We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent surf camp with a highly personable style”
Review of Surf WG Bali

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canggu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Surf WG Bali
Ranked #42 of 141 Canggu B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 13, 2013

The Surf WG/ Surf Commune is, as the name suggests, a surf camp, i.e. you base yourself here if your main focus is on catching some of Bali's awesome waves. Every day, the surf guides will chose the right location depending on wave conditions and your ability/ interest and organize a morning and an afternoon session and take you and small group of fellow surfers there by mini-van. I only stayed for one week, but really enjoyed it: the camp itself is cozy and clean, with two dipping pools, a small restaurant that serves tasty local and travelers' fare, nestled in the middle of rice fields, away from the hustle of Bali's super-crowded tourist area. The guides are very experienced and knowledgeable, not only in terms of spot-selection, but also in their ability to support you and share advice on how to catch more waves (this isn't all that common, I've heard of many guides focusing on their own enjoyment more than on the guests'). Equipment is good, with a mix of short-boards and mini-mals for rent and connections to local shops and ding repair guys (where they don't get a commission) to buy or fix. The owner and his wife, as well as the staff are charming and personable and make everyone feel included.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tstox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (18)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 18 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 00Patchoulie00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: wir waren im Haupthaus mit shared Bathroom und es war perfekt für uns.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goodsideoflife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kyra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S. F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canggu
1.4 mi away
Koa d'Surfer Hotel
Koa d'Surfer Hotel
#12 of 40 in Canggu
226 reviews
1.7 mi away
FRii Bali Echo Beach, Hotel
1.0 mi away
The Chillhouse - Bali Surf and Bike Retreats
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Matra Bali Surf Camp Guest House
2.0 mi away
Premier Surf Camp
Premier Surf Camp
#40 of 141 in Canggu
108 reviews
11.9 mi away
Padang Padang Surf Camp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf WG Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf WG Bali

Address: Jl. Pura Beten Kepur, Gang Damai no. 24 | Br. Tandeg - Tibubeneng, Canggu 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Canggu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in Canggu
Price Range: $21 - $41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Surf Camp is located in the south-west of Bali (Area of Berawa, Canggu) and our goal is to offer the perfect home for everybody! Located in the middle of rice paddies, the SurfWG [Surf:weggae] offers space for 14 people in a main building and a luxury villa. All rooms are equipped with air condition, WiFi is available all over the camp. Monday to Sunday we organize daily surf trips for all surf levels to various breaks all round Bali. What this means is that you can take part in at least two guided surf session per day. The surf spots we head for are graded according to the various surf levels and selected depending on the tide, swell and wind conditions. Our surf guides are familiar with the island, drive safely and give you competent briefing on each surf spot. The guides always surf with you in the water, giving you helpful advice to bring your surfing to the next level. Once a week the sessions are filmed so that the analysis afterwards can help you identify the mistakes you're making and sort these out. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Surf WG Bali Canggu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing