We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wayan's Guest House
Ranked #11 of 139 Canggu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 28, 2013

This was a very nice guest house. Clean and super friendly family.
The guest house is close to Brawa beach and located in a very quiet and nice area of Bali.
If I go back to Bali there is no doubt that I will stay at Wayan`s.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gjermund L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
There are newer reviews for Wayan's Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

88 - 94 of 196 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2013

I stayed in Nov 2012 for 6 nights.

Pros:
Small & warm environment, very friendly hosts
Large spacious rooms with extra beach towels
Large & comfy bed
Free wifi (!)
Communal kitchen to make drinks
Wayan can arrange transport & motorbike rental at reasonable prices (no need to bargain & be ripped off)
Convenient location to 3 nearby beaches (Berawa walking distance, Batu Bolong great surfing for intermediates & Echo beach both few mins by motorbike)
Peaceful & tranquil (both guesthouse & canggu itself)

Cons:
Only one minor thing: could do with more socket plugs & they were quite difficult to find (hidden low behind bedside table). Not a deal breaker at all.

Looking forward to returning this year!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DolphinsNSharks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

i was pleasantly surprised when i arrived at Wayan's Guest House around 1am. Wayan was still awake (made sure to stay up until i got in), and greeted me at the entrance, helping me with my bag, and leading me to my room. despite the time, he still showed me where everything was, how everything worked, etc.

the room was gorgeous, fully equipped with everything from a flat screen to mini bar. it was definitely WAY nicer than places i'd been staying in for the same price all leading up to my arrival there. there were two night stands, as well as a huge standing closet, and even more drawers on the entertainment center. tons of room for putting your stuff away, and settling in to feel right at home. and the bed....oh my god, the bed. hands down the BEST bed i've slept on in my five months of traveling. it's actually quite deadly. pull the blinds, and you're in a little dark cave no matter what time of day.

each room also has a little patio area, complete with a few chairs, table, and hammock- overlooking the garden they so carefully maintain.

the overall grounds of this place are beautiful. i wasn't expecting something so put together- cozy, yet equipped with modern appliances and needs.

oh, and the bathroom! pretty great. the shower is partially outdoor, which is fun to shower in the rain, while also getting the shower water as well. the only downfall of the shower set up, is you have to keep that bathroom door closed at all times, to avoid mass mosquitoes and other creepy crawlers. it's not a big inconvenience- in fact, i think it's well-worth it.

the location is fantastic, only 100m from the beach, easy to run up and down multiple times during the day. it's also about 700m from canggu cafe (A MUST TRY!!), and other shops, spas, restaurants.

i came here with a girlfriend, and we were both pleased with our stay here. although, i must stress, if you're younger and looking to party, or spend your time in a more lively enviornment- this isn't the place for you. There were mostly families there while we were there, some had young children, and others were fully grown. regardless, Wayan and his family (complete with little ones) live there full-time, so it wouldn't exactly be very respectful to come back all loud and wasted, the same way you might at a less personal accommodation. the grounds are TINY, there are only four rooms, plus Wayan's house. anyone and everyone can hear just about anything- so it's just something to keep in mind.

i have to say the only thing i found a bit odd was after my arrival, i re-read through some reviews of this place to look for ideas of things to do in the area, and nearly all of them talk about how Wayan would give them rides everywhere, even going as far to call him their "personal tour guide." we didn't have that luxury, or even that option, for that matter. even when i asked him where the ATM was, or where the cafe was, he just drew it out on the map, not offering anything. it's not a huge deal, we enjoyed walking around and getting our bearings, but i just felt a bit put off that we was taking other people wherever they wanted to go, and didn't so much as offer it to us. not a huge deal, but worth mentioning, i think.

overall, i loved it. i loved the town, and the people. definitely worthwhile if you're looking for a zenned out time in a quiet town.

Room Tip: watch out for mosquitoes in the bathroom- yes they will bite you while showering! and make sure to k...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kayla N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

The most comfortable stay I experienced in my month stay in Bali. Two blocks from the Brawa Beach(good beach for beginner and experienced surfers). Wayan and his family were the nicest people I encountered on the island and really made me feel at home. The hostel is 20 minute taxi from Seminyak. The beach is beautiful and has amazing sunsets. Echo Beach is a 20 minute walk. There are good restaurants walking distance or a short scooter ride away. I cant wait to get back. Thanks Wayan Guesthouse!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Small establishment - just 4 rooms, very relaxing and peaceful. Rooms are quite spacious, bed very comfortable, air con and fan work perfectly and outdoor bathroom a treat. Verandah outside rooms makes it deal to talk to others. Wayan is extremely attentive, has an excellent transport service. We spent a day touring the area around north west of cenggu . It is beautiful country and an area of Bali that you really need to see. Rice fields, little villages, local markets (you really will be the only tourists here) and beaches where rice fields meet the ocean. Wayan took care of dinner by recommending and driving us to some really nice restaurants which were close enough that we could walk back to guesthouse. Stayed 3 nights, could have stayed much longer.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Voila88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

What a find! This 4 roomed “guest house” is a collection of 4 self-contained units arranged around 2 sides of the perimeter of a traditional Indonesian family compound. (The photos give a better idea) Wayan has added studio-grade sound proofing so they may as well be completely detached. I actually said “wow” as we were shown our room, and again when I saw the bathroom with outdoor shower.

The important stuff:
Huge king size bed. Good mattress + clean linens
Powerful rain shower head
A choice of air conditioning and a central fan, situated in a traditional vaulted roof (again see pics)
Flat screen TV
Satellite TV + Dvd player with huge selection of DVDs
Fridge in room
Tea, Coffee + water on demand
Fast Wi-fi that works!
Classical Indonesian design.

The beach is just down the road and the sunsets are beyond breathtaking. Every evening people congregate to watch the sunset with a beer in hand or to meditate. There's a beach front hotel so you can sit there a sip a watermelon smoothy.

We ate at Cafe Canggu most nights as it was a 10 minute walk – quite dark on the road. We didn't get to Echo beach which is the next one up, but were told by other guests they have a beach front restaurant where you choose your fish from the day's catch and they cook it for you. Taxis are really cheap, so dining out for the evening is easy. Or hire a scooter.

Wayan and Kadek are a warm and lovely couple who will do everything to make your stay as comfortable as possible. It only took a day or so before I felt as though I was part of the family. Nothing is too much trouble - organising motorbike hire, a day tour to the sights of your choice with Wayan as your personal guide in his air-conditioned 4X4. It was the cultural experience for us, having a window into day to day Balinese family life

Warmth and professionalism sum up the experience. I can't recommend them highly enough.

Room Tip: I think they are all equally as good
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DomingoBishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I have stayed at Wayan's on three (3) separate occasions. I have also stayed at other hotels in the area (Legong Keraton). This is BY FAR, the best place to stay if you are in the Berewa Beach/Canggu area.

The accommodations are fabulous - clean, quiet, beautiful - and VERY reasonably priced. Perfect for the single-traveller OR the couple. You won't be disappointed.

Wayan's is about 100m from Berewa Beach, so it is great for surfers. Wayan's is very safe and comfortable, so it is great for the non-surfing spouse/partner as well.

Wayan himself is an incredible host - he can arrange tours, has moto-scooters for rent, can arrange taxis and is a wealth of information. He can also arrange pick-up/drop-off at the airport at ANY time for a very reasonable price.

Plus, he is a great guy and his family is super-nice.

HIGHLY, HIGHLY, HIGHLY recommended.....

Room Tip: Book early - There are four (4) rooms and the place is in high-demand due to the excellent value and...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingDood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canggu hotels
0.1 mi away
Legong Keraton Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
THE HAVEN SUITES Bali Berawa
0.2 mi away
Lv8 Resort Hotel
Lv8 Resort Hotel
#17 of 38 in Canggu
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Koa d'Surfer Hotel
Koa d'Surfer Hotel
#12 of 38 in Canggu
216 reviews
1.1 mi away
FRii Bali Echo Beach, Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Tugu Bali
Hotel Tugu Bali
#1 of 38 in Canggu
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wayan's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wayan's Guest House

Address: Jl. Pantai Berawa, Gang Family no. 04 | Banjar Berawa, Tibubeneng, Canggu 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Canggu
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in Canggu
Price Range: $32 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cozy and natural Balinese house compound, nice garden, and just less than 5 minutes to the beach, but away from the shops, and those touristic stuff. Ideal for those who would like to experience the stay with Balinese Family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Wayan's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wayan`s Guest House Hotel Canggu
Wayan's Guest House Bali/Canggu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing