We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A travel back in time for those who miss the "Old Bali"”
Review of Hotel Tugu Bali

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Tugu Bali
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Canggu
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A travel back in time for those who miss the "Old Bali"”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

What a delightful surprise to enter this magical traditional hotel filled with gorgeous antiques, stroll through exquisite gardens with a lotus pond with romantic foot bridge, colorful Koi fishes and vibrant flowers.
What a treat to wake up in my romantic upstairs suite overlooking the ocean and to enjoy a relaxing bath in the sunken round bathtub. Everyday, there was a fresh, beautiful flower decoration made in the garden by a young girl with an inspiring quote.
The 2 hour stone massage followed by meditation was true bliss!
The sweetness of the staff is heartwarming! On my birthday, they brought me a gorgeous flower arrangement and a cake with a thoughtful card.
What a way to celebrate my 60th birthday!
My son had stayed at Hotel Tugu a few years ago and he knew I would love it: he was right!
Bali may have changed a lot since the early '70s, but the Balinese have remained genuinely kind and sweet! I bow to them.
If you want to experience the old Bali, treat yourself to Hotel Tugu!

Room Tip: Upstairs corner room with ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pascale B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    654
    84
    15
    10
    7
See reviews for
124
439
43
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

Better than the Waldorf! A real treat for our anniversary. Food is good and if needed a little cheaper a short walk away.
Pool is perfect, rooms are large and comfortable. The romantic dinner ( just the 2 of us) was better than expected.
Canggu is Bali of old that is nothing much is around just great local people and rice fields.

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

What a wonderful, romantic experience. We stayed at Tugu Bali for 4 nights on our honeymoon and were 'wow'ed by the kindness of the staff, beauty of the grounds, and magic of the room itself. We had incredible massages at the spa, enjoyed our best meal in Indonesia at the cooking class with Sri, and enjoyed a candlelit dinner for two on the beach. The staff knew us by name by day 1 and knew to clean our room as soon as we left in the morning. Only downside is the restaurant, which is overall fair (this said, I was not a huge fan of Indonesian food overall so take with a grain of salt).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nlandz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 26, 2012

perfect place to forget the daily life.
they read every wish from your eyes.
after travelling 24 hours we arrived in this peaceful place - keeping the balinesian tradition alive. really amazing. thanx !!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilisini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2012

There aren't many hotels I have been coming back and back again, but Tugu Bali is one of these places. The hotel is just magic from the moment you enter, this blend of natural beauty, antiques the Balinese staff moving graciously through the hotel. The food, the atmosphere, the people, just fantastic. We will come back again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London-Brighton
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Firstly, if you fancy sleek, minimalist & ultra modern design hotel, this is not the one. But if you feel like to be in real Bali, this is the place. Uniquely design with lots of Balinese artefact & work of arts. You will go through beautiful garden & ponds to reach your suite, which is very nice.
The size of the room is very generous & the bathroom is to die for.

We received welcome drink & massage upon our arrival. Afternoon tea is served everyday in the location we choose (by the pool / beach / own suite / garden / restaurant)
I am lost for words to describe my stay at the Tugu, it was just beautiful & relaxing. I went here with friends (4 of us in 2 different suites) but I will come back again with my partner.

Have a look the website, see the pictures, the reality is as good as and even better. The beach is good for people who love surfing. They have bed on the beach too. The sunset is amazing! Due to hotel location, you'll have good privacy, quiet intimate time. If you need to go to Seminyak, a taxi will take you just in a short time. Or you can even walk along the beach to the south, it will take you to Seminyak in 30 mins.

The staff is friendly & helpful as you'd expect it. The hotel has few different location for you to have your meal, each of them is nicely designed. They will give you a tour to the whole property, so then you can decide where do you like to have your meal. I must say the price for the food is expensive, even the breakfast is expensive. But it was delicious & the whole experience is unforgettable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luv2ravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Tugu for 4 nights and this was the highlight of our trip.

All the rave reviews I read were spot on, the staff here were exceptional, from the reception staff, gardener, driver,waiters, spa therapists, room service , and so on.

They know you by name, went out of their way in providing the best service I've ever encountered in such a long time.

Our room was made up TWICE a day, which was unusual, with lovely notes here and there.

It seems like they know what you want, even before you say it.

The hotel has a museum quality, with authentic antique pieces everywhere we go, and it was a nice change from our usual hotel chain stay. 

One of the things that we love apart from the service is the breakfast. We could have our breakfast anytime and anywhere we want it. We tried the beach, an ancient "Javanese Gubuk", a lotus pond and a room that used to be the fave of the only female president of Indonesia - Mrs. Megawati.

The food quality was generally excellent as well, apart from one evening for a room service order which arrived a bit cold.

We tried picnic in bed dinner offering that was set up on a private beach on an 18th century bed (as per Conde Nast Traveller recommendation) which was tastefully decorated also with candles along the pathway...one of a kind experience and the set menu was delicious! 

All in all, this isn't a cheap hotel but it's worth every penny and I have no hesitation to return in the future or to recommend them to anyone I know! 

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank schumaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canggu
0.5 mi away
THE HAVEN SUITES Bali Berawa
1.1 mi away
Lv8 Resort Hotel
Lv8 Resort Hotel
#15 of 36 in Canggu
231 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#7 of 145 in Seminyak
1,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#10 of 145 in Seminyak
1,624 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ngeluwungan Boutique Villa
1.9 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#19 of 145 in Seminyak
3,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tugu Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tugu Bali

Property: Hotel Tugu Bali
Address: Jl Pantai Batu Bolong | Canggu Beach, Canggu 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Canggu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Canggu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Canggu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Canggu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Tugu Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a beautiful pristine sunset beach Hotel Tugu Bali is almost an experience too surreally beautiful to be true. Built upon a passion for the romantic art, history and culture of Bali, a vast collection of Indonesian antiques adorned the hotel, blending pure tropical luxury with an out-of-the-ordinary ambience. 30 Minutes from the airport, 15 minutes from Seminyak, Tanah Lot Temple and one of Southeast Asia's best golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Tugu Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tugu Bali Hotel
Tugu Bali Canggu
Hotel Tugu Bali Canggu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing