We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private and exceptional beachside setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Tugu Bali

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Tugu Bali
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Canggu
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
“Private and exceptional beachside setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

This is truly exceptional. I have stayed at many Bali villas and high end hotels but this is the most unusual place that I know. Quite and private. Great for beach walks, close to Echo Beach and good surfing. Close to Seminyak, but away from the noise. Friendly staff who respect your privacy.

Room Tip: Some have beach views, some have private pools all have great distinctive rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    616
    75
    14
    10
    3
See reviews for
115
410
42
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Amazing place, you can just feel the history in this place.

Good. - History. Friendly staff. antiques. a very beautifull set of buildings. A fantastic antiques shop. enourmous reception building with entrance lined with fish ponds. THe red temple room is set up for dining and looks incredibly. Can even sit close to the beach for a drink or meal. Very mice.

Bad - food did not at all live up to the rest of the place. actually out of 10 I would give what we had a 3-4. Maybe we got a chef on a bad day, but rated the worst papaya salad we have had in over 4+ months of travels and ordering it at most places.

So I would say go stay or see it,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alongcommute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shanghai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Really nice kind of boutique hotel, excellent and discret service ( as honeymooners coming from Europe (and jet lagged) we highly appreciated that they would serve the most excellent breakfast i had in bali at anytime, and for us usually around noon, in our room for no extra cost), food was really excellent and the complementary dinner included in our package and served on the beach, excellent!

The overall atmosphere is great, the pool is beautiful, the beach Is ordinary, the bathroom is full of charm in Balinese style, the bedroom efficient, the room small swimming pool a little cold!

Nice touch from the manager when we left, she kindly offered us a nice souvenir and a fruit basket with bottles of water for the road!

I would highly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elisabeth g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

We have been to Bali many times but I think this hotel rates as one of the best. The concept of integrating Balinese and Indonesian history more broadly into all parts of the property was stylishly done. We tend to forget that this holiday paradise has a long and proud history. The rooms and the entire property are in a word, gorgeous and the location away from the bustle and crowds of Seminyak is perfect. The staff were at all times helpful and gracious and the food interesting and of excellent quality. We are definitely going to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JF3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Beautiful for sunset with cocktails & great setting for my special birthday. The price that was paid for the food was very expensive & the food wasn't worth the cost. The staff are friendly & helpful. My partner was disappointed after setting this up as a surprise for me.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank AlIyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

Thank you for the excelent service and beauty.
Complements to the owner and family for having the idea to make this beautiful hotel.
Room was romantic with the most beautiful pool.
I loved every minut spent.
A must come back for sure!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tbcorreia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

This place is off the charts, from the moment you walk into to Tugu Bali you a over whelmed with amount, scale and size of the artifacts. To add age and distinction each room has custom details that you generally wouldn't notice, like the tiles on the floors are imported antiques, and the roof bearers and details, and all the fittings and doors... If you get a chance, ask the friendly staff to to take you on a tour of the hotel, its well worth a look.

Room Tip: Upstair villas have epic views across Canggu!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr_Dalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canggu
0.5 mi away
THE HAVEN SUITES Bali Berawa
0.3 mi away
The Kirana Hotel Resto and Spa
1.5 mi away
Aradhana Villas
Aradhana Villas
#4 of 35 in Canggu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#8 of 143 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#5 of 143 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,727 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#11 of 143 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tugu Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tugu Bali

Property: Hotel Tugu Bali
Address: Jl Pantai Batu Bolong | Canggu Beach, Canggu 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Canggu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Canggu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Canggu
#1 Spa Hotel in Canggu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Tugu Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a beautiful pristine sunset beach Hotel Tugu Bali is almost an experience too surreally beautiful to be true. Built upon a passion for the romantic art, history and culture of Bali, a vast collection of Indonesian antiques adorned the hotel, blending pure tropical luxury with an out-of-the-ordinary ambience. 30 Minutes from the airport, 15 minutes from Seminyak, Tanah Lot Temple and one of Southeast Asia's best golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Tugu Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tugu Bali Hotel
Tugu Bali Canggu
Hotel Tugu Bali Canggu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing