We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wayan's Guest House
Ranked #12 of 127 Canggu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I was looking for somewhere near the beach, outside of the Kuta and Seminyak area but still close enough by taxi if I wanted to go shopping or for dinner. After looking around I found Wayan Guesthouse through tripadvisor and contacted him because of the great reviews. He and his family certainly deserve the great ratings and comments. The guesthouse is quiet, clean, friendly, well situated close to the beach, and Wayan helps out in every way he can to make his guests feel at home. He helped me organize a bicycle and made lots of great recommendations for food and activities. I also used his tour service, which was excellent. I highly recommend both the guesthouse and the tour service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank urbannomad69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    25
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
88
38
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

An excellent 5 day stay. Wayan and his family are lovely hosts, and the rooms are beautifully appointed with comfortable beds and as much air conditioning as you could wish for. Bear in mind that canggu is quite a long way from anywhere, so if you're looking for a night out you'll need to either take a moped or get a taxi.

If you do the former and the police stop you for not having your driving licence, they're looking for a bribe. Haggle them down.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarryBethel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayan S, Owner at Wayan's Guest House, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Hi Mr. Barry,

Thank you so much for your review.
Further about location of the guest-house, there is nothing I can do to improve it.
Please note, for those who would like to book an accommodation, before you confirm, please kindly aware of the location/area of the hotel/guesthouse that you choose.

Specially for Wayan's Guesthouse, we are located on the outskirt of Kuta, the area named Canggu (which I've clearly stated on the listing where we are listed), it's around 5 kilometers on the northern part of Seminyak, will takes about 15 minutes to downtown of Seminyak by scooter.
People choose to stay with us because they had enough of the hustle and bustle of Kuta area and like to stay in a more quiet area.

About the value, I think what we charge is equal to what we give in return, compare to other guesthouse which located in the area, we provides better internet connection, better linen, better, better furniture, better location, better surrounding & atmosphere, etc.

Again, thank you so much for your review, it was nice to have you staying with us and looking forward for your next visit.

Cheers,
Wayan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Düsseldorf, Deutschland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed for 3 weeks @ Wayan's, and we could not have had more luck with our choice. The location offers a familiar atmosphere within a very harmonic surrounding.
The support of fluent english speaker Wayan's and his wonderful family, starting from airport pick up to a permanent availability for any kind of concern, scooter renting, tour guiding and active support in socializing with other guests to further create a social atmosphere and day- planning is extra-ordinary, makes the stay to remain a longtime memory. The place is not recommendable to persons who search beach/pool/party all inclusive holiday, and it's essential to show a certain readiness of own activitiy to enjoy this place as what it is-> embedded in a not-yet too much touristic-developed part of Bali, one can find either a nice start/finish of a round trip and/or a perfect base to start exploring the island.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefan_and_Natalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We booked our first 3 nights in Bali on airbnb not knowing what to expect. We arrived late at night exhausted. Wayan's driver was there to greet us at the airport. He guided us through the chaos to a nice airconditioned vehicle and brought us to the Guesthouse. We entered a very clean and comfortable room w all of the conveniences of home. Each day we were met w Bali coffee and Wayan's family looking to make our stay memorable. In addition, we were provided w a map,nearby restaurants, a beach just minutes away, and transport organized by Wayan as a tour guide or via scooters that we rented ($4/day). In addition, breakfast at a nearby restaurant can be provided (45000rp/each including specialty coffees), and Wayan offers amazing and very affordable tours that are highly recommennded. What makes this place unique though is wayan and his family always looking to provide, and the neighbouring guests and friends you will meet throughout your stay here. We enjoyed ourselves so much we stayed an extra 4 nights and will definitely be back again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TyandAmalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, WA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The guest house is as advertised; clean, quiet, has a quaint garden, with an flat panel TV and a bunch of movies to watch. It is worth the price.
Wayan is very helpful, although for those expecting a very gracious Indonesian hosting might be a little put off by his slightly Americanized, blunt and sarcastic approach. He does go out of his way to accommodate your requests though.
The location is sort of way out there, can't really get anywhere without a taxi or a scooter (although it is cheap, think twice about the latter). It is close to the beach however the ocean is not suitable for swimming, you might like it if you are a surfer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZekeRenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

As William Shakespeare said, let me count the ways... We were delighted by our recent stay here. Wayan himself could not be a more gracious host and Kadek is equally welcoming. Staying in a Balinese family compound is a beautiful experience, getting some sense of local life. The rooms are exceptionally well equipped and beautifully comfortable, the bed was great, the bathroom excellent and attractive. Outside our room were chairs and table, a lovely place to sit (or lie in the hammock), read, enjoy the compound's garden. A short walk to the beach. A short walk to a great breakfast spot. Great help from Wayan (e.g. where we can go to buy mosquito nets to take home?) An in-room fridge with beer and drinks hardly more than supermarket prices. Great AV equipment.
Excellent value - if you want a real Balinese experience and are not looking for room service, a swimming pool (heck the beach is really close), then stay here. Oddly while this is in B&B category it is B without the other B - they do not do breakfast on site but have a great arrangement with a local villa where we had excellent value at discount rates every day (and went back for lunch one day too).
Did we have any complaints? Yes, we were not able to stay longer!

Room Tip: We were in room 3 but would be equally happy with any room. One of the rooms is a twin, the others a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ianmacd44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elko, Nv
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

As a traveler being invited into someone's home and life is the best experience possible and that is exactly what this guest house offers. It is a family experience with a very personable, English speaking host and guide. His helpful wife, mother, father and children continue their lives in a traditional Balinese fashion. The 4 guest rooms are modern, clean with air con and good wifi. Wayan took us on 2 full day tours and a morning of running errands, loaned me a book on Balinese culture and custom and his wife dressed my husband and I in sarong and sash for a full moon ceremony. We spent 8 days and I didn't want to leave. 3 months of traveling and this was my favorite. Thanks for a great experience Wayan & Kadak and hi Neo & Nea

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pkbhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canggu hotels
0.4 mi away
THE HAVEN SUITES Bali Berawa
0.1 mi away
Koa d'Surfer Hotel
Koa d'Surfer Hotel
#12 of 36 in Canggu
188 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lv8 Resort Hotel
Lv8 Resort Hotel
#15 of 36 in Canggu
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Legong Keraton Beach Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Tugu Bali
Hotel Tugu Bali
#1 of 36 in Canggu
770 reviews
1.1 mi away
FRii Bali Echo Beach, Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wayan's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wayan's Guest House

Property: Wayan's Guest House
Address: Jl. Pantai Berawa, Gang Family no. 04 | Banjar Berawa, Tibubeneng, Canggu 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Canggu
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Canggu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cozy and natural Balinese house compound, nice garden, and just less than 5 minutes to the beach, but away from the shops, and those touristic stuff. Ideal for those who would like to experience the stay with Balinese Family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Wayan's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wayan`s Guest House Hotel Canggu
Wayan's Guest House Bali/Canggu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing