they were at an automatic disadvantage. Our welcome wasn't so good - they didn't really explain the welcome drink or the massage aspect, and then couldn't provide our welcome massage until the next day (not really a welcome massage then, is it?) That said, the service snafu seemed isolated to one particular staffer who may have been new and learning the ropes. Everyone else was really friendly & helpful. The facilities are cool - but kind of dark, as one reviewer said. That's not my cup of tea - but if you're into artifacts & that genre, you may love it! The place grew on me - the food & the afternoon tea were good. Walk up to Echo Beach and enjoy a sunset cocktail. The pool is nice & the massages (especially if you can do it outdoors, and try to get Widia!) were great! Also, I took advantage of private yoga a couple of mornings, and really enjoyed that. Excellent dinners ... the food was surprisingly good. Have fun! We loved the beach (although pretty rough right near the hotel - again, walk to Echo Beach where you can swim a little easier) and Bali is a worthy destination. Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KLBWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoshanFernando, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear KLB,
Many thanks for taking the time to provide valuable feedback pertaining to your recent stay in Hotel Tugu Bali, much appreciated. We are happy to hear that you had great impression of our staff, dinners & Spa treatments & private yoga lesions. Etc.
We also thank you for posting your constructive feedback and comments; we do take your observations serious and we have already discussed some of your concerns at the daily briefing this morning. We always want to ensure that 100% comfort to all our dear guests.
At Tugu we aim to make every stay as perfect as possible, and whatever had happened with your stay, we will always thrive to be better in the future, so once again we thank you for your comments.
We are certainly confident in our ability to restore your loyalty to Tugu hotels and we look forward to this opportunity in the future.
With best wishes,
Roshan Fernando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Very good hotel, with very clean rooms. Staff very friendly and helpful, the hotel is full of history of Bali which is worth to see on its own. staff has a great knowledge on all the artifacts and are very whiling to share this.
Minor point the facilities for kids are a little bit on the poor side.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank M123B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoshanFernando, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Scubamikeb,
Thank you very much for posting a review on TripAdvisor. We are very appreciative of your valuable feedback and are deeply encouraged by your comments of our services and the concept of our resort.
As for the children facilities, actually there are more options than just the pool area or our beach. We have also opened a new outlet called Kakilima recently, with a beautiful vast green lawn and sunset view with children play area filled with outdoor games & equipment. We regret that this was not noticed by you & not had an opportunity to explore this area.
We will be so happy to serve you again & we are looking forward to welcome you back soon.
With warmest and fondest thoughts of you,
Roshan Fernando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

The hotel is designed with an idea of using old things as decoration. It is not for everyone. The rooms are dark and there is little in the way of electrical outlets. The stairs to our room were spiral and not convenient. The beach is not clean. it is not a good value in my opinion. If the owner wants to decorate with antiques I should not have to pay extra.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scubamikeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoshanFernando, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Scubamikeb,
Thank you for your review about our hotel .As you may aware Tugu hotels and Restaurants stand for having one of the most beautiful, vast collections of art and antiquities in Indonesia, and besides for the hotel itself is a destination by itself to experience the real, authentic, rich and colorful culture of Indonesia in general and of Java in particular. It is our mission to convey the arts, history and romance of cultural Indonesian heritage to our guests. In this instant, we regret very much that you were unable explore & appreciate these values during your stay with us.
We would also like to mention, our spiral staircase gives the authenticity to the specially designs suites besides having many other suites on the ground floor.
We thank you once again and we hope we will be able to welcome you again to one of our other Tugu properties some time in the future.
Best wishes,
Roshan Fernando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, null, hong kong
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We found Hotel Tugu through the global Boutique Hotel portal Mr&Mrs Smith four years ago and can't help making Hotel Tugu at Canggu Beach an annual experience (e.g., this past trip has been our fourth). The staff are fantastic and the property has a great blend of authentic old world charm with the conveniences for modern needs. The views are breathtaking, while being close enough to the ocean to hear the crashing of the surf if you keep your windows open, makes for a magical experience. The food on the property is also top-notch, with several locations all around the property to enjoy meals in a different place each time. The service & rooms have been so exceptional, we've seen (and toured) other properties in Bali, but can't help coming back home to Hotel Tugu.

Room Tip: Hard not to get a great room. The villas basically have four units each, two on the top and two on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoshanFernando, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Jon P,
Thank you for the time you took to post a great comment of your experience at our resort. We are very happy to hear how much you have enjoyed your stay for the forth time and have had "Tugu touch experience”. Jon P, please consider our home as your home in Bali. Our little Tugu is geared to give such an experience as we are always committed to give best of hospitality to all our dear guests. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you ever plan another visit to our hotel. We will be delighted to have you back & help you anytime. Thank you again for your nice sentiments mentioned in your review & we are looking forward to welcome you back soon.
Our best wishes,
Roshan Fernando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Old-world Bali is harder and harder to find these days. What I value are places with a historical sensibility, cultural integrity, architecture that relates to the geography, smart use of materials, a commitment to sustainability, and an indication that the staff and guests also share these values. Happily, I discovered all this at Tugu.

The design is stunning, from the entrance leading to an immense wooden garuda figure, to lovely little lily ponds and spectacular garden features, cobbled pathways, spacious rooms brimming with local flavor, all sorts of Balinese antiques and handicrafts, and a location far removed from the party-hardy crowd. The staff are kind and generous. The vibe is totally mellow and cheerful. The beach is quietly nestled between areas shared by surfers and locals. Above all, Tugu is a quiet, dreamy, soothing place.

Obviously, it's a pricier place. But it's a world apart from—and far superior than—the industrial-strength resorts in Seminyak. The funniest thing that happened was that the hotel provided us a complimentary ride to nearby Seminyak. We thought an adventure might be fun. But yikes! Trading Tugu for noisy Seminyak was a terrible idea. Fortunately, we realized we could walk the beach right back to Tugu in a fraction of the time a taxi would take. And thus, we returned to paradise. The end.

Room Tip: We stayed on a ground-level room with a private pool. A koi pond wrapped around our bath tub. Very f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoshanFernando, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Travel store,
Thank you for taking time off to write a lengthy review. I & my team were delighted & inspired by your wonderful comments & sentiments expressed in your review. All of us at Tugu Bali will say “big thank you" from the bottom of our hearts. You have described our resort as an "Authentic, artful, magical, Balinese escape" .
You have also open your heart out explain each section of the hotel & for its natural surroundings , architecture, collection of rare antiques & many more, for which we will be ever grateful & appreciative. This is what the Tugu hotels stand for. It is our mission to convey the art, history & romance of cultural Indonesian heritage to all our guests.
Thank you once again for well written review of Hotel Tugu Bali.
Our best wishes ,
Roshan Fernando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Tugu Bali for 6 Nights in the last week of Nov 13 and must confess that this is an absolutely fantastic resort. Was here for a beach wedding ....the best that we've been to in ages.
Fantastic rooms, open air bathrooms , plunge pool, the works. And The hospitality was out of this world . Thank u Maggie . Our six yr old refused to leave the place. U can surf at the beach or just lounge around the pool area or peruse thru the artwork spread across the resort - mini museum of sorts

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank zubyzubyzuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoshanFernando, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Zubyzub,
Thank you for the valuable comments upon our resort rating as a " a great place" and for your precious time to share it on TripAdviser.
We were pleased to learn that you had a wonderful experience at the resort also a big thanks and appreciation of your compliments on the facilities of the resort, staff, room, beach wedding etc.
We do hope that with all the experiences you had with us will bring you back to our hotel in the near future on your next visit to Bali.
We will be delighted to welcome you back & please do not hesitate to contact us for any assistance you may require at anytime.
With best regards,
Roshan Fernando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canggu
0.5 mi away
THE HAVEN SUITES Bali Berawa
1.1 mi away
Lv8 Resort Hotel
Lv8 Resort Hotel
#15 of 36 in Canggu
231 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#7 of 145 in Seminyak
1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#10 of 145 in Seminyak
1,625 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ngeluwungan Boutique Villa
1.9 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#19 of 145 in Seminyak
3,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tugu Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tugu Bali

Property: Hotel Tugu Bali
Address: Jl Pantai Batu Bolong | Canggu Beach, Canggu 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Canggu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Canggu
#2 Spa Hotel in Canggu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Canggu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Tugu Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a beautiful pristine sunset beach Hotel Tugu Bali is almost an experience too surreally beautiful to be true. Built upon a passion for the romantic art, history and culture of Bali, a vast collection of Indonesian antiques adorned the hotel, blending pure tropical luxury with an out-of-the-ordinary ambience. 30 Minutes from the airport, 15 minutes from Seminyak, Tanah Lot Temple and one of Southeast Asia's best golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Tugu Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tugu Bali Hotel
Tugu Bali Canggu
Hotel Tugu Bali Canggu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing