We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wonderful hotel, best service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tugu Bali

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Tugu Bali
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Canggu
Certificate of Excellence
Schliersee, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel, best service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Already the reception war amazing. Friendly, well trained staff. Generous reception hall in balinese style. Our suite was spacious with wonderful interior fit-out. The hotel is located in a big subtropical garden. Very quiet location. Private beach, unique sun-set. The sea is quite rough, good for surfers, swimming not recommended. But the hotel pool is big and clean. Several restaurants with excellent food. Meals are served wherever you want, even at the beach. We loved it.
Stephanie, the director was very polite and helpful. She made a tour through the hotel with us which is recommendable because of the great antiques collection.
We enjoyed our stay very much and would recommend the hotel to enyone travelling to Bali.

Room Tip: We recommend tours to Ubud, to the temples and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brigitte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    539
    66
    13
    10
    3
See reviews for
102
370
33
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Excellent, private and cosy hotel. We felt right at home. The overall concept, decoration, rooms quite unique and we loved it in comparison to chain hotels. It is located at Canggu beach and if you are into surfing it is the place. The sea is quite strong and there is no swim guards. However the view and sunsets are to die for!

We travelled with young children and staff was very helpful accommodating our ad hoc requests... And there have been plenty of requests every day to the point we felt a little bit uncomfortable bothering so much :)

Rooms are excellent... they are really small villas. With comfortable beds, unique decorations, and big terraces.

Food was excellent - rich menu of Indonesian, Chinese, Balinese dishes. Reasonable wine list. As previous reviewer mentioned there is no dining room per se, however your meal can be arranged pretty much anywhere in the hotel - at the main hall, on the beach, at your terrace, in a little hut at the hotel grounds, etc. I actually loved it.

Service was excellent and the hotel manager Stephanie looks after guests very well. We had a small problem with a leaking tap which could only be fixed next morning and Stephanie offered a free spa massage as a token.

The only nit-picking is that service could be a bit inconsistent. Few guys in the team were truly excellent, and there were couple of laid backs.

Anyway, I am definitely coming back and would also try out Tugu Lombok.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
415 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The concept behind this hotel is great and it completely delivers visually. The rooms are spacious and the unique furnishings really add to the location and set-up. It is a bit off the beaten track, which can be good if you just want to veg. They have a shuttle service and if you reserve it ahead of time, they'll take you just about anywhere, which is nice. They have a huge menu, and the food I ate there was very good. The only thing that felt a bit strange was that they have this concept that they don't really have a dining room and you can eat where you want. The problem is if you aren't sitting at a table; they won't offer you service. The service in general was really up and down and perhaps a bit too laid back. The front desk staff is awesome and the spa is also very nice and reasonably priced. It's a bit more then places in Simenak, but you don't have to mess with the traffic. The mosquitos are bad - they spray twice a week and put things in the room, but they are still fairly horrendous, if you go, take DEET.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the beach in one of the upstairs rooms - the spiral stair case is a killer, but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThatchersBiscuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, null, hong kong
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Hotel Tugu is gem hidden in the wonderful & exotic island of Bali. We've returned to Hotel Tugu the last three Decembers and expect to continue this tradition for years to come. It has a great location, close enough to the airport to make the transfers easy, but still nestled on a wonderful stretch of the south coast that provides great surfing and wave watching. It is also just up the coast from Seminyak, so easy to access for shopping or restaurants (e.g., KuDeTa) but far enough away to feel the seclusion and serenity of Canggu Beach.

And even more intoxicating is Hotel Tugu itself. Being a Boutique Hotel started by an archeologist, it feels like stepping back in time, with lots of artifacts all around the property and an authentic feeling to the construction & decoration of the rooms and common areas. There are so many great spots on the property, including its access to the beach, that allow for romantic meals and relaxed lounging. The expansive menu is fantastic, including great choices for local, Chinese or western cuisine, good wine selection, fantastic coffee & tea selection, and an assortment of other drinks (both alcoholic and non-alcoholic). The spa & messages are top-notch and the staff are very helpful and friendly. The rooms are spectacular, especially when you compare price to other resorts, and the authentic nature of this Boutique Hotel makes selecting it over a Large China with pre-fabrication or synthetic building materials an easy choice. Tugu makes it easy to get lost in the romantic side of Bali's past.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore River, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Very nice hotel with high privacy, services are excellent.
The decorations of the hotel is in a very traditional way, and i like it very much compare to other hotels that i lived in Bali.
The hotel is near the beach and the sunset there is very beautiful. You may book a dinner reservation on the beach, you would never regreat. Anyway, if i go to Bali again, I would choose to live in the Tugu Bali again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank QQ Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We spent 4 days here on our honeymoon. I’m so glad we decided to stay there. As one of the other reviewers pointed out.. the service is 6 star. All the staff were lovely and this is that truly made it a dream vacation. We particularly enjoyed the massages at the spa. We also thought the food was very good. We enjoyed breakfast every morning and had dinner a couple of times. We did the romantic dinner bed on the beach dinner, and although it was a very special experience, I wouldn’t recommend it because of the price. We preferred the dinner in the restaurant because the price was much more reasonable, and the food was still fantastic.
As others have pointed out, the setting is perfect on Canggu beach, and the hotel is beautiful, like a fairy tale. The room was fantastic, the only thing missing was perhaps mosquito nets. We stayed in Bali and Lombok for 14 days and we had more problems with mosquitoes her than any other hotels. However I know they do try to control mosquitoes and it is difficult.
I have to give this hotel five stars, especially for the service, and I would love to go back one day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank copahc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

What a delightful surprise to enter this magical traditional hotel filled with gorgeous antiques, stroll through exquisite gardens with a lotus pond with romantic foot bridge, colorful Koi fishes and vibrant flowers.
What a treat to wake up in my romantic upstairs suite overlooking the ocean and to enjoy a relaxing bath in the sunken round bathtub. Everyday, there was a fresh, beautiful flower decoration made in the garden by a young girl with an inspiring quote.
The 2 hour stone massage followed by meditation was true bliss!
The sweetness of the staff is heartwarming! On my birthday, they brought me a gorgeous flower arrangement and a cake with a thoughtful card.
What a way to celebrate my 60th birthday!
My son had stayed at Hotel Tugu a few years ago and he knew I would love it: he was right!
Bali may have changed a lot since the early '70s, but the Balinese have remained genuinely kind and sweet! I bow to them.
If you want to experience the old Bali, treat yourself to Hotel Tugu!

Room Tip: Upstairs corner room with ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pascale B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canggu
1.2 mi away
The Kirana Hotel Resto and Spa
3.0 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#6 of 136 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 stars 1,297 reviews
3.5 mi away
Luna2 Studiotel
Luna2 Studiotel
#2 of 136 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 stars 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#4 of 136 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 stars 1,579 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#7 of 136 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 stars 1,401 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aradhana Villas
Aradhana Villas
#3 of 21 in Canggu
5.0 of 5 stars 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tugu Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tugu Bali

Property: Hotel Tugu Bali
Address: Jl Pantai Batu Bolong | Canggu Beach, Canggu 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Canggu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Canggu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Canggu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Canggu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Tugu Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a beautiful pristine sunset beach Hotel Tugu Bali is almost an experience too surreally beautiful to be true. Built upon a passion for the romantic art, history and culture of Bali, a vast collection of Indonesian antiques adorned the hotel, blending pure tropical luxury with an out-of-the-ordinary ambience. 30 Minutes from the airport, 15 minutes from Seminyak, Tanah Lot Temple and one of Southeast Asia's best golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Tugu Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tugu Bali Hotel
Tugu Bali Canggu
Hotel Tugu Bali Canggu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing