We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"The wow factor"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Tugu Bali

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Tugu Bali
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Canggu
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“"The wow factor"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

When I visit Bali (which is atleast once a year), I normally stay at hotel Tugu. Recently I was invited to a wedding in Bali, where accommodation was organised. It was at a 500+ room 5star hotel. Noisy, joint family groups, kids running around.. it was hectic, and really stressful! Everywhere you went there were people! Very quickly (at check-in) I realised that this is not a Hotel Tugu. I love staying at Hotel Tugu because of the romance, exclusive feeling and personal touch it provides for you. The art and creativity is "one of a kind", one that you wouldn't see in many places of the world (unless you know somebody locally who knows the town inside out). With the romance it creates, the great food and unique art, Hotel Tugu really has that "wow factor". If you don't know a local in Bali and is spending hours searching for the perfect accommodation, take this recommendation as like it came from "a local".

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alwin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    606
    74
    14
    10
    3
See reviews for
113
407
40
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dubai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

We spent 10 fantastic days in Bali and staying at the magical Tugu hotel was really the highlight of our holidays ! An amazing asian art collection is all around you and the owner, very friendly, really makes you feel at home. Will be back !

Room Tip: room sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gianluiig l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

I have been going to Tugu for years and have never had a more lovely, memorable experiences than In my time there. It is literally like my home away from home. The staff are incredible, they take care of all your needs seamlessly. They even remember your name when you have not seen them for years.
The place is like a museum with incredible art and furniture decorating the lobby and the rooms, If you can get a view of the sea do and make sure to have a romantic dinner on the beach & one of their special massages.
If you want to experience the real bali and avoid the concrete soulless boxes that are springing up all over the island this is a place you will not want to miss!
Tugu Lombok is also incredible and worth the trip!

Room Tip: if you can get a view of the sea from one of the upstairs rooms, or if you can afford it the Le Maye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MilaCanggu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seligenstadt, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

We had our Wedding on 22 of November 2011 in this beautiful small 5 Star Hotel, Everything was wonderful, and the ceremony was incredible. Ste Staff was extremely friendly from the room boy up to the manager. Every wish was fulfilled as soon as we asked for it.

Thanks for this experience. We surely will come back soon.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank taxdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Unique Tugu needs to be visited by anyone who has an understanding or interest in cultural quirkiness. Tugu is a little piece of the best of java planted into Bali with a overlay if Bali to majestic it even more secal. The eccentric vision of owner Anhar Setiabrata has created a whole Tugu ethos. It is spectacular and totally enjoyable. Service is gracious and personal. Your stay is personal. You will be cossetted and cared for but never imposed upon. It is simply a delight. Do you want romantic? The obliging staff will create you special dining spots to dine and enjoy. It is truly a voyage of discovery and pleasure. Enjoy!

Room Tip: The rooms are all different so do try to check the website and see what appeals. And if you want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nosourgrapes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

There are few truly special places left in our world. Interestingly enough, in the midst of the mania of rabid development fever in Bali, there is Tugu.

It hasn't changed. And it won't. Why would it?

Tugu did what they do even when it wasn't trendy. They just kept doing what they do. They still do.

Tugu is Indonesian-owned, created by indonesian art connoisseurs, people who have not and will not waver from what is most unique and valuable about this country, its history and its cultures. They actually don't care if you don't notice. They know that anyone with a warm heart and a curious soul with a passion for life . . . will automatically notice. And so it is.

Tugu is Tugu.

There is nothing like Tugu.

You have to stay at Tugu, or visit Tugu for lunch, dinner, sunset drinks, or make it the venue for a special gathering of special people . . . then you'll "get" Tugu.

Enough said.

I live not far from Tugu.

Whenever there's a feeling to "go somewhere" . . . either alone, or with overseas guests, or with whoever . . . Tugu comes up first on the list.

I had my 50th birthday party here. I've had other watershed life celebrations here. No matter what you might be thinking or dreaming, if it's something about the magic of Indonesia, and you want it to be special . . . just contact Tugu . . . it will manifest . . . like magic . . . they can do it all . . . no matter what it is . . . really really easy and really really fair with prices of everything . . . just keep talking with them, communicate, tell them what you want, and you will work it out and have a magical whatever . . . honeymoon, wedding, weekend, personal retreat, artistic spiritual surfing experience, immersion in the "real indonesia," or just a normal cool vacation . . . whatever . . . talk to Tugu . . . talk to Tugu . . . tell 'em what you want . . . they have a group of totally unique, totally impossible to explain properties, all with deep deep Indonesian roots and mojo . . . in Malang Java, Blitar Java, Bali, Jakarta, and Lombok.

And, BTW . . . the Tugu thing, all of it . . . is a family business . . . family owned, family operated . . . and the family is an Indonesian family . . . three generations or four perhaps . . . anyway, they are all . . . focused on the real mojo. Nothing will ever be quite like a Tugu time in Indonesia.

There are not many experiences in this world today that are true to place, non-generic, non-global, but totally in touch with what you as a globally focused person need and expect.

Tugu's the "new total luxury". The "old" generic luxury is a huge bore. I'm sure you agree. :)

Room Tip: Talk to them. Spend some time talking to them. You'll get the right room for you if you do. Ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GlobalTropical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
148 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

I had never been to a hotel where there was no management in sight...until the Hotel Tugu. The very friendly lady who checked us in, served dinner in the evening and was behind the reception desk the next day! Everybody does everything and they do it very well...without the typical wandering supervision:)
The rooms are traditional Balinese and although not luxurious they are cozy. Ground floor rooms or villas have a plunge pool. The restaurant is simply exquisite, for breakfast, lunch an afternoon snack or for a romantic dinner for two family dinner for ten. The menu is Balinese, tropical and creative...a must try is the Murtabak! Last but not least, try to reserve a four poster bed on the black sand beach, have a cocktail and see the huge waves roll in...simply stunning!

Room Tip: Try to book a ground floor room (villa) with a plunge pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Idenburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canggu
1.2 mi away
The Kirana Hotel Resto and Spa
0.3 mi away
Aradhana Villas
Aradhana Villas
#4 of 33 in Canggu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#8 of 141 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#2 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#4 of 141 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,711 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#12 of 141 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tugu Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tugu Bali

Property: Hotel Tugu Bali
Address: Jl Pantai Batu Bolong | Canggu Beach, Canggu 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Canggu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Canggu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Canggu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Canggu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Tugu Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a beautiful pristine sunset beach Hotel Tugu Bali is almost an experience too surreally beautiful to be true. Built upon a passion for the romantic art, history and culture of Bali, a vast collection of Indonesian antiques adorned the hotel, blending pure tropical luxury with an out-of-the-ordinary ambience. 30 Minutes from the airport, 15 minutes from Seminyak, Tanah Lot Temple and one of Southeast Asia's best golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Tugu Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tugu Bali Hotel
Tugu Bali Canggu
Hotel Tugu Bali Canggu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing