We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Tugu in Beautiful Bali”
Review of Hotel Tugu Bali

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Tugu Bali
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Canggu
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrific Tugu in Beautiful Bali”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Working in the Industry, I am sometimes unfairly critical of Hotels I stay in.
My family and I (which included our 5 month old daughter) stayed at Tugu Bali for 6 nights in October. Tugu Bali is simply one of the most beautiful properties I had the pleasure of visiting in Indonesia and beyond. The only thing that tops the location across from the beach, the lush green gardens, the amazing food (with the very welcoming dine-anywhere policy) and the well-designed rooms, must be the attitude of the staff. No matter how beautiful a property is or how well it is located, the people of a Hotel property is the single most important aspect that determines the atmosphere of a Hotel and that is what ensures a great stay. Every single staffmember at Tugu Bali was sincerely hospitable and I can never thank them enough for how well they treated my baby daughter! A special thanks to Irma for attending our daughter's Balinese ceremony and bringing along her own beautiful daughter for the occasion!
Tugu Bali is one of those properties that remind me why I am in this Industry in the first place, where true hospitality is the focal point of the Business.
Well done Tugu and thank you for a truly unforgettable experience! (- The Kruger Family)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoshanFernando, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Jan,
Thank you very much for posting an impressive review on TripAdvisor. We are appreciative of your valuable feedback particularly as a fellow industry professional and are deeply encouraged by your kind words and comments on our hotel. The most importantly we are very happy that your family has had a great time.
We all appreciate the wonderful words you have mentioned about little Tugu, particularly about our ambiance, cuisine, staff & impressive facilities & many more. We are so happy to have such great comments from our dear friends, which give us tremendous motivation & happiness in our hearts.
Jan, we are looking forward to welcoming you back again for your next visit in Bali.
With warmest and fondest thoughts of you,
Roshan Fernando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    638
    81
    14
    10
    5
See reviews for
118
427
43
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Tugu Bali is a great boutique hotel nestled in Canggu beach. It's right across from the beach and filled with lily pads, art, and amazing architecture. Tugu is a place you go to relax, eat delicious food, and enjoy the slow pace of Canggu. Tugu is right across the street from the beach, and they provide lounge chairs, food service at the beach, and a security guard to make sure everything is wonderful. You can eat anywhere on the property, which is a really nice touch. The spa is simply amazing, they do a great job making sure you get exactly what you want. The main pool area is great, they just need a few more chairs. We had a Rajang suite, the only things I would change or suggest is they need a mesquite net, and our room was very close to the temple. So if you're there for some r&r I would suggest getting a room away from the temple, since ceremonies sometimes go until midnight. But everything overall was absolutely wonderful! Thank you Tugu Bali for an amazing stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank justledouxit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoshanFernando, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Justledouxit,
Thank you for the valuable comment upon Hotel Tugu Bali and for your precious time to share it on TripAdviser.
We were pleased to learn that you had a wonderful experience at the resort also a big thanks and appreciation of your compliments on the facilities of the resort, staff, the beach & food etc.
The most importantly we are very happy that you have had a great time.
Total customer satisfaction is our utmost priority and thank you for sharing constructive feedback and comments, we are able to maintain and further improve on our services. just for your information, temples around the area does not have ceremonies regularly at night, mainly held in the mornings.
However , we will be delighted to welcome you back & please do not hesitate to contact us for any assistance you may require at anytime.
With best regards,
Roshan Fernando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

It has been a amazing experience. Totally out of my expectation. Had a quiet and romantic time with my fiancé, spending some quality time enjoying Tugu hotel and Bali. Will definitely go back again someday.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yikz85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoshanFernando, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Bandar,
Thank you for posting a great review on the TripAdviser.
It is our privilege to learn that you have had an unforgettable moments & making your experience in the resort a distinctive one . You are most welcome make little Tugu as your own home in the future.
We will be delighted to welcome you back & please do not hesitate to contact us for any assistance you may require at anytime.
With warmest and fondest thoughts of you,
Roshan Fernando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We can highly recommend Tugu.A welcome change to stay in a truly authentic Balinese style boutique hotel with all the modern comforts and luxuries attached.The food, service, friendliness of all the staff was exceptional.
The beach is a surfers beach but when the tide goes out the walks are amazing as are the sunsets.We are a well travelled couple and were celebrating our Anniversary and we have come home with wonderful memories of our stay at Tugu.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenAnneS1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoshanFernando, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Karen,
Thank you for the time you took to post such a great comment of your experience with us during your anniversary visit in Bali!
I will pass on your positive comments about the food, the service, the atmosphere, etc. to my team... Of course we would be delighted to have you stay with us on your next trip to Bali in order for you to truly experience the "Tugu touch" experience once again.
with all our good wishes,
Roshan Fernando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas
1 review
Reviewed October 30, 2013

After a work meeting in Singapore, i stayed 2 days at Tugu Hotel. The rooms are beautiful, ample and some of them have a massage bed and large bathtub. The staff is always very helpful and kind. The service is personalized. From the moment we entered the hotel we felt at home. The atmosphere is extremely peaceful. There are flower decorations everywhere. We enjoyed our time in Bali and thought that we would want to return and to spend at least one day at the hotel enjoying the wonderful peace and silence. I enjoyed the tour they gave us of the hotel. It is filled with history, traditions and art.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 209 and we loved it. However, it is on the first floor so if you have knee r walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maritzameszaros12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoshanFernando, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Maritza,
What a pleasure to learn that you have enjoyed such a pleasant stay with us! We thank you for sharing your great feedback with the TripAdvisor. It’s a pleasure to know that you truly enjoyed your stay with us. We are very much looking forward to having you back anytime as our dear guests, probably for a longer length of stay, on your next visit to Bali.
With all our good wishes,
Roshan Fernando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Thank you Tugu Bali and Eni Happy Bali Wedding for making our wedding a truly dream come true wedding. Tugu Bali is a stunning private hotel in Canggu and it has an incredible charm! I just want to say thank you to Ms. Irma for being professional, trustworthy and loving to us and to my family. You made our day possible.
If anyone wants to have their wedding in Bali, have it at Tugu Bali and contact my wedding planner Eni (HappyBaliWedding.com). Eni made our wedding possible and worked closey with Tugu and both teams worked hand in hand to ensure everything went smoothly not only for our wedding day but for the whole stay. See you next year Tugu Bali! Ribuan terima kasih!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dontorerow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoshanFernando, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Dontorerow,
Thank you for posting a short but perfect review in the TripAdviser.
We were so happy to learn that you have had unforgettable moments & making your wedding in the resort a distinctive one. We were privileged that you had confidence in us & decided to have your wedding in our resort. We all thank you from the bottom of our hearts.
You are most welcome make little Tugu as your own home in the future & we will be looking forward to your visit next year.
Please do not hesitate to contact us for any assistance you may require at anytime.
With best regards,
Roshan Fernando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Wow! Wow! Wow! Wow! As someone who has travelled 5 star for a number of years (15) and who meticulously researches expedia/tripadvisor etc, I have to tell you that this place is special. We turned up not knowing what to expect (I had looked at LV8 in Canggu and 5 star in Seminyak) and were completely blown away - the pics dont do it justice. A 5 star resort but feels like "old" Bali.. As you enter the reception which feels like walking through an ancient Balinese palace into a stunning entrance! OMG! Serene, calm, peaceful, soul cleansing, heaven. Ari and Maggie set the tone with superb service and management - an amazing entrance and even more amazing rooms - done with that "old Bali" feel of dark woods, exotic scents, rich fabrics and comfort - a real taste of Bali - NOT the Kuta/Seminyak experience where you dont dare venture out of your 5 star hotel (although Kuta is only 30 mins away and AUD$7 to get there!). The pool and the beach - a surfing beach - are amazing - there is no one selling you stuff, the food is great and there are numerous cafes around the complex. We stayed in Room 203 - like a 5 star treehouse overlooking the ocean - absolutely beautiful - waking up to breakfast in your own luxury room, opening your sliding doors to another room with sunken bath, massage beds and 180 degree views of the ocean followed by lounging by the pool or the fantastic day beds by the ocean - bliss. Not a lot of kids around but if you have teenagers who surf, this is your spot! I could not recommend highly enough - what a secret little piece of heaven. Go now, as I dont reckon this will be a secret long - told about 20 people already!

Room Tip: Room 203 is absolutely beautiful! Like a 5 star treehouse - 8 m from the pool and 20m from the ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoshanFernando, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Pete,
Thank you for taking time off to write a lengthy review. I & my team were delighted & inspired by your wonderful comments & sentiments expressed in your review. All of us at Tugu Bali will say “big thank you" from the bottom of our hearts.
You have mentioned & described about the rooms, food, location, ambiance, surfing spot, many other facilities & we are fascinated with phases used such as " Wow Wow Wow ", "Haven on earth" " A secret little place in heaven " etc.
Most importantly of our staff, we will be grateful & truly delighted to have such wonderful comments.I shall personally covey your appreciation to all our staff members in general. I am sure they will be inspired, will be so happy to serve you again any day.
We are always committed to create only positive memorable experience for all our guests.
We do hope that with all the experience you had with us will bring you back to your favorite place in the near future on your next visit to Bali.
Pete, thank you once again for well written & the experience expressed in your recent visit to our resort.
With warmest and fondest thoughts of you,
Roshan Fernando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canggu
0.5 mi away
THE HAVEN SUITES Bali Berawa
1.1 mi away
Lv8 Resort Hotel
Lv8 Resort Hotel
#12 of 35 in Canggu
220 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#7 of 143 in Seminyak
1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ngeluwungan Boutique Villa
2.8 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#9 of 143 in Seminyak
1,603 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#3 of 143 in Seminyak
1,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tugu Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tugu Bali

Property: Hotel Tugu Bali
Address: Jl Pantai Batu Bolong | Canggu Beach, Canggu 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Canggu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Canggu
#1 Spa Hotel in Canggu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Canggu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Tugu Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a beautiful pristine sunset beach Hotel Tugu Bali is almost an experience too surreally beautiful to be true. Built upon a passion for the romantic art, history and culture of Bali, a vast collection of Indonesian antiques adorned the hotel, blending pure tropical luxury with an out-of-the-ordinary ambience. 30 Minutes from the airport, 15 minutes from Seminyak, Tanah Lot Temple and one of Southeast Asia's best golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Tugu Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tugu Bali Hotel
Tugu Bali Canggu
Hotel Tugu Bali Canggu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing