We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$493
View deal
Hotels.com
$544
View deal
Agoda.com
$481
View deal
Expedia.com$544
Travelocity$544
travelup.com$628
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,246)
Filter reviews
1,246 results
Traveler rating
1,068
125
26
14
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,068
125
26
14
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dedari suite plunge pool beautiful hotel our honeymoon batu bolong beach antiques ji bali surfers temple bathtub earplugs heaven surfing canguu tranquil vibe
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
895 - 900 of 1,246 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We had a beautiful experience at Tugu Bali. We stayed for 4 nights in a room with a private plunge pool (the highlight of the room!). The staff is wonderful and looked after us really well. On day 2 there was a foul smell in our bathroom, which we reported to the staff, and what we liked most was that they were quick and honest enough to let us know that the smell was because of a dead rat which they had gotten rid of. They even offered us another room, but since we had gotten used to our room and the smell soon faded away, we didn't really want to shift (the staff made sure that we weren't bothered by the smell). The menu is not much to go by, because the hotel serves mainly European cuisines, and does not have much of the local food on its menu. That being said, the quality of the food is very good.

The Balinese coffee at this hotel is simply exquisite!

We will definitely come back here when we visit next!

Date of stay: November 2012
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank CRags11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
StephanieTugu, Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear CRags11,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and I am really sorry about this incident in your room.
I am glad that you enjoyed our Arabic coffee from Kintamani mountain; indeed this coffee has a delicate aroma, as well as a rich and elegant flavor.
It is true that for salads we have more Western choices; but I am surprised that you mention about our menu serving mostly European cuisines because our A la Carte menu actually has more main courses from Javanese, Balinese and Babah Peranakan cuisine; without mentioning the Dim Sum and special set menu.

All the family of Tugu thank you and look forward welcoming you again in our home

Stephanie Jaton
Executive Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed for five nights in the most expensive suite the Puri Le Mayeur as part of our honeymoon in bali. Firstly the good things - the room is huge and very private. Breakfast was very good and service was consistent and lovely. We had wonderful massages, and the hotel grounds and main pool was lovely. The antiques were beautiful and I truly appreciate and enjoyed the concept of the hotel.
However, for us there were some disappointments - mainly due to having paid a premium (580 USD) per night to stay in the best room.Whilst the suite was very large, it was very dark and had a slightly mouldy smell, and the maintainance was not up to scratch - the private swimming pool was grungy and there were rips in the cushion covers on the outdoor furniture. The walls were dirty and a panel on the internal door was hanging off. The bathroom was not outside as promised and the large bath was impossible to fill up without the hot water running out! Small details like the menu having filthy dirty finger prints on it, and the cushions in the lobby were grubby too meant that it didnt feel worth the money we were spending. Also all the books in the lobby (coffee table books on every table for guests to peruse etc) were all waterdamaged and mouldy - all of which just gave an impression of lack of care in the maintainance of the facility. After two days here we were seriously considering moving hotels but decided against it due to their lack of refund policy for cancellations.

That said, before we left we asked to look at some other rooms and the dedari and the rendang look to be absolutely gorgeous, so i would definately suggest staying in either of those rooms - as the hotel location and gardens are truly delightful - just not worth the extra money for the Puri Le Mayeur.

Room tip: Avoid the puri le mayeur, as it is overpriced.
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NadiaRose94
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
StephanieTugu, Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear NadiaRose94,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and others. We really appreciate your description and point of view.

I am glad that you enjoyed the breakfast, staff service and antiques… and I also appreciate that you share your disappointment regarding the maintenance, so that I can pay attention to it together with my Engineering and Housekeeping teams.
I personally look forward to welcoming you back or maybe to our sister properties, Tugu Lombok or Tugu Malang, and I will be more than happy to personally arrange for an unforgettable room for you next time.

Stephanie Jaton
Executive Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

One of our favourite things to do is travelling around the world. We like to stay in hotels with a unique character. Back in 2005 we experienced the Tugu Park hotel and from there we benchmark every other hotel we stay in. What the Tugu Park hotel does right is providing a unique experience through all the items that are one display and sometimes still in use, having a great location, serving some of the best food one can imagine and having a staff which will make the extra mile because you are their guest.

Our expectations were high and it is safe to say they were met. It started with the pick-up from the airport. In the car was a cooling box with drinks, a fruit platter and a refreshment towel. When we arrived at the hotel we could walk straight to the main area with a giant statue. We sit down, got a welcome drink and the staff handled the check-in. All we had to do is provide our documents. We got a full explanation of the hotel and any questions we had would be answered.

As we had a late arrive we had dinner straight away. The hotel has a concept that you can eat anywhere you like. The idea is you are the guest so you pick where you want to eat. The hotel has some beautiful locations for that so it is up to you where you want to have your meal.
The food was lovely and the portion was huge; from that moment on we knew we had made the right choice of coming to Tugu Bali.

Then we went to our room. We had the Dedari Suite; a suite on the ground floor with a pond with fishes, a plunge pool, a huge bed and a big bathroom. There is one other suite that is upstairs (Rejang Suite) but we would choose the Dedari suite anytime. The room had everything you could wish for including fresh fruit, free fast internet access and more bottles of complimentary water then you could finish. There were also anti-mosquito/insect devices installed at various areas of the suite so that they would not bother you.

After a good night sleep we had (the a la carte) breakfast the next day. The selection is huge; there is so much to choose from that you might have to stay at least a week to try all the different food. And this is not where it ends: with like 10 different kinds of coffee, more than 10 different kinds of tea the selection is enormous. Unlike some other hotels in the world Tugu wants to make sure you are not leaving hungry after breakfast and they succeeded in it.
Also for activities there is enough to do: an extensive spa menu, tours, yoga, danceclass, traditional medicine making etc. We will try that next time we return.

The manager provided us with a tour of the hotel. If you are interested in history it is highly recommended. The afternoon tea was just lovely again; served together with local cuisine it really was a nice touch. We had it on the private beach where the sunset is just stunning.
The next morning we already had to leave very early. The hotel provided us with a breakfast box for at the airport so we would not go hungry or thirsty, Again a good touch and a sign they are sincere about treating you as their guest.

We can highly recommend Tugu Bali. It is different than Tugu Park in Malang but on most levels it performs equally well or comes very close to it. We cannot wait until we can try the next Tugu.

Room tip: The Dedari Suite is better than the Rejang Suite (you get a small pool with the first one).
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Juledan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Just spent 3 nights there. The room 203 was out of a dream. The flowing drapes in the lobby are Quixotic. Food: amazing. Staff: like family. Go down he road for a meal at beetle nut. And to Monsieur spoon for a croissant. Fabuloso. And head to dues ex machina for a cocktail. But enjoy the staff atvTugu more than anything. And the pool is out of Indiana Jones. Loved it. Loved every bit of it. Thank you Tugu!!!!!!!!!!

Date of stay: January 2013
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank Britishbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Already the reception war amazing. Friendly, well trained staff. Generous reception hall in balinese style. Our suite was spacious with wonderful interior fit-out. The hotel is located in a big subtropical garden. Very quiet location. Private beach, unique sun-set. The sea is quite rough, good for surfers, swimming not recommended. But the hotel pool is big and clean. Several restaurants with excellent food. Meals are served wherever you want, even at the beach. We loved it.
Stephanie, the director was very polite and helpful. She made a tour through the hotel with us which is recommendable because of the great antiques collection.
We enjoyed our stay very much and would recommend the hotel to enyone travelling to Bali.

Room tip: We recommend tours to Ubud, to the temples and mountains.
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrigitteH159
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews